We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite dissapointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Save Saved
You added Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heiligengeistbruecke 4 | 20459 Hamburg, 20459 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 316 hotels in Hamburg
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Quite dissapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

OK ! in between the U and the S Bahn, at walking distance from almost everything in town and on a direct line from the airport, the location is unbeatable. However things are slightly less ideal once inside. Front desk is polite but don't expect a concierge or someone to carry your bag. Our room was fairly large but the beds were quite hard (even for someone who tends to like them) the pillows too soft (and no choice), no trace of coffee/tea making in the room, the heating was rather inefficient and the bathroom very far away from what you would expect from such hotel. Then we happened to be there just before Xmas. Fatal error! The sauna was inaccessible from 2PM, and when arriving on the 23rd we were told that the single open restaurant the next day was already overbooked and that we could have cold cuts in our room the 24th if we wished so!!!! Unbelievable! This place pretends to play in the 5 stars category... However it takes some efforts to reach that level and the Steigenberger should remain reasonable and not pretend anything above an average 4stars level

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear JMGeneva,

Thank you for sharing your experience on tripadvisor. We apologise the inconvenience you may had during your stay in our hotel and are truly sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.
Unfortunately we did not receive any information regarding your preferences in advance. We are very sorry that we had not the opportunity to talk to you in person about your wishes and what you are unhappy about. Things like the bedding, pillows, tea and coffee making facilities (which we offer in an other room category) would have been changed easily.
Our Spa opening hours during Christmas are depending to our experiences from the last years: our guests did not frequented the spa area on Christmas Eve. Due to this and economical reasons we decided to close it earlier. For sure we would have closed it later or opened it again individually if we had any wishes from our guests.

If our restaurant is fully booked we offer alternatives – this could be other restaurants nearby the hotel or room service with hot or cold dishes from the separate menu placed in your room. Usually we ask our guest during check in for help with their luggage if for some reasons our concierge or the bellboy are not available to pick it up immediately. We apologize that this obviously was not done. With our front office team we have already discussed about the issues you mentioned and trainings have been implemented as this is not the service we usually offer.

We do hope that you will give us the opportunity on your next trip to Hamburg to show that we have improved in all points.

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    202
    152
    59
    16
    9
See reviews for
50
155
36
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Visited Hamburg over a weekend and stayed at Steigenberger. Nothing to complain really. Rooms were quite big, view to the canals was nice and sauna section was great. Location is good, downtown is very close, you can rsally walk everywhere, even to Reperbahn. You can get very next to hotel by train from airport. We didn't try the breakfast, so no experience on that.

For some reason we got the room to this hotel over a weekend with very cheap price. We were able to chekin very early on Friday like 10:00 which was a nice surprise.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Janneki,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We were so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We really hope that you will try our sumptuous buffet breakfast when you will come back for your next stay because it contains cold and warm platters, egg specialities à la minute, cold cuts, cheese and fish specialities, pastries, bread, bread rolls, cereals, yogurt, curd cheese, fruits, jam, honey, 12 juices, 18 varieties of tea, coffee specialities and sparkling wine and our guests do love it! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for the Xmas markets and couldn't of picked a better location small market outside hotel and only about 10 min walk to the Rathaus main market.The hotel was very easy to get to arrived by train from airport and hotel 2min walk from station.
The hotel was decorated lovely and a very christmassy feeling ,the room was of good size complimentary dressing gown and slippers provided and rooms cleaned and linen changed daily and again in the evening beds turned down excellent service.Did not eat hotel as was out and about most of the time but in the evening we did have a drink in the piano bar to end the day.I would stay here again If in Hamburg nice hotel ,comfortable rooms and great location

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Karen S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you loved the decoration and ambience of the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg. As you mentioned there are a lot of Xmas markets around the hotel and every year between the end of November and Christmas there is a nice, small Christmas market next to the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel in the heart of Hamburg is a modern impressive construction, built by one of the many inland waterways. It is flanked by two subway stations, a taxi rank and bus stops so getting around the city is easy. Staff, who all spoke fluent English were very good and seemed to enjoy sharing their local knowledge of what to see and do in the city.

