We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Different” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 25hours Hotel HafenCity

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added 25hours Hotel HafenCity to your Saves list
25hours Hotel HafenCity
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Uberseeallee 5, 20457 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Save €3 on select meals
Ranked #4 of 316 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Not often do you walk into a hotel and smile; impressively done and very good value. Having a copy of Rouler on sale was a good sign. Room was small, but comfortable and well equipped, and there's clearly been care and passion put into getting the design and detail right. Front desk and restaurant staff were quick and friendly. Hafencity is on the edge of the main part of Hamburg,but looks easy to get into the centre

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    172
    29
    7
    2
See reviews for
59
235
21
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I booked this hotel from advice of business colleagues in Hamburg. I am not sure any of them actually stayed here. 25 Hr goes so far in trying to be trendy or whatever they were going for, they forgot basic elements of comfort. It didn't help I was arriving after already having spent 5 days in China on a 11 day trip from US. I got to my room at 8:30 at night and the entire room, walls, ceilings, etc is painted black and dimly lit. After two days it felt very claustrophobic. The furnishings were also chosen to fit the sea motif, and not for comfort. Overall, not the type of hotel I would choose for business or pleasure. I will say the staff was friendly and food in the restaurent was quite good and I get the vibe in the evenings, especially when there is entertainment. Being in the room was far worse than being outside of it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hoge noorden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Although situated in the hart of the exciting new neighboorhood Cityhafen, Hamburg, this hotel was a dissapointment. Between modern architecture, 25hour is a rather boring building. The interior lacks any style. A rather simplistic 'nautic' decor should give you the feeling of being part of the habour, it gave me the idea of childrensroom. Service is poor. Sometimes rude (do not forget to bring your sauna laundry when checking out, if not, you will be send back to your room to collect your wet towels). Hamburg is worth your visit, but I did stay in beter hotels for the same price than 25houres 2! And parking is not free....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
25hours_Hotels, Sales & Marketing Manager at 25hours Hotel HafenCity, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Dear broer,

thank you for your words here on Tripadvisor! I am sorry to hear, that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We have a proverb in german saying that one cannot argue about taste - I guess the building and individual interior cannot meet everbodys´ liking.

Yet I would like to apologize, hearing that you felt treated badly. This is not acceptable and definitely not the norm in any 25hours hotel. I really hope, that we can welcome you sometime soon again in one of our hotels to give you a second first impression.

Best regards, Laura-Marie Bruehl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My friends choose this as the base for my hen do in Hamburg and what a great choice it was. This hotel is fab, well priced, stylish, and with great attention to detail. The staff were helpful and friendly, one even had a lovely little pug who we enjoyed playing with. Most of all we loved the record room on the first floor where you can just hang out and play old vinyl whilst enjoying some ice cold beers from the bar - heaven!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bornem, Antwerpen, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed last week for 2 nights at the 25hours Hotel Hafencity. It was a real great experience : great interior, great people, splendid service. Breakfast was 'waauw' :-).

Definitely a place recommended to stay when you need to be in the harbourpart of the city.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had a great experience at this hotel! It is probably best suited for people who appreciate a fun, modern aesthetic. It just feels young and fresh. A lot of thought has gone into the design, as elements that would otherwise seem disparate are harmoniously layered together. The nice thing is that you get this without sacrificing the service and functionality you want while on holiday. The price was also competitive.

We found our room to be stylish, clean, comfortable, spacious, and well-planned. It had a unique design, with a rope ladder, and "floating" furniture (ie, not all pushed up against a wall). The bathroom was large and the rainfall shower was refreshing.

One unexpected highlight was the restaurant. The food was supremely fresh (all locally sourced) and presented/prepared nicely. This will sound silly, but try the spinach salad! It was honestly the best tasting spinach my wife and I have ever tasted, complete with delicious goat cheese and the perfect strawberry vinaigrette. We had it twice, we enjoyed it so much.

The only, very slight, knock on the hotel is the location. It's slightly out of the way for now, as this port area is being revitalized. For the time being the hotel faces a large construction area. So we had large beautiful windows, but mostly saw dirt and bulldozers. We had no issues with noise, however, and whenever that construction is done the location will probably one of major selling points. We could still access many of the site we wanted to see by foot.

Overall, I'd highly recommend booking this hotel and would very likely stay again on a return trip. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Any should be good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I have stayed there 12 nights in a row. Great location (5 minutes by car to the city center and near the port). Excellent hotel quality. Everybody is very polite, helpful and qualified. If you can, get the bigger room. The dark color room is not the greatest. Nice sauna too. Great burgers! Breakfast could be a bit boring since they serve the same thing everyday... The pillows are weird, but they replace if you ask!

Room Tip: Do not get the dark color room! Beige color is much better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 25hours Hotel HafenCity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 25hours Hotel HafenCity

Address: Uberseeallee 5, 20457 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 316 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — 25hours Hotel HafenCity 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the style of a sailor‘s home at foreign ports, the guest cabins in the 25hours Hotel HafenCity are warm and cosy. Elements and materials from shipbuilding are interpreted in a lighthearted style and held together with some seaman‘s yarn. The HEIMAT kitchen+bar offers the best produce from local lands, and of course local waters.170 bunks • Mini-bar • Safe • iHome Sound Dock • iMac workstations • Free Wi-Fi throughout the building • Mare kiosk • Free MINI rental • Free bicycle rental • Jogging corner • HEIMAT kitchen+bar • 4 function rooms • Port sauna with view port • Vinyl room • Gibson music room • Car park ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your 25hours Hotel HafenCity reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 25hours Hotel HafenCity, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.