We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We all just loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SIDE Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SIDE Hotel to your Saves list
SIDE Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drehbahn 49, 20354 Hamburg, Germany (Neustadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“We all just loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Really cool modern hotel! My 15 year old has traveled a lot with us and he said that this one beats them all. Great design, nice modern furniture, Nespresso machine, Loewe TV set, nice plush beds, Air conditioning on a 41 degrees cg day cool without any noise. Location could not be better. Spa facilities and pool above average.
Really good place and great quality/price ratio.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    230
    87
    23
    14
See reviews for
49
245
63
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Ives, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Great hotel. Well located, fantastic decor and style. Good services and very friendly and helpful staff. My room was excellent, though the lights did take a little figuring out! You can tell it was my first time. Breakfast time-slot was generously long, and the choice of food was excellent. All in all I would highly recommend SIDE and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Very modern hotel! Very cold design but cool. If you are into small, cosy, old style hotels then this is not a place for you! The room was nice, with very modern furniture, quite big, very clean, all the toiletries but no coffee maker. The toilet was not perfectly clean when we arrived but we cleaned it ourself although things like this should be reported to the reception. Our room on the first floor didn't have nice view, just on the backyard. The parking is quite expensive and hotel personnel has to park cars since it is a special kind of garage. We had motorcycle and parked it in from of the hotel on the sidewalk and it was OK. Location is great, very close to botanical gardens and close to old city center, just 10 min of nice walk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here for a night in June after booking my room through 'hotel tonight'. Based on the value for money I received during my stay there's absolutely no basis for criticism.

Check-in was seamless and staff was very helpful, room ready despite showing up around 1p.m. As stated by other commentators, rooms are stylish and in great condition, merely showing the occasional chipped paint. Pool and Spa were good and are probably the features that brought this property from a four to a five star rating. Cleanliness throughout just as spotless as you would expect in Germany.

If you're looking for a plush Grand Hotel this ain't it – if you're after a stylish place to stay in the heart of the city offering all the amenities, look no further.

Room Tip: Rooms seem to all be very similar – don't expect a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

the hotel is very well located, just walking distance to the main centre of Hamburg, great start for a nice walk through the many shops and beautiful clean city. The staff at reception greeted us nicely and very helpful. We need to change the room on the second day because the cooling system did not work well on our room, very well managed the lady upgraded us to a junior suite and excuse her for the heat on the room. In fact I think that even thought our new room was a bit cooler perhaps because it was bigger the cooling system is not so effective in very hot days as we had . The rooms are very nice, beds and towels are very clean and new, but sometimes the excess of high tech is not very functional, the grips of the basin with wets hand are difficult to open, the basin is too small and gets all around wet, the hook in the bathroom are too small and round , so your toiletry bag always falls down, the cooling system in hot days does not work very well, ( but there are not many days so hot in Hamburg ), but on an overall the hotel is great, the staff was very helpful, especially the bell boy who took some boxes for us to the postal office to ship and help us getting them pack. Did not had breakfast on the hotel for 24 Euros p/pers. rather walk 2 minutes and have a great breakfast in front of the Alster or on Gansemarkt!!! will come back next time in Hamburg

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I enjoy staying at the Side hotel as the staff is very friendly and the location is great and close to Jungfernstieg.

They offer also Spa treatments which are great if you want to relax.
The restaurant is rather suitable for meat eaters.

The hotel overall has aged a little which can be seen in some rooms.

Overall I nearly always chose the Side for the good value for money.

Btw if you stay more than 15 times you get a special Thank you. ;-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos Cyprus
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The best breakfast I've ever had is in this hotel where you actually order from a menu..modern hotel, very nice, excellent and helpful staff..

Only slight comment: set up of light switches should have been easier... Way too confusing!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SIDE Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SIDE Hotel

Address: Drehbahn 49, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#24 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#27 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#31 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#38 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — SIDE Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The one and only SIDE Hotel is part of Design Hotels and is located near the inner Alster lake and the city's shopping arcades. It combines wellness with lifestyle and luxury with design. 11 floors of puristic design composed by architect Matteo Thun lay between the spacious SPA-area and the impressive sky lounge. Discover the essence of indulgence in the restaurant [m]eatery where our chef prepares specialities meat. We bid you a warm welcome inSIDE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SIDE Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Side Hotel Hamburg
Side Hamburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SIDE Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.