We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, I will come back.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zum Zeppelin

Save Saved
You added Zum Zeppelin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Zum Zeppelin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Frohmestrasse 123 - 125, 22459 Hamburg, Germany (Eimsbüttel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #171 of 316 hotels in Hamburg
Lonate Pozzolo
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent, I will come back.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I spent one day for business trip. Very nice hotel. The Reception is in the building of the restaurant and in the opposite buildings there are the rooms. The lady at the reception was so kind giving full explanations and she also printed to me some informations and the boarding pass. The price is very interesting as for around 80 Euro you have breakfast included (good choice and quality) and also internet free (very good connection). The restaurant as well is good, fresh food and well cooked, I also suggest it. So I will be back in the future.

Room Tip: I was in the room 206 and I slept very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    15
    5
    0
See reviews for
5
10
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for three nights to be close to friends who live in the neighborhood. We were kind of worried based on the reviews and the noise on the main road, but it turned out to be a good stay.

We asked for a quieter room and it turned out to be quiet indeed. There is no A/C, so the noise might be a problem since you have to sleep with open windows if the weather is warm. Do ask for a quieter room if you have a choice.

Staff was nice and efficient. We asked for some extra pillows and we got them. Clean bathrooms. Rooms are dated, but we did not mind.

WIFI is free, but you have to get a new login/password from the front desk every day (they give you a printout). Wifi connection was excellent.

There is no elevator, which makes it hard if you have a disability or if you have heavy luggage.

Breakfast is decent (can be better based on my experience in the other German hotels), but they have hot items (sausage and eggs) and standard cold selection (yogurts, bread, cereal, couple of juices and milk, some fruits, cheeses, salami and ham).

The hotel is close to the airport, in a residential area, with a couple of parks nearby. It is about 30-40 minutes from the center by public transportation. We came from the Hauptbahnhof: took the U2 line in the UBahn to Niendorf Markt station, rode bus "5" from there, got off on the second stop, walked for 5 min to the hotel.

This hotel is within 5-min walk from a couple of supermarkets (they were closed on Sunday), where you can buy food/water. Also close to a couple of food joints (a pizza place and a sushi place). Not a lot of activity otherwise.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome, Idaho
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Staff was GREAT! We had not arrived yet to the property and called to see if I could print a boarding pass. They were eager to assist in any way and thanked us for staying. When we checked in, the staff member was very helpful, accommodating, and informative and let me print my pass on their computer. Room was clean and comfortable, with a big closet which, unfortunately, we didn't need. Parking was free, with close-to-building parking for women, which we appreciated. When we stated that we had to leave very early in the morning, they cheerfully removed breakfast charges, so it was an especially good value. Only two negatives: There was no way to cool the room (no A/C, and windows didn't open very far) and there was no elevator, which is only a problem if you mind schlepping your bags up stairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you can't carry bags up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norway
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel was the perfect choice for a overnight during my car journey from Italy to Norway. Free parking, very good location, just outside the highway, perfect choice if you have just to briefly rest on night during a long trip.
Breakfast was huge and delicious. We ate restaurant of the hotel and it was a good choice. Nice prices and tasty dinner.
The bathroom in my room I think was renovated: brand new, clean and shiny. Perfect shower. Staff was helpful and kind.
The general room, except for the bathroom, was very dated. Moquette on the floor, very old furniture and CRT TV. The room was generally clean, but it is very difficult to make a moquette look clean, if it is very old, and that's the case. This kind of floor is present in many part of the hotel, included the breakfast room.
WiFi is present, even if the login procedure is a little annoying: you have to go to the reception to get a one device login username.

Room Tip: Seems that the main building offers the quietest rooms, we stayed there. Also because the access is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

although on a main road it was one of the cleanest hotels i have ever stayed in. room was spacious had my own fridge and bathroom was modern and well equipped. Breakfast was also plenyiful and filling. A nearby bus stop takes you to the nearest shopping centre and underground connection to the city. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haughton, Louisiana
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Zum Zeppelin is an average hotel that is a few miles outside of Hamburg. Our room was located across a very busy street in a building a block or so down the road. The parking was good and the room was an average smoking room with a somewhat cramped bathroom and a small TV with bad reception. A typical European bed and very noisy road that wouldn't have been bad if not for the room having no air conditioning on a 80+ degree day. On a positive note the bus route that was a block or two away provided access to downtown Hamburg with about a 30-40 minute ride. Not somewhere I would stay again because of the noise and hard access to cross road for main hotel but not bad for the price.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We did not notice when booking that some rooms they have are of so called 3 stars... These are rooms in the seller, at the buildings in the opposite site of the street from the main hotel. There is no crossing from the hotel to those buildings, so one has to run accros the street. We arrived late, therefore it was hard to find our room - there are no signs that the actual building is a hotel, and no lights, so we had just to try our key.
The room itself was ok, but it was below the level of a parking lot, and the wheels of someones car was the only view we hd through the window.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zum Zeppelin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zum Zeppelin

Address: Frohmestrasse 123 - 125, 22459 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Eimsbüttel
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 316 hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Zum Zeppelin 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Zum Zeppelin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zum Zeppelin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.