The hotel´s location is unique, due to the fact that it faced the river Alster and you can watch ships glide by and Airbus ( right on the opposite site ) airplanes land and start - though off the main city center. We booked via LHW.com, since the place is a leading hotel associated member.
On arrival you enter a worn down entrance area with old rugs. The reception staff is very friendly, but due to the young age you would expect a more experienced service attire. Our maisonette suite was located in the "newer" building across the street. New means that the last main renovation was 15 years ago and even all facilities are cleaned and serviced you feel and see the years in service everywhere. The so called wellness area is not worth to mention and should be closed down immediately.
Breakfast and food in general is excellent and this is where the main revenue seems to be originated, since the restaurant seems to be fully booked for lunch and dinner ( mainly non-hotel guests ).
Continental breakfast can be included in the roommate, but that does not mean you are obliged to have the "Gourmet" breakfast ( which comes for an extra 12 EUR p.P charge )
WLAN is basically not working or where the connect is established - very slow
The overall experience was not at a leading hotel level - the restaurant can be recommended, but plan your stay overnight somewhere else.
The place needs urgently a renovation at all areas to not get kicked out from the leading hotel program.
ask for a Alsterview room if you love to me in the room for the whole day watching the ships come by...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences about your stay at the Louis C. Jacob at Tripadvisor.
I am delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel location and the restaurant service provided by our staff. At the same time I am most concerned to hear that you were very disappointed on our hardware. Please be assured that we are currently working on our product and that we are renovating our rooms and suites regularly. Maybe you perceived the atmosphere as old fashioned because we have many antiques in our hotel.
Moreover I am also deeply sorry about the circumstance that you had problems with the W-Lan. In the meantime we were able to solve the technical fault and I apologise for the inconvenience caused. Furthermore we have taken the necessary precautions to avoid such difficulties in future. Regarding the additional price for the gourmet breakfast please allow me to inform you that we offer a high quality of products, which justified the extra charge.
I would like to take this opportunity again to thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.