We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Christmas Markets” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg to your Saves list
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heiligengeistbruecke 4 | 20459 Hamburg, 20459 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location for Christmas Markets”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

One-night family stay for Hamburg Christmas markets. Hotel is in a great location to visit the Christmas markets. Service is efficient and hotel in general is clean and well maintained. Our rooms were pretty dated and not so nice however, and whole place has an airport hotel feel to it - very transitory atmosphere. Breakfast is nice and very good selection all beautifully prepared.
Hamburg is wonderful at Xmas, and the Flying Santa in the main square outside the Rathaus is a must-see, and only a short walk form the hotel. There's also a Christmas market at the back of the hotel, and you are only a short walk to the other two markets. Hotel is also right on the main high-end shopping street.
Would go back again but more for its location than the hotel itself.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear LondonNeat,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback which we really appreciate and we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay in Hamburg. I am sorry to hear that you felt that your rooms were pretty dated but we are planning to renovate the hotel during the next year. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    188
    63
    15
    11
See reviews for
56
185
38
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
S of Wales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The ambience and the location are superb. The hotel is situated on one of the lovely waterways that criss cross Hamburg. Interesting walks take you quickly to the stylish new Hafencity, the old quarters and the Alster lake. The staff at the hotel are pleasant, friendly and efficient. We stayed 5 nights. The first class service makes you feel equally at ease. The rooms are large and well appointed with nice views.This is an ideally placed hotel. There are plenty of boat trips and take time to absorb all the architecture from the very old houses and churches to the awesome new architecture evolving at the harbour. Hamburg is a 'must see' city.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view of the waterway then choose a front facing room ; the rooms facing th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear StellarSofWales,

Thank you for your positive feedback and for taking the time to post a review following you stay with us. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and I will pass your kind words to all the staff. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Room was spacious, bright, and clean. Location was perfect for us, we walked to Hamburg Museum, St Nicholas memorial, St Micheal's, St Peter's, St Katherine's, down to the harbour, and alla round. We wandered down to an area that had a number of nice Portugese restaurants, also found a Spanish restarant close to hotel. We had one meal in the hotel, food was good, but a little over-priced. WiFi was expensive. European hotels in general need to start providing free WiFi.

Room Tip: Hotel is at least 4 star if not a little higher, so expect that all rooms would be excellent. Higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Gordon E,

Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and we do really hope that you will come back in not too distant future!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

A lovely hotel in a great location. Room's were large and clean, and there was a well equipped spa. The gym could have more resistance machines as there was only two. The WiFi seemed very expensive and therefore we skipped on it...amazing that it isn't included in the price of the accommodation these days as no extra for use of the spa / gym etc!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Elmo_Aus,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share those comments regarding your recent stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg. We are delighted to hear you loved the location, the hotel and our spa. We can understand your irritation about the fact that Wi-Fi is not free of charge, unfortunately, we are bound by contract and cannot offer at this time Wi-Fi free of charge.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

In the beginning something went wrong twice the Spa wasnt open while we hoped to go and they only booked us for 1 night while we booked two. But problem was solved quickly. When we couldnt find a parkingspace the second day because the garage was full one of the employees even parked our car when there was a spot free in the garage so we were really carefree. I had a really late checkout and problems with the internet connection but also these were solved in no time. Breakfast however is quite expensive so i would recommend to go for a bit of a walk there are quite some really good others in the neighbourhood for less. The gym is quite nice with a good view. I would definately recommend it to someone else!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Lietsa,

Thank you so much for your very valuable and much appreciated feedback following your last stay with us. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend our hotel to someone else. Please accept our deepest apologies for the misunderstanding with your booking but we were happy to hear that this problem was solved quickly. We look forward to welcoming you back in not too distant future!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have stayed in Steigenberger in Hamburg for many times. We love this hotel because of the location, nice architecture, very big rooms and nice service. Unfortunately the service is not a 5 star service anymore.

The rooms are clean when you do arrive to the hotel, but the cleaning of the room is very poor during the stay.

We had all the time some problems with the key cards. They doesn't work work well. We had to change them a few times. We stayed in the same hotel 2 times during the spring and we had problems with the keys and doors on both times. Its quite annoying when you can't get into the room and have to go to the reception to change your key.

The restaurant menu is very poor. The food is quite tastless.

Wi-fi is not for free. Even in the business center you have to pay for the use of the computer and printer.

Probably next time we visit Hamburg we will find some new place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear IDMoscow,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg. Only by constructive criticism of our guests we are able to improve constantly our services and we would like to apologize that you had those problems with the key cards. We take your complaint very sincere and currently we are planning to renew the key card system of the hotel within the near future. It is true that WiFi is not free of charge but it is not true that our guests have to pay for using the computer and printer in the Business Corner. The use of the Business Corner is a service we provide free of charge.

We are very sorry that your stay in our hotel did not meet the level of expectation you had and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to show you we can do better.

With kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

From the moment we arrived to check out the hotel delivered.
Immaculate reception, very clean rooms and public areas, fantastic breakfast with attentive staff.
Location is very convenient for both harbour and shopping area.
Spa is faultless and brilliantly designed. The 5th floor sauna has a window with views towards the harbour.
Rooms looks a bit dated, but not tired or worn. Windows can be opened and beds are German with 2 single duvets for a king size bed.
If the price was right again I'd come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Pro-Flyer,

Thank you very much for posting a review of your recent stay with us. We are really delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and your compliments to the staff and the breakfast are very appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can assist with your booking.

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Address: Heiligengeistbruecke 4 | 20459 Hamburg, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#18 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#31 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#36 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 5* superior hotel, built in the typical Hanseatic style, is located in the city centre, only a few steps away from all the places of interest and excellent shopping facilities. A total of 233 generously sized rooms and suites offer the comfort that is expected by travellers. The Shiseido Day Spa with a panoramic sauna, steam baths, relax lounge and a large range of different types of massages, Ayurveda and beauty treatment take care of you after an exciting day. Thanks to a roof terrace, there is a fitness area available for open-air training right in the midst of the city. At the Restaurant am Fleet situated directly at the waterfront, you will enjoy your breakfast with a magnificent view over the Alster waterway. In the Bistro am Fleet with attached conservatory, you can enjoy the light, Mediterranean-style kitchen as well as unusual Euro-Asian creations and a daily changing business lunch. The Pianobar with live music and a Davidoff Cigar Lounge will offer the perfect end to the day. At the newly openend SABAI restaurant you can savour a modern cuisine with the best of Asian and European cuisine. From now on: free Wi-Fi (256 kb), high speed internet per 24 hours: € 8.00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Escapio, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Steigenberger Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.