We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg to your Saves list
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Heiligengeistbruecke 4 | 20459 Hamburg, 20459 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Reykjavik, Iceland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stayed at the Steigenberger for 5 nights in October. The location is perfect - near the harbour, Rathaus, Neuer Wall and the central shopping area. The S-Bahn and U-Bahn only a few minutes walk away and taxis always waiting outside the entrance. Standard room was spacious with a good bed, a large working desk and good wi-fi connection. Did though miss not having tea and coffee making equipment in the room. Most relevant TV-channels present except perhaps the BBC. Various types of massage available and good fitness facilities. Would also like to recommend the in hotel restaurant for good courses at a reasonable price, but the biggest asset of the first floor in my opinion was the piano bar which offered great relaxation and good service. All services were first class and in line with what one would expect in a 5 star hotel. The air conditioning was perhaps a little bit noisy so I preferred to use the windows to control the temperature and the air quality in the room. Overall I would strongly recommend this hotel for city travellers, perhaps with the exception of families with small children.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfh110, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Engilbert,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our high standards of service and in particular towards our restaurant and the Piano Bar, it is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us. Indeed not all of our rooms are equipped with a coffee/tea machine. When making your reservation for your next visit we suggest you to ask for a room with a coffee machine to avoid any disappointment. We look forward to your next visit!

Best regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    189
    64
    15
    11
See reviews for
57
187
38
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
bolton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Fantastic location for all the major tourist attractions and top shopping places. Lovely size room with almost all we could have wanted (tea and coffee making facilities would have been a great bonus ). Very friendly helpful staff. All in all a great hotel. Slight downside, the room was a bit on the hot side for sleeping comfortably in, we did try to turn down the room temperature but it didn't make much difference.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfh110, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear phil_n_debs,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to review your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and your compliments are greatly appreciated by all our staff. We would be glad to welcome you back in the future at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg.

Yours sincerely,

Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kl-ite in Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Loved the location. It just depends on which direction you walk and you will be near most key must visit sites like the Rathaus, the port, alster lakes and even the reeperbahn (which is very touristy and more like a pub crawl) etc. 5 or less mins to U-Bahn and S-Bahn. Nice restaurants around including one which serves German food like Bratwurst, etc adn beer. Also stroll down the street for shopping (high end) mind you although there is a few high street shops like H&M and Zara like 10 mins away. Room was very spacious with a nice sized desk for working. They do not replenish drinking water though and there was no tooth paste. Nice large white bathroom as well. Looked a little clinical to me but it looks very clean. Loved the breakfast. Nice selection (not just danish/toast like some european places) including one of the best made to order pancakes that I've ever had. They were thin, warm and extremely tasty as they came to you. Sit outside if the weather permits as there is a serene canal outside. I loved the view with the old bridge while I had my OJ, yoghurt etc

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfh110, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear suetz,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to review your stay in our hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and your compliments are greatly appreciated by all our staff and especially our cook at the egg service station is very happy to hear that you have enjoyed his pancakes. On request there is a complimentary tooth brush kit including a tooth brush and tooth paste is available at the reception desk. We would be glad to welcome you back in the future at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg.

Yours sincerely,

Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Hamburg is always worth a trip, business or pleasure, and the hotel is centrally located, most of Hamburg's sights within easy walking distance. The room was good-sized and spotless. The hotel staff had the knack of being highly efficient and yet genuine and friendly, did not come across as trained robots as is often the case in major chains. Breakfast is good and ample, the breakfast room held in attractive white. Althought the hotel was fully booked (trade fair, which also explains the price) there was room to "breathe". Nice open-air cafe at the back of the hotel, too, and just across the square one of Hamburg's "in" restaurants/pubs, the Ständige Vertretung, well worth a visit, booking recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfh110, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear UncleBill34,

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to review your stay in our hotel. It is a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and your compliments are greatly appreciated by all our staff. We would be glad to welcome you back very soon at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg.

Yours sincerely,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We needed to have a good night's rest and most importantly right smack in the city. There were plenty of choices but Toby's friend recommended the hotel so we took his word for it, glad we did. Our friends met us there and it was such a breeze to walk to the lake with the kids in tow. Everything was so close and convenient. We only stayed there for a night as we had to move on to the next city but our stay was relaxing and the bed was very comfy ( very important after being on the plane for 12 hours! and driving for another 5! ) I also left my pants there, which took them a couple of days to get back to us but they mailed it my in-laws place in time before we left Germany. Will go back if we don't stay with family friends the next time we're in Hamburg. I'm giving it 4 stars because we didn't stay there long enough to give it a 5.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfh110, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear tobyNfifie,

Thank you very much for your review. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and your compliments are greatly appreciated. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kind regards,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
219 reviews 219 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had a most pleasant stay for the weekend at this hotel. The hotel staff were extremely helpful, the rooms were a good standard really enjoyed our stay here thank you.
I would certainly recommend this hotel as the location is great its very near the harbour area which is like a wharf with shopping available and lovely little eateries nearby.
The only complaint we have is the business centre is not great its not quite private.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfh110, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear Globetrotter201026,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in tour hotel. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and your compliments are greatly appreciated. We take your complaint about our business corner very sincere but we do not offer a real business center but rather a small business corner that gives our guests the possibility to use a pc and internet free of charge. We would be glad to welcome you back in the future at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg.

Yours sincerely,
Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Very nice hotel. Easy parking right under the hotel. Fair price compard to the standard. Very pleasent personel. Good restaurant with a nice view to the canal area.
It is certain that I will stay there again next time I am in Hamburg.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sfh110, General Manager at Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear poulbachhansen,

Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg. We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Bernd A. Zängle
General Manager
Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg

Address: Heiligengeistbruecke 4 | 20459 Hamburg, 20459 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#20 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#35 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#35 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#35 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The modern 5* superior hotel, built in the typical Hanseatic style, is located in the city centre, only a few steps away from all the places of interest and excellent shopping facilities. A total of 233 generously sized rooms and suites offer the comfort that is expected by travellers. The Shiseido Day Spa with a panoramic sauna, steam baths, relax lounge and a large range of different types of massages, Ayurveda and beauty treatment take care of you after an exciting day. Thanks to a roof terrace, there is a fitness area available for open-air training right in the midst of the city. At the Restaurant am Fleet situated directly at the waterfront, you will enjoy your breakfast with a magnificent view over the Alster waterway. In the Bistro am Fleet with attached conservatory, you can enjoy the light, Mediterranean-style kitchen as well as unusual Euro-Asian creations and a daily changing business lunch. The Pianobar with live music and a Davidoff Cigar Lounge will offer the perfect end to the day. At the newly openend SABAI restaurant you can savour a modern cuisine with the best of Asian and European cuisine. From now on: free Wi-Fi (256 kb), high speed internet per 24 hours: € 8.00. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Escapio, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Steigenberger Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Hotel Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.