We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“:)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Generator Hostel Hamburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Generator Hostel Hamburg to your Saves list
Generator Hostel Hamburg
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Steintorplatz 3, 20099 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

My friend and I stayed here after staying at the one in Copenhagen and we quite enjoyed the hostel in Hamburg just as much. The room was quite clean and the staff were very friendly and nice. It was super easy to find because it's straight across from the Hauptbahnhof.

There was a problem with some of the people in the room (they were very loud and woke the rest of us up when they got back) and the staff handled the situation very well and were firm but polite.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    179
    63
    31
    14
See reviews for
14
71
114
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

After staying at the Generator hostel in Berlin we decided to stay at the same chain in Hamburg and we weren't disappointed. We know that the Generator Hamburg didn't open to long ago so we had high hopes that it would be even better than the one in Berlin - we weren't disappointed.
The hostel is directly outside the main railway station and is within walking distance of all the main sights.
We paid 30euro for a private twin room with private bathroom - much cheaper than other accommodation we saw. We stayed for 2 nights but not consecutive days - both rooms we had were to the same standard - very clean, basic, good standard furniture. There is everything you need but with no extras - for example there was no tv (but it wasn't a problem for us!)
while we were there the free wireless internet broke down and the staff weren't very helpful about it, but they weren't rude. There is free luggage storage and a nice bar.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed for one night whilst travelling through North West Germany. The room was modern and emmaculately clean and we were impressed by the excellent central Hamburg location! For the price, we couldn't have asked for anything better (In fact, I have paid more for far less in other hostels!). Our double room was bright and fresh and had a small, but practical none the less, bathroom.

Recommended for anyone staying for a short period in Hamburg, I enjoyed the memory foam matress! =)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights, single room (#116). Quiet, nice, very clean and good facilities - even a little table. It was more like a hotel room than a hostel.
Staff could be more friendly and more staff would be good for the size of the hostel, but that's really a minor thing.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: 116 was quiet - faces courtyard. but no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I only stayed here 1 night, but it was a good night! The hostel is new, clean, very hip (at least they're trying). Not much of a party-hostel, but that's ok for most people! The shower area was way too small and I recommend using the communal one since it is located right next to the toilet and other people might want that while you shower! Generally no complaints though - I think most people would really like this hostel!
Loved: location! look out of your train window and you'll see it! walk out of the station, and you're there! beds were comfortable; light and power outlet for every bed; lockers (although locks would be nice to rent);
Suggestions (as asked for by the staff): you need clocks! somewhere in the hostel you need to have a clock so travelers don't run late (or too early) - hallways, common room, elevators, whatever; the laundry room should not need the staff to open it (I needed staff 3 times just to do 1 load of laundry!); and make the common areas a little warmer - even with 2 layers of clothes, I was never warm in these areas.
also, it's very frustrating when there's only 2 people working reception, a huge group of people come to check in and I have to wait to ask for a towel (or something small) when the person working in the cafe part isn't busy, but can't help me because her cash machine isn't connected. People who have checked in shouldn't have to wait all the time to be served after check-in!

Room Tip: I'm sure any room is good - it's a quiet place anyway and not much of a party hostel and eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I've stayed at the Generator hostel in London, which i thought for the price we paid was great, friendly staff, and awesome atmosphere. Yet this new Generator in Hamburg blew me away with how modern and clean everything is, you could easily forget its a hostel. Staff were great and friendly, especially Patrick behind the bar (even printed us some directions to another bar when the hostel bar shut!). Overall for the price you pay, this hostel is luxury, and in a great location next to the bus and train station. Danke Generator!!

Room Tip: We had a four bed private room with en suite, was top notch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Finding out about this hostel was one of the best deals of my life! The hostel was so well located near the Main train station just to begin with. The interior was fantastic! the rooms were great and very well taken care of; and the attention was phenomenal! Plus, the price you pay for the room is GREAT! I felt that I was staying in a 4 Star hotel while paying only a hostel rate!!!

Before traveling to other cities in Europe I will always look for a Generator hostel as first option.

Room Tip: The hotel is great and new. You could choose anything and I am pretty sure you will be very satisfi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Generator Hostel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel Hamburg

Address: Steintorplatz 3, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel Hamburg 2*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our fresh, brand new Hamburg Hostel opened in January 2012 and is located in the heart of St Georg, next to the central train station "Hauptbahnhof Sued". Many of Hamburg’s great attractions are on our doorstep, such as the Deichtorhallen, the City Hall and the area of Speicherstadt. We know that Hamburg can be expensive, so unlike many other Hamburg hostels we give you: FREE Wi-Fi Internet, FREE bed linen, central location and en-suite Rooms.All our other Generator Hostels are renowned for their famous late nights at Generator Bar which provide a unique atmosphere, entertaining our guests with DJ nights, Karaoke, quizzes and fancy dress evenings: expect this and many many more fun evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Generator Hostel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Generator Hostel Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.