We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean hotel near Leiszhalle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Hamburg Emporio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Hamburg Emporio to your Saves list
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dammtorwall 19 | 20355 Hamburg, 20355 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Madrid
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Nice and clean hotel near Leiszhalle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a very unusual hotel. as it is ikea-like a low-cost sustainable approach (only local products, no toiletries, no room service - a small 24h shop instead). Very unusual but really enjoyable. Breakfast was really great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Hej dear guest,

thank you very much for your positiv feedback.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    142
    39
    9
    2
See reviews for
40
122
16
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolding, Denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed one night to celebrate my wife's birthday. Therefore I asked for their best room and we got it:-) It was a big lovely room with all facilities. The staff was very polite, helpful and serviceminded. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant. My wife being an vegetarian, we asked what our option was, as there are no vegetarian main course on the menu. The chef went to work and presented a delicious meal:-)
We will definetly come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hej dear guest,

Thank you very much for you positive feedback.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
If possible, we try to accomplish every wish.
See you again.

Best regards
Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Based on excellent TripAdvisor reviews, we chose to stay at the Scandic for a short trip to Hamburg. It was an excellent choice and also great value when booked in advance.

Check-in was friendly and quick and we were pleased to find our room was a little bit different to other chain hotels (with nice features such as a recycling bin, massive bed, and clever layout). It was also very quiet so we slept particularly well here. The location is excellent for tourists, being close to all train services and a short walk to the nice area around the Rathaus.

As our first experience of the Scandic brand, we were very impressed and would select the brand again for its subtle quirkiness and good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Hey dear guest,

thank you very much for your positiv feedback.

We are glad to hear that you like the Scandicstyle and philosophy,
which we also offer in our other 160 Scandic Hotels in Europe.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter

Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
651 helpful votes 651 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was our second stay at Scandic Emporio Hamburg and we were again very happy with it: great room with nice views towards City Hall, St. Michaelis Church and the new Philharmonic Hall, very spacious and clean. Hardwood floors, free wifi, free bottle of water - no closet, though. The room was absolutely quiet.

Front desk and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful.

The breakfast situation may not appeal to everyone: you have to get plates, cups and even cutlery yourself. The restaurant has an IKEA cantine feel to it and is very crowdy with larger groups at peak hours. That said, the culinary offerings are bountiful; egg dishes are made to order.

The location is very good: only a 10-minute-walk to Dammtor railway station, 5 minutes to Gänsemarkt and the pedestrian shopping zone. A subway station is also close by.

Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hey, dear guest,

thank you very much for your honest feedback.
We are glad to hear, that you enjoy your visit in our hotel.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter

Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at the Scandic Emporio in Hamburg for a weekend break to visit the Christmas markets. The hotel is very well located for central Hamburg and the markets. The whole hotel is of a very high standard – the furnishings are modern and all areas were very clean. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room was immaculate and extremely comfortable – I had some of the best nights’ sleep there I have ever had in a hotel!

Unfortunately, the hotel restaurant doesn’t quite live up to expectations. On our first night there, we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant and were offered the choice of buffet or a la carte. The waiting staff encouraged us to opt for the buffet, which we duly did. This was priced at an expensive 36 euros per person. The range of food was extremely limited (not what we’d expected of a buffet) and, although nice enough, wasn’t of a good enough quality to warrant that price. Although the menu had advertised various meat options for the main course, there only seemed to be gammon available and not very good quality either. To accompany the meat, the options were cabbage, potatoes and more potatoes. When we each ordered a glass of wine, we were only poured a half measure so had to ask to be topped up! A glass of mulled wine should have been included in the price of the buffet, but this never materialised. The next two nights of our stay, we ate out at other local restaurants, which were much more reasonably priced, with better choice and quality.

On balance, we had a great weekend and were very happy and comfortable in the hotel, but regretted choosing to eat in the hotel restaurant on the first night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback. It helps us to optimize our service.

We are very sorry to hear that you didn´t enjoy our buffet. The four Fridays before Christmas we offer a traditional Scandinavian buffet. This buffet is called JuleBord and includes a lot of different sorts of fish and typical vegetables from Scandinavia, but little meat.
So, it wasn´t a good recommendation from our waiter, if you don´t like fish. We apologize for our waiter not having passed on this information and that you didn´t get our homemade mulled wine.

We hope that you visit our hotel and restaurant again to try the delicious dishes from our menu.

Best regards,
Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Very modern, very clean, a bit different than most other hotels. First of all, they have a large parking garage, with wide lanes, so you won't damage your car getting in and out. The staff at the reception is most friendly and helpful, exactly as they should be.
Nice and clean rooms, with all modern features that you expect in this range of hotels. What I do miss, is a feeling of Scandic warmth, a "cosy" atmosphere.
The restaurant in the hotel, H2O, is good, but the menu is a bit limited. They are brave: the first restaurant I have been in in any western country that does not serve Coca Cola or Pepsi, but a local cola. Not bad either, to be honest. All in all a nice and comfortable experience, excellent for business trips, but not for private visits, I guess.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hey dear guest,

thank you very much for your honest feedback. It helps us a lot to do a better service.
Yes, you are right with the cola. In general, if possible we use only foods and beverage from the region.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter

Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

New, stylish hotel with large clean rooms and excellent tv and wifi connection. I was in the heart of the city within a 5 minute walk. Importantly, both times I've stayed, I've had a room with large windows and beautiful aspects to the front or back. I'll not be trying another hotel in Hamburg for now.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hey dear guest,

thank you very much for your positiv Feedback.

We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter

Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Hamburg Emporio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hamburg Emporio

Address: Dammtorwall 19 | 20355 Hamburg, 20355 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hamburg Emporio 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Hamburg Emporio combines sustainability, Scandinavian design and functionality in a unique way. The concept of "water" as a stylish design theme can be found throughout the hotel. The Hamburg hotel has 325 rooms in two categories, a restaurant and bar "H20", as well as eight conference rooms with a view across the city. Thanks to its location on Gansemarkt in the heart of the city, the Scandic Hamburg Emporio is the ideal starting point for holidaymakers and business travellers. It is part of the Scandic Hotel Group that has more than 230 hotels in Europe and is considered a pioneer in environmentallyfriendly tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Hamburg Emporio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Hamburg Emporio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.