We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Generator Hostel Hamburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Generator Hostel Hamburg to your Saves list
Generator Hostel Hamburg
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Steintorplatz 3, 20099 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The accommodation was very nice. Our room was perfectly in order. The hostel itself was very well organised and the staff very friendly. Not too close to the city center, but there's a metro station in front of the entrance. They even have a pick-up for the free guided tours and the pub crawls at the hostel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    178
    63
    31
    14
See reviews for
14
71
113
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sandviken, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay here. The rooms were really fresh and nice. The staff were friendly and serviceminded. It's really close to the central station. Around the hostel area there were plenty of places to eat. I will defently stay here if I visit Hamburg again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I wouldn't recommend this hostel to anyone except as a last resort. Not only are the rooms much too small for the number of people, but the staff is extremely unfriendly. The whole atmosphere makes one feel like he is being treated simply as a source of money rather than as a person.
After reserving ahead of time, I checked in with my girlfriend for a two-night stay and was asked whether we were together, to which I answered "yes". I was informed that we were assigned beds that they were not next to each other. I asked how strict the situation with the beds were and whether it might be possible to switch, to which the response was "the room is already full, it's your problem if you want to switch with someone else".
When we got to the room, we did indeed manage to convince another guest to switch beds with us. However, the next day when we came back from our sightseeing tour we were in for a shock. All of the stuff that had been on the bed -- toiletries, a charging mobile phone, a towel, a laptop charger, etc., plus the backpack that had been in the trunk under the bed had disappeared, and another person was lying in the bed. It turns out that the person we had switched with had checked out, and the hostel staff had removed everything from the bed to which he had been assigned. We went to the lobby to ask what happened and were again treated to unfriendly/clueless staff. Luckily we did eventually succeed in getting our stuff back. However, everything -- electronics, toiletries and all -- had apparently been dumped into a big trash bag, and the toiletries bag had been left open so that shampoo etc. was tumbling around freely inside. All in all it makes one question the training/job satisfaction of the people working at this hostel when they treat guest's possessions in such a thoughtless manner.
Honestly, had the initial check-in person not been so unfriendly and had he informed us that the cleaning staff would mercilessly attack assigned beds after the assignee had checked out, the situation could have been avoided.
In any case, there are enough other reasons besides the unfriendly staff to avoid this hostel--the rooms are very cramped, the bathrooms are practically port-a-potty-sized, there's a very high risk of running into annoyingly loud, party-minded teenage school kids, and lots of things (key cards, electric outlets) don't work half the time. On top of that the location, while practical, is somewhat dodgy at night.
Just say no to this hostel. Go somewhere where you'll be treated like an actual person.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a stag do and found it to be a great base. Nicest hostel I've ever stayed at. Plus has its own bar! Short taxi ride from the Reiperbahn (bar area) and across from the station.Rooms were good and clean. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

As we booked so late we didn't have any choice in our hostel. This was very comfortable compared to previous hostels, if quite a bit more expensive. It was entirely satisfactory, and the place seemed to be filled with Stag dos, which some people complain about on here but I find quite amusing! Bar area seemed busy, but maybe hard to find other travellers as it was mainly groups. Pub crawl from here was great, and the walking tour also pretty fun

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The hostel itself was clean and nice. The comfortable clean bed in the room is what I actually needed. A huge hostel and a nice bar =>the possibility to meet different people from all over the world.

The staff wasn't really friendly. Didn't even give a smile when I came to the counter. They looked like hating their job and counting minutes till the next shift. I didn't like the bathroom and the toilet! They were so tiny, one cannot even brush his teeth there normally! The German girls that stayed in my room 117 didn't care about cleanness, food and their hair were everywhere around the room!
NO TOWELS - if you want one, they charge 6 euros.

Room Tip: It's just a luck who will be your roommates..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shinagawa-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very clean. Great staff. People staying are overall well-mannered and safe to be around. Enough privacy but at the same time easy to interact with other travellers. Having a choice of female only dorms and single rooms is a strong point as well. The only thing you have to tolerate is the feeling of guilt of having to make noise when everybody in your dorm is sleeping, but you'll just have to make up for that by being friendly to the people in your room and using the room nice and tidy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Generator Hostel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Hamburg

Address: Steintorplatz 3, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Hamburg 2*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our fresh, brand new Hamburg Hostel opened in January 2012 and is located in the heart of St Georg, next to the central train station "Hauptbahnhof Sued". Many of Hamburg’s great attractions are on our doorstep, such as the Deichtorhallen, the City Hall and the area of Speicherstadt. We know that Hamburg can be expensive, so unlike many other Hamburg hostels we give you: FREE Wi-Fi Internet, FREE bed linen, central location and en-suite Rooms.All our other Generator Hostels are renowned for their famous late nights at Generator Bar which provide a unique atmosphere, entertaining our guests with DJ nights, Karaoke, quizzes and fancy dress evenings: expect this and many many more fun evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Generator Hostel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Generator Hostel Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.