We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg to your Saves list
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heiligengeistbruecke 4 | 20459 Hamburg, 20459 Hamburg, Germany (Neustadt)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights. Room was spacious, bright, and clean. Location was perfect for us, we walked to Hamburg Museum, St Nicholas memorial, St Micheal's, St Peter's, St Katherine's, down to the harbour, and alla round. We wandered down to an area that had a number of nice Portugese restaurants, also found a Spanish restarant close to hotel. We had one meal in the hotel, food was good, but a little over-priced. WiFi was expensive. European hotels in general need to start providing free WiFi.

Room Tip: Hotel is at least 4 star if not a little higher, so expect that all rooms would be excellent. Higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Gordon E,

Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your stay with us and we do really hope that you will come back in not too distant future!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    239
    80
    22
    13
See reviews for
82
232
44
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

A lovely hotel in a great location. Room's were large and clean, and there was a well equipped spa. The gym could have more resistance machines as there was only two. The WiFi seemed very expensive and therefore we skipped on it...amazing that it isn't included in the price of the accommodation these days as no extra for use of the spa / gym etc!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Elmo_Aus,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share those comments regarding your recent stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg. We are delighted to hear you loved the location, the hotel and our spa. We can understand your irritation about the fact that Wi-Fi is not free of charge, unfortunately, we are bound by contract and cannot offer at this time Wi-Fi free of charge.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

In the beginning something went wrong twice the Spa wasnt open while we hoped to go and they only booked us for 1 night while we booked two. But problem was solved quickly. When we couldnt find a parkingspace the second day because the garage was full one of the employees even parked our car when there was a spot free in the garage so we were really carefree. I had a really late checkout and problems with the internet connection but also these were solved in no time. Breakfast however is quite expensive so i would recommend to go for a bit of a walk there are quite some really good others in the neighbourhood for less. The gym is quite nice with a good view. I would definately recommend it to someone else!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Lietsa,

Thank you so much for your very valuable and much appreciated feedback following your last stay with us. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend our hotel to someone else. Please accept our deepest apologies for the misunderstanding with your booking but we were happy to hear that this problem was solved quickly. We look forward to welcoming you back in not too distant future!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We have stayed in Steigenberger in Hamburg for many times. We love this hotel because of the location, nice architecture, very big rooms and nice service. Unfortunately the service is not a 5 star service anymore.

The rooms are clean when you do arrive to the hotel, but the cleaning of the room is very poor during the stay.

We had all the time some problems with the key cards. They doesn't work work well. We had to change them a few times. We stayed in the same hotel 2 times during the spring and we had problems with the keys and doors on both times. Its quite annoying when you can't get into the room and have to go to the reception to change your key.

The restaurant menu is very poor. The food is quite tastless.

Wi-fi is not for free. Even in the business center you have to pay for the use of the computer and printer.

Probably next time we visit Hamburg we will find some new place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear IDMoscow,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg. Only by constructive criticism of our guests we are able to improve constantly our services and we would like to apologize that you had those problems with the key cards. We take your complaint very sincere and currently we are planning to renew the key card system of the hotel within the near future. It is true that WiFi is not free of charge but it is not true that our guests have to pay for using the computer and printer in the Business Corner. The use of the Business Corner is a service we provide free of charge.

We are very sorry that your stay in our hotel did not meet the level of expectation you had and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future visit to show you we can do better.

With kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

From the moment we arrived to check out the hotel delivered.
Immaculate reception, very clean rooms and public areas, fantastic breakfast with attentive staff.
Location is very convenient for both harbour and shopping area.
Spa is faultless and brilliantly designed. The 5th floor sauna has a window with views towards the harbour.
Rooms looks a bit dated, but not tired or worn. Windows can be opened and beds are German with 2 single duvets for a king size bed.
If the price was right again I'd come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Pro-Flyer,

Thank you very much for posting a review of your recent stay with us. We are really delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and your compliments to the staff and the breakfast are very appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can assist with your booking.

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Cost Data : 4 nights Room only (Thurs-Sun) Euro 574 - prebooked and prepaid. Tourist Tax Euro 17.12 added on departure. (see comments below)

Normally go for cheaper hotels but experience has taught us to pay a bit extra when in large cities to avoid 'dodgy' or 'out of town' areas - this hotel did not disappoint.

