We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best in hamburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Louis C. Jacob

Save Saved
You added Hotel Louis C. Jacob to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Louis C. Jacob
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Elbchaussee 401-403, 22609 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 317 hotels in Hamburg
Broadway, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“best in hamburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

this is a real gem of an hotel. stayed there for many years, great rooms, quiet, views over the river elbe, best restaurant in hamburg and a service level which is rarely matched. maybe a bit out of the center of town, but that is ok. difficult to fault.

Room Tip: get a room on the river side, not the across the road with tunnel annex (but very good rooms there t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    29
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
13
76
17
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Excellent service and attention to details make the stay in this hotel a joy. The rooms are very spacious and the food is delicious, the soups and the breakfast are definitely worth a try. The hotel is not in the city centre but in a nice suburb next to the river Elba, it takes 15 minutes to get to the city centre by taxi or about half an hour by ferry.Ferries are frequent you get to see lots of the port if you take them. Will come back again if back in Hamburg!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We've been coming here for years, one of the very few places where we return to for not having been disappointed once. The service is impeccable, the food is great (don't think of missing the breakfast) and for us a long weekend here is equivalent (relaxation-wise) to two weeks elsewhere.
Yes, it's not exactly cheap, but while I regretted paying a lot elsewhere often, I never did here.

Room Tip: I never dared a room with an Elbe view - for the price I always chose a suite with less view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwood
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The hotel´s location is unique, due to the fact that it faced the river Alster and you can watch ships glide by and Airbus ( right on the opposite site ) airplanes land and start - though off the main city center. We booked via LHW.com, since the place is a leading hotel associated member.

On arrival you enter a worn down entrance area with old rugs. The reception staff is very friendly, but due to the young age you would expect a more experienced service attire. Our maisonette suite was located in the "newer" building across the street. New means that the last main renovation was 15 years ago and even all facilities are cleaned and serviced you feel and see the years in service everywhere. The so called wellness area is not worth to mention and should be closed down immediately.

Breakfast and food in general is excellent and this is where the main revenue seems to be originated, since the restaurant seems to be fully booked for lunch and dinner ( mainly non-hotel guests ).

Continental breakfast can be included in the roommate, but that does not mean you are obliged to have the "Gourmet" breakfast ( which comes for an extra 12 EUR p.P charge )

WLAN is basically not working or where the connect is established - very slow

The overall experience was not at a leading hotel level - the restaurant can be recommended, but plan your stay overnight somewhere else.

The place needs urgently a renovation at all areas to not get kicked out from the leading hotel program.

Room Tip: ask for a Alsterview room if you love to me in the room for the whole day watching the ships come by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisjacob, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Louis C. Jacob, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences about your stay at the Louis C. Jacob at Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you were satisfied with our hotel location and the restaurant service provided by our staff. At the same time I am most concerned to hear that you were very disappointed on our hardware. Please be assured that we are currently working on our product and that we are renovating our rooms and suites regularly. Maybe you perceived the atmosphere as old fashioned because we have many antiques in our hotel.

Moreover I am also deeply sorry about the circumstance that you had problems with the W-Lan. In the meantime we were able to solve the technical fault and I apologise for the inconvenience caused. Furthermore we have taken the necessary precautions to avoid such difficulties in future. Regarding the additional price for the gourmet breakfast please allow me to inform you that we offer a high quality of products, which justified the extra charge.

I would like to take this opportunity again to thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.



Yours Sincerely


Jost Deitmar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greifensee
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Friendly staff, nice rooms, excellent restaurant and well located at the Elbe.
The special offers for different occasions are nicely priced and the program offered is mostly very interesting.
City is easy to reach by public transport or shuttle provided by the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

An excellent hotel in a fantastic location, overlooking the Elbe river (there is an Airbus factory on the other side, but still a great view). Rooms with Elbe view are few, though, so be sure to book early. But rooms in the annex across the street are excellent as well, and you can enjoy the huge airport-like corridor underground when walking towards them. Generally everything is very spacious and decorated in great taste.

The restaurant is excellent, again with Elbe views and a famous terrace - the "Lindenterasse" of Max Liebermann (a German painter) fame. Just sitting there with a drink and watching the ships going to and from Germany's busiest harbour is a treat. Fantastic for events as well!

Staff are attentive and helpful, only if you like to be left to your own devices it can appear a bit much at times.

The only drawback is the wellness area, which doesn't amount to much, only a small sauna and a tiny Jaccuzi. It would have been better to do without it altogether.

Overall highly recommended if you are looking for a luxury experience with individual flair in the high-end area of the beautiful town of Hamburg. Only wellness-lovers would be better off somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with river Elbe views - but book early and allocate a good chunk of your travel budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisjacob, Manager at Hotel Louis C. Jacob, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We hope to welcoming you soon again!
Silke Einfeldt, Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geta, Finland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Coming back from a longer scandinavian journey we spent the last night before taking the DB-Autozug from Hamburg to Lörrach in the Hotel Louis C. Jacob. This is really one of my best Hotel-experiences I ever made! Excellent style in every respect, very attentive service, wonderfull rooms (if you ever can, choose an "Elbzimmer" with direct view to the Elbe!), marvellous restaurant... Highly recommendable!

Room Tip: As written above, try to get an "Elbzimmer".
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Louis C. Jacob? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Louis C. Jacob

Address: Elbchaussee 401-403, 22609 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#14 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Louis C. Jacob 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Escapio and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Louis C. Jacob reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Louis c Jacob
Louis c Jacob Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Louis C. Jacob, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.