Ensure you book breakfast as this an absolute delight. Everything from champagne to bacon and sausage!! If you are travelling on a budget, you may want to take a travel kettle as there is no hot drinks facility in the room. Room service is pricey, and coffe at the bar is 5 Euros.

The taxi fare from the airport is about 25Euros and takes 20 mins. The train is much cheaper and stop at the hotel.

Room Tip: If like me your a smoker, ask for a lower floor room so you can nip outside for a sly one with ease.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear RickyLeeds,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it was a delight to read your feedback. Indeed the train (suburban railway S1) takes only 30 minutes from the airport to the hotel and the train station (Stadthausbrücke) is only 100 metres from the hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed our service and facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fornebu, Akershus, Norway
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Steigenberger is located in the heart of central Hamburg, surrounded by water and a nice square. Its a quite nice hotel.

The service is truly 5-star, very discrete and professional.
Parking was also done fast but safe by the staff.

Price levels are about what to expect at a 5-star hotel, no more, no less.

The rooms are big and nice, but shower in the bathtub was for me a bit too outdated.. And too few English tv-channels (though tv was not so important)

The beds are nice and comfortable.

Will I stay at Steigenberger next time I visit Hamburg. Yes, maybe I will.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Vegard H,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor following you last stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg. We are delighted that you felt that the service at our hotel is truly 5-star and we have shared your kind comments with our staff. We are sorry to hear that you thought our bathrooms were a bit too outdates but we are planning to renovate bathrooms in the not too distant future. We look forward to welcoming you back to Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg on your next trip to Hamburg!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Two days over the weekend with my wife in Hamburg - a little treat for us in a terrific hotel - Hamburg is always excellent, and with the service here second to none would thoroughly recommend. The room was a good size, breakfast excellent (if slightly pricy) and the staff were friendly and courteous - really enjoyed my stay and would definitely return.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear John D,

Thank you for giving us such great feedback, it is very much appreciated. It is a pleasure to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I have been staying there several times and I still recommend this particular hotel. May be a bit complicated to find, but your navi should get you there instantly. You are taken care of a professional hotel staff, offering you a very clean room with all facilities you need for good nights sleep. We enjoyed our dinner at Bistro am Fleet and my friend bought even 12 bottles of their excellent Württemberg red wine. May be some local or regional dishes should be added on the menu list.The breakfast was excellent and in line with their service. I have never been disppointed when staying at the Steigenberger in Hamburg.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfh110, Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Stuart G,

Thank you very much for for posting a review of your last stay with us. We are really delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your valuable feedback is extremely important to us and we will discuss your menu list comments with our chef. We look forward to welcoming you and your friend back to our hotel very soon!

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Address: Heiligengeistbruecke 4 | 20459 Hamburg, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#24 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#30 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#37 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 5* superior hotel, built in the typical Hanseatic style, is located in the city centre, only a few steps away from all the places of interest and excellent shopping facilities. A total of 233 generously sized rooms and suites offer the comfort that is expected by travellers. The Shiseido Day Spa with a panoramic sauna, steam baths, relax lounge and a large range of different types of massages, Ayurveda and beauty treatment take care of you after an exciting day. Thanks to a roof terrace, there is a fitness area available for open-air training right in the midst of the city. At the Restaurant am Fleet situated directly at the waterfront, you will enjoy your breakfast with a magnificent view over the Alster waterway. In the Bistro am Fleet with attached conservatory, you can enjoy the light, Mediterranean-style kitchen as well as unusual Euro-Asian creations and a daily changing business lunch. The Pianobar with live music and a Davidoff Cigar Lounge will offer the perfect end to the day. At the newly openend SABAI restaurant you can savour a modern cuisine with the best of Asian and European cuisine. From now on: free Wi-Fi (256 kb), high speed internet per 24 hours: € 8.00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Steigenberger Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.