Location was excellent. Only 1 minute from S-Bahn Stadthausbrucke station (S1 + S3 Lines) and U-Bahn Rodinsmarkt statiuon (U3 Line). The S1 line is direct to/from the airport (35 minutes - Euro1.90 single). The locality feels very safe and overlooks a small 'square' and canal area that has several restaurants/bars (I really enjoyed the 'Rheinische Republik') and yet is not overly noisy. 20 minute walk to HauptBahnhof, 10 minutes to the Rathaus, 15 minutes to the HafenCity and 15 minutes to the Alster.

Facilities as expected in a 5 star hotel - good sized rooms/bathrooms, air conditioning, clean, staff very helpful and friendly. Spacious communal areas. Comfortable mattress and pillows. There is a spa - but didn't use these facilities - too busy exploring Hamburg !

Although the menu looked good, we gave breakfast a miss as it was charged at Euros 28 pppd - full breakfast (continental - 1 drink plus 2 small croissants priced at Euro 12.50 pppd). Plenty of cafes/bakeries nearby that offer this type of breakfast at a quarter of the price. As is the norm in Germany, no kettle/coffee making facilities - but we take our own travel kettle/coffee sachets so not an issue to us. Nice touch was the umbrella in the room for those rainy days - we did actually have to use it one day and it saved us having to go out and buy one.

I doubt the location can be bettered - we found it central and within walking distance to all the main sights in Hamburg, easy to access the S Bahn for the Airport (and the International Garden Exhibition). The area feels safe and is clean. I would recommend this hotel and will certainly stay here again when next in Hamburg.

Tourist Tax : I know it's not a huge amount but it's a shame it isn't included in the room rate as a hidden cost - I know this is a City tax and not of the hotel's doing - but it sticks in my throat that having chosen to spend my hard earned cash in a particular city, supporting their hotels, restaurants, cafes, museums, shops and generally adding to their economy (in these hard pressed times), they then want to tax me for the pleasure ! - which economist thought of that I wonder - encouraging people to spend their money in your city by taxing them ? Crazy, absolutely crazy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Hauxton,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post such a detailed review of your recent stay here at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg. We are delighted you enjoyed it so much and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon.

With kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for three nights, with a friend in April. The staff was very friendly and the room was large. The room was clean and the maid service was excellent. They check your room in the evening, and leave candy for you.
The hotel spa was closed; however, the hotel disclosed this before our stay. They made arrangements for us to use the pool at another hotel close by. There was no problem with this arrangement, and the other hotel was informed about our arrival by the Steigenberger. The other hotel spa staff and front desk were very friendly. The only negatives are that there is no free internet and a coffee maker in the room. I stayed in the Steigenberger in Berlin, and they had an excellent coffee maker. I do not know why the same company would not have such in a different city. I really need my coffee in the morning, and my friend needs her tea. However, there is a Starbucks nearby and we brought our own travel boiler with us, because we knew this in advance. We did not go to the breakfast at the hotel, because it was too expensive.The location was excellent, within walking distance of many attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernd Z, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear DRJINX,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share those very positive comments regarding your recent stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg. It is wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! Thank you also for your comments regarding the coffee maker in the room. We offer room categories where coffee makers are provided and we are actually having plans to equip more rooms with these facilities. Please let us know that you would prefer such a room when making your booking for your next stay at our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Hamburg-Altstadt
Sofitel Hamburg Alter Wall
Le Meridien Hamburg
#33 of 317 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neustadt
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
Park Hyatt Hamburg
#1 of 317 in Hamburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,373 reviews
Neustadt
Renaissance Hamburg
Renaissance Hamburg
#91 of 317 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Address: Heiligengeistbruecke 4 | 20459 Hamburg, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#29 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#30 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#33 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#38 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 5* superior hotel, built in the typical Hanseatic style, is located in the city centre, only a few steps away from all the places of interest and excellent shopping facilities. A total of 233 generously sized rooms and suites offer the comfort that is expected by travellers. The Shiseido Day Spa with a panoramic sauna, steam baths, relax lounge and a large range of different types of massages, Ayurveda and beauty treatment take care of you after an exciting day. Thanks to a roof terrace, there is a fitness area available for open-air training right in the midst of the city. At the Restaurant am Fleet situated directly at the waterfront, you will enjoy your breakfast with a magnificent view over the Alster waterway. In the Bistro am Fleet with attached conservatory, you can enjoy the light, Mediterranean-style kitchen as well as unusual Euro-Asian creations and a daily changing business lunch. The Pianobar with live music and a Davidoff Cigar Lounge will offer the perfect end to the day. At the newly openend SABAI restaurant you can savour a modern cuisine with the best of Asian and European cuisine. From now on: free Wi-Fi (256 kb), high speed internet per 24 hours: € 8.00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Escapio, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Steigenberger Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.