We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and spacious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Hamburg Emporio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Hamburg Emporio to your Saves list
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dammtorwall 19 | 20355 Hamburg, 20355 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Modern and spacious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Stayed two nights for a business trip. The hotel is new and with a modern design on walking distance of the city center. The room was very spacious with a big bathroom with bath. Staff was correct and friendly. Did not use breakfast so cannot give any information there. The only thing that I missed was room-service. In the lobby there is a corner where some sandwiches and snacks can be bought and brought to the room.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobias A, Director of Sales at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Hej dear guest,
thank you very much for your positive feedback! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and the spacious room and the design of the hotel. Maybe next time you can try our breakfast buffet as well where we offer a lot of organic and healthy foods.
We are sorry that you would have preferred a room service. We do offer a pizza which you can order for take away at the bar and as you mentioned the little shop offers snacks, snadwiches and wraps etc.
We hope to see you soon again at the Scandic Hamburg Emporio.

With kind regards,

Tobias Albert
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    141
    39
    9
    2
See reviews for
40
120
16
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Top Contributor
413 reviews 413 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at the hotel 6 nights 30 April -6 may by hotel club site. The staff were all friendly and helpful .l and we liked the room and especially the bathroom with its spacious shower. i like the room it is large , the bed big & comfort with ice pillow. the hotel clean & housekeeping very good. i like the modern desgin of the hotel ,luxury & DECOR OF THE HOTEL.
the wifi is hotspot but it is free & very good speed, the hotel offer good business center you can receive massages or print your booking free. i visit the gym it is very good.i like the restaurant who service very good food & i like the bar it is life with very good service.

THE LOCATION AMAZING closing to Planten un Blomen park &J ungfernstieg shopping street.

i do not like
1- i can not watch champion league game between Chelsea & atlitico Madrid because it is not in tv.
2- no room service.
3-they refuse call delivery restaurant for us .

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobias A, Director of Sales at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hej dear guest,

thank you very much for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay - from your room to the restaurant. It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed the gym while your stay here. Did you know, that we also offer our guests guided running tours through the park Planten un Blomen or around the lake Alster.
We are sorry that you didn't like our room service concept. You can order a pizza from your room, and it will be ready for pick up 15 minutes later at the bar. In addition we have our small shop with fruits, snacks and freshly made sandwiches and wraps, which is open 24hours. We are sorry that this didn't live up to ypu rexpectations. We thank you for the positive feedback and hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards,

Tobias Albert
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linkoping, Sweden
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We'd booked a last minute trip to Hamburg, booking the Scandic the day before we arrived. The staff were all friendly and helpful and we liked the room and especially the bathroom with its spacious shower.

It's a short walk from the hotel to the Jungfernstieg and the shopping streets and the Planten un Blomen park is very close. Despite being so close to everything and being on the first floor our room was very quiet, we couldn't hear any noise from outside and the ventilation was silent.

The breakfast buffet was very busy on our first morning but the staff were very efficient in finding empty tables and refilling the buffet. For a "scandinavian" breakfast there was surprisingly little choice of fish but there was a nice variety in general and the food was of good quality.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobias A, Director of Sales at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hej dear guest,

thank you very much for the excellent review. We are especially thankful for the positive feedback about our staff at the breakfast and in general. It is also nice to hear that you enjoyed the quiet room. Our hotel is located in the city center but the hotel itself is built in a quite calm space, especially after closing time. We hope to see you again soon!

With kind regards,

Tobias Albert
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahti, Finland
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed at the hotel 4 nights during Christmas time. The Emporio Hotel is very modern with nice lobby bar and high quality restaurant. Staff is OK but we do not seems to have mutual understanding. We had combo room with our teenagers. The rooms were very spacious, bathroom average, beds a little bit odd (motor system). New hotel is always new. Breakfast was amazing with a lot of choices and professional staff. Hotel location is good if you like to stay almost in the centre. And from airport you can take taxi with a cost of ca. 25 €. From hotel to airport we went through Eppendorf. This "village" is very nice area not so far away. Please visit there if you have any extra time. Althogether almost positive experience but this was probably my last visit in Scandic hotels (never say never) because somehow these hotels are too sterile for my taste, and staff too openly "judged" our budget based travelling. Maybe they try too hard to be excellent hotel chain.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobias A, Director of Sales at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hej dear guest,

thanks a lot for your positive feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in your spacious room as well as our selection and service at breakfast. We are sorry to hear that you find the Scandic hotels sterile. In our hotel with the design and interour we create a welcoming atmosphere and try to make people feel at home when they are staying with us. The rooms are very light in style, since they have wooden floors and windows from bottom to ceiling. Maybe you give us another chance to welcome you at Scandic.

