We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Choice for a City Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Hamburg Emporio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Hamburg Emporio to your Saves list
Scandic Hamburg Emporio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dammtorwall 19 | 20355 Hamburg, 20355 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
142 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
651 helpful votes 651 helpful votes
“Great Choice for a City Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

This was our second stay at Scandic Emporio Hamburg and we were again very happy with it: great room with nice views towards City Hall, St. Michaelis Church and the new Philharmonic Hall, very spacious and clean. Hardwood floors, free wifi, free bottle of water - no closet, though. The room was absolutely quiet.

Front desk and restaurant staff were friendly and helpful.

The breakfast situation may not appeal to everyone: you have to get plates, cups and even cutlery yourself. The restaurant has an IKEA cantine feel to it and is very crowdy with larger groups at peak hours. That said, the culinary offerings are bountiful; egg dishes are made to order.

The location is very good: only a 10-minute-walk to Dammtor railway station, 5 minutes to Gänsemarkt and the pedestrian shopping zone. A subway station is also close by.

Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hey, dear guest,

thank you very much for your honest feedback.
We are glad to hear, that you enjoy your visit in our hotel.

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter

Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    141
    39
    9
    2
See reviews for
40
120
16
132
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at the Scandic Emporio in Hamburg for a weekend break to visit the Christmas markets. The hotel is very well located for central Hamburg and the markets. The whole hotel is of a very high standard – the furnishings are modern and all areas were very clean. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room was immaculate and extremely comfortable – I had some of the best nights’ sleep there I have ever had in a hotel!

Unfortunately, the hotel restaurant doesn’t quite live up to expectations. On our first night there, we decided to eat in the hotel restaurant and were offered the choice of buffet or a la carte. The waiting staff encouraged us to opt for the buffet, which we duly did. This was priced at an expensive 36 euros per person. The range of food was extremely limited (not what we’d expected of a buffet) and, although nice enough, wasn’t of a good enough quality to warrant that price. Although the menu had advertised various meat options for the main course, there only seemed to be gammon available and not very good quality either. To accompany the meat, the options were cabbage, potatoes and more potatoes. When we each ordered a glass of wine, we were only poured a half measure so had to ask to be topped up! A glass of mulled wine should have been included in the price of the buffet, but this never materialised. The next two nights of our stay, we ate out at other local restaurants, which were much more reasonably priced, with better choice and quality.

On balance, we had a great weekend and were very happy and comfortable in the hotel, but regretted choosing to eat in the hotel restaurant on the first night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback. It helps us to optimize our service.

We are very sorry to hear that you didn´t enjoy our buffet. The four Fridays before Christmas we offer a traditional Scandinavian buffet. This buffet is called JuleBord and includes a lot of different sorts of fish and typical vegetables from Scandinavia, but little meat.
So, it wasn´t a good recommendation from our waiter, if you don´t like fish. We apologize for our waiter not having passed on this information and that you didn´t get our homemade mulled wine.

We hope that you visit our hotel and restaurant again to try the delicious dishes from our menu.

Best regards,
Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Very modern, very clean, a bit different than most other hotels. First of all, they have a large parking garage, with wide lanes, so you won't damage your car getting in and out. The staff at the reception is most friendly and helpful, exactly as they should be.
Nice and clean rooms, with all modern features that you expect in this range of hotels. What I do miss, is a feeling of Scandic warmth, a "cosy" atmosphere.
The restaurant in the hotel, H2O, is good, but the menu is a bit limited. They are brave: the first restaurant I have been in in any western country that does not serve Coca Cola or Pepsi, but a local cola. Not bad either, to be honest. All in all a nice and comfortable experience, excellent for business trips, but not for private visits, I guess.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hey dear guest,

thank you very much for your honest feedback. It helps us a lot to do a better service.
Yes, you are right with the cola. In general, if possible we use only foods and beverage from the region.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter

Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

New, stylish hotel with large clean rooms and excellent tv and wifi connection. I was in the heart of the city within a 5 minute walk. Importantly, both times I've stayed, I've had a room with large windows and beautiful aspects to the front or back. I'll not be trying another hotel in Hamburg for now.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Hey dear guest,

thank you very much for your positiv Feedback.

We hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter

Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed in Scandic Hamburg Emporio for two nights in April 2013 as part of a business trip. The hotel is new and located very nicely, close to the city center and next to Aussen Alster which is a lake that is lovely to run around. A colleague and myself took it around this lake one of the mornings and it can only be recommended if you are a runner. about 10K in total. The lobby and bar area is trendy and fashionable, the rooms were amazing, very nice size and floor to ceiling windows with a great view (stayed on the 6th floor) Since everything was brand new, the cleanliness of the room and the overall standard was absolutely tip top. I liked especially the bathroom. I'm normally a very light sleeper but the rooms in Scandic Emporio are very sound proof which was a big plus. The breakfast was great with a good variety and everything was fresh. Will look forward to staying again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffen S, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hey dear guest,

thank you very much for your positiv feedback.

We are glad to hear, that you enjoyed your stay in our
Scandic Hamburg Emporio.

We hope we see you again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Aransas, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the Scandic Hamburg Emporio Hotel. Very clean, comfortable and well maintained w/all the necessities. Short walk to the Gansemarkt station for fast travel around Hamburg. While the hotel is very 'Scandinavian' in feel and caters to Europeans, Americans are welcomed and invited to relax and enjoy their time in Hamburg. Bar and restaurant are both found just off the lobby. Highly recommend the Scandic Emporio for its convenience, the nearby parks and neighborhoods and for its clean rooms and 'keep it green' attitude.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine A, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hey dear guest,

thank you very much vor your positiv feedback.

This good feedback motivates us to continue our strategy.

...and with our "green atitude" we have saved tons of packaging waste and CO².

Hope to see you again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We loved our stay at the Scandic in Hamburg! Beautiful hotel with fresh new decor and a nice clean modern feeling. The room was spacious and very comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a huge highlight for us, it was delicious and had a huge variety. The hotel is a fantastic location, somehow it's really quiet but it's only a couple blocks away from the city center and everything is in walking distance. We had a great time and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabine A, Manager at Scandic Hamburg Emporio, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hey dear guest,

thank you very much for your positiv feedback.

It motivates and helps us to optimize our service.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Steffen Seichter
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Hamburg Emporio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hamburg Emporio

Address: Dammtorwall 19 | 20355 Hamburg, 20355 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hamburg Emporio 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scandic Hamburg Emporio combines sustainability, Scandinavian design and functionality in a unique way. The concept of "water" as a stylish design theme can be found throughout the hotel. The Hamburg hotel has 325 rooms in two categories, a restaurant and bar "H20", as well as eight conference rooms with a view across the city. Thanks to its location on Gansemarkt in the heart of the city, the Scandic Hamburg Emporio is the ideal starting point for holidaymakers and business travellers. It is part of the Scandic Hotel Group that has more than 230 hotels in Europe and is considered a pioneer in environmentallyfriendly tourism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Hamburg Emporio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Hamburg Emporio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.