We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel on our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Europaeischer Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Europaeischer Hof to your Saves list
Hotel Europaeischer Hof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kirchenallee 45, 20099 Hamburg, Germany (St. Georg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 316 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best hotel on our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for two nights one on our way to Scandinavia and one on the way back - could not fault the facilities - the rooms were both amazing, large and well furnished - beautiful bathrooms - free wifi - reception staff very friendly and helpful - we arrived late on our second visit due to the train strike but we were still able to get a lovely meal and drinks in the hotel bar/restaurant at 11.30pm ! Excellent value for money and location right opposite the central station - but rooms very quiet - the breakfast was sensational - something for everyone - very high quality - would highly recommend and look forward to visiting again in the future

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    180
    38
    14
    7
See reviews for
50
121
41
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cannock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed for 4 nights visiting Hamburg on vacation. The central location a few steps from UBahn station is excellent. The staff are friendly and accomadating and the breakfast excellent. We also found the bar prices very reasonable, only 6 euro for a substantial club sandwich. The pool is great for swimming and relaxing, and the slide good fun although not for the fainthearted. All rooms do not have all facilities, ours did not have a bath tub, but there was no problem changing rooms the next day for one with tub and shower. Free wifi in room, although this is not available in the public areas, There is a garage to park car, although this is valet parking only and is not cheap at 18 euro per night. Would definitely stay here the next time we visit Hamburg.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The room I stayed was a single room and very small with a single bed. Wifi was good. Location right next to the main train station was what I needed and it was perfect for that. It is right within an area of bars and other night life - if you want that! Restaurant very good German fare. Breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything good that you see on TA about this hotel I agree with. Great staff, location, everything. Take your swimming trunks; the Spa is fabulous. Towels and bathrobes are provided. The Paulaner Bar along the road is part of the hotel: Fab food and interesting beers.
You get a 3 day travel pass included, and all buses & underground lines are outside the front door. Go on the yellow line to the Street Market at Eppendorfer Baum.
Now for the bad news: How can the management of this hotel allow smoking on the premises, in a room which is open to the rest of the hotel? This room opens on to a stairwell, which rises up to the fabulous breakfast bar. So my smoked salmon, which should taste of oak or beechwood (or whatever they use) is flavoured by the foul nicotine.
Another downside to this is the lack of smoke alarms. None in our room and the only one I saw was in the stairwell outside my room.
Get rid of the smoke, and I will definitely return, otherwise, no chance.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is located very central right across from the central station, the sheets and pillow are great and very good sound isolation...
But...
We booked the room in January and specifically asked for a room on top floors and with a view. what we got was 2. Floor and a room that smells of smoke.
I would not recommend this hotel because of the service level and the state of the room compared to the price paid per night.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here two nights with a trip somewhere else in between. The first night we were in the back of the hotel and our single rooms were very modern and looked newly refurbished.
Don't forget to ask for a second pillow!
The second night we were in the front of the hotel and the rooms were more dated. My only problem with this room was that it took a long time to get cool water from the cold tap and even then it tasted like water from a hot tap. The rooms are very hot, even with the heating turned off, and the street is below so it's not always possible to leave the window open.
Breakfast is a perfect continental affair. Omelette station, freshly cooked waffles, hot bread, little dishes so your jam doesn't contaminate other foods, plenty of meat and cheeses. Brilliant.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Great hotel for the price. Located next to the main train station, with ample room, friendly staff, and a sufficient amount of luxury, for only €140 a night.

The lounge bar with cocktails and live piano music is a great place to gather after a whole day of meetings.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Europaeischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Europaeischer Hof

Address: Kirchenallee 45, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#28 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#30 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#34 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Europaeischer Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in comfortable, timelessly decorated rooms. Enjoy your breakfast at the stylish Hanseatenraum decorated with lots chrome, warm colours, dark panels and elaborate objects with Swarovski crystals. Or breathe Hanseatic tradition in the Hamburger Restaurant. Eat at the rustic and yet elegant restaurant Paulaner´s offering typical German and international dishes. Feel like James Bond at the Flaggen-Bar and its fifties look. Let the chandeliers in the staircases remind you of the seventies. The Hotel Europäischer Hof Hamburg proves that good design is never out of style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Europaeischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Europaeischer Hof Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Europaeischer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.