With kind regards,

Tobias Albert
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I have just arrived home after a 3 day Conference in Hamburg. We both stayed and had the Conference at this fantastic hotel.
Big spacious and quiet rooms, SO serviceminded staff, CLEAN, great food, great breakfast, great location and so on...I could keep on going for a long time!!
The Conference department was on the 7th floor and it was really nice. Everyone had a great view over Hamburg from this conferenceroom and there where Always something good to eat in breaks.
We discovered Hamburg a Little bit, but all evenings (nights) we spent in the hotel bar. Cosy furnitures and perfect Place to get in the right mood. Reeperbahn is a must to visit...just to look at people and maybe go out on a disco...
Great Conference and I am so pleased that we choosed this hotel - I would like to go back again very soon....
Thank you all staff at Scandic Hamburg Emporio!!

Room Tip: If you would like to have a great view over Hamburg - a room at the 5th or 6th floor is a recommenda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobias A, Director of Sales at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Hej dear guest,

we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay including the conference and the evenings at the bar so much! Thank you for the compliment about our service minded staff, we appreciate that and it is a real treat to read your feedback. In addition to our cosy furniture we do have a musician playing some jazz live music at some evenings, maybe you get the chance to visit us again and enjoy one of those evenings.

It is also nice to hear that you took the chance to discover Hamburg from our location in the city center. We hope to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,

Tobias Albert
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I stayed at the Scandic for 3 nights during a business trip.
The hotel was very modern, the room was huge and full of natural light, there were several hangers for your clothes, the bed was super confortable and the location was very convenient for the fair at the Messehalle (about 1 km walk).
On the opposite side of the street there is a kiosk, where you can buy magazines, coffees and I found it brilliant to relax with a magazine on the confy chair in the room.
The beauty products in the bathroom were high quality and as we are in Germany paraben, silicon free, too.
The breakfast at the hotel was very good, too and offered lots of variety: yoghurts, fresh fruit, all sorts of breads, English breakfast, etc...
The reception personnel was slightly stressed due to the many guests, and maybe not that lolly, but all in all was Ok.
I highly recommend this for business travellers and for leisure travellers, which are into modern design, which sometimes can be not so cosy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobias A, Verkaufsleiter at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Hej dear guest,

thank you very much for the great feedback! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel so much. Since we value sustainability our products served in the restaurant are mainly fairtrade and biological. We appreciate your positive description of the room, the natural daylight and space is part of our Swedish design concept.
Just for your info: If you don't want to go across the street to get your magzines and coffee, there is a small shop in our lobby, where you can get newspapers, books, coffe, snacks and fresh sandwiches as well.
We look forward to welcome you again at the Scandic Hamburg Emporio.

With kind regards,

Tobias Albert
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Struer, Denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I travel frequenty to Hamburg on business, and the Scandic Hamburg Emporio is my preferred hotel. The staff is consistently friendly, the location is excellent, and the facilities modern and clean.

The u-bahn (subway) stop is about 150m from the main entrance, from where getting around Hamburg is exceptionally easy. Lots of good restaurants within walking distance in every direction, too.

Bikes are available for renting year-round; there is no charge if you borrow one for under four hours, either. Great service! Communal runs of 6k and 10k take place on Monday and Wednesday nights, with guests meeting up in the lobby. An excellent idea.

The rooms are all sleek, clean, and quiet. Parking is safe and clean underground, albeit EUR22 per day.

Only three minor things surprise me:
1. You are given one free bottle of water per stay in the room fridge. While they do not need to provide any free bottled water at all, I think one per night wouldn't be too much of a stretch.

2. The breakfast buffet features a large variety of items, including made-to-order omlettes, but you have to know this as it is not advertised.

3. Smoked salmon is commonplace at many hotel breakfasts, but is not featured here. There is certainly enough quality food provided, but as a Scandinavian hotel, I would expect to find one or two types of salmon.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobias A, Director of Sales at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Hej dear guest,

thank you very much for your excellent description and review of our services and facilities. We are very happy about the Scandic Hamburg Emporio being your preferred hotel in Hamburg!
Thank you as well for your suggestions. Concerning the water in the room we can say, that the Viva con Agua water bottle is meant as an extra gift to welcome you in your room, and therefore will not be replaced each day. As you already mentioned our breakfast buffet features a great variety of healthy and biological food options. The selection is chosen by our chef team and they take our concept and guest wishes into account. We will therefore forward your suggestion to our executive chef. We look forward to seeing you again soon, maybe we will even see you at one of the communal runs?

With kind regards,

Tobias Albert
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Hamburg Emporio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hamburg Emporio

Address: Dammtorwall 19 | 20355 Hamburg, 20355 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hamburg Emporio 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Hamburg Emporio combines sustainability, Scandinavian design and functionality in a unique way. The concept of "water" as a stylish design theme can be found throughout the hotel. The Hamburg hotel has 325 rooms in two categories, a restaurant and bar "H20", as well as eight conference rooms with a view across the city. Thanks to its location on Gansemarkt in the heart of the city, the Scandic Hamburg Emporio is the ideal starting point for holidaymakers and business travellers. It is part of the Scandic Hotel Group that has more than 230 hotels in Europe and is considered a pioneer in environmentallyfriendly tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Hamburg Emporio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Hamburg Emporio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.