We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg to your Saves list
Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rothenbaumchaussee 10, 20148 Hamburg, Germany (Rotherbaum)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 316 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Room was a bit expensive but the stay was worth every penny. Hotel has great location 10 minutes walk from city center. Service was excellent, great breakfast buffet which included freshly pressed orange juice, eggs specialities of your own choosing, choice of coffee eg cappucino or latte. Nice pool and spa area with food and drink service, and ok gym facilities. I'll definitely come back for more.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    223
    51
    11
    8
See reviews for
80
242
77
302
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

From check in to check out, all the staff we associated with in the hotel were cheerful, very efficient and helpful. From the minute we arrived, the staff behind the front rest were attentive nature surfed they greeted us with a smile. The hotel lobby is impressive with mirrors, marble and high quality upholstery and you get the feeling of luxury straight away. The room was also impressive and was spotlessly clean, with a king bed, separate throws and white bedding. Apples and water were provided complimentary and there was also a mini bar should you require. The bathroom was spacious with both a bath and power shower, and plenty of towels were provided, with robes and slippers. The tv had lots of channels and a few English news channels, plus there was free wi fi from the room which was good.
We asked for ice and this was sent up within 5 minutes - very efficient.
The spa is definitely worth a mention as we used it on both days of our stay : there's a lovely sundeck set amongst a garden with a selection of lounges and chairs, all with the most comfortable mattresses and plenty of towels should you require and robes are provided for use after a swim in the indoor pool which leads to the sundeck. My only minor complaint was that building work was going on next door with a massive crane swinging around which was distracting from one side of the terrace - so we crossed through the building and relaxed on the other side. I loved the jacuzzi and the therma treatment room, but didn't try the steam and sauna as it was so hot weather wise! The lattes the are very nice indeed, and the staff again, very friendly and efficient.
There is a wide choice of restaurants and bars within the hotel so no need to venture too far but we preferred to explore the city for food and wine.
The hotel is close to the Botanical gardens, which you can walk through to reach more central parts of the city - and you can walk along the river through it - very pretty and tidy.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would certainly recommend it to anyone, especially if you want a relaxing break.
Tip: if you a quiet room with no traffic noises, ask for one overlooking the garden.
A taxi costs about 20 euros to the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden/sun terrace to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

It was a suprise to find a pool and spa in a hotel in the city of Hamburg. Nice job! The food was always great and the room exceeded my expectations. The service was good. The location in the center of the city is great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyncote, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

I stayed here for a professional conference and it was nicely located close to Dammtor station and the center of Hamburg. Given that it is a pretty expensive hotel, I was expecting a bit more than what I experienced. The room was on the small side, WiFi was a mixed bag and often quite slow unless one bought higher bandwidth, which then was passable. As it was, I had to log back in every time my iPhone's lock screen engaged, which was a problem.

The mattress, interestingly, was very hard. Every morning, I woke up with a pretty painful back, which isn't the norm for me.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

This hotel surprised us. The staff was outstanding, pleasant, courteous, happy, and most helpful, i.e., their attitude was excellent. The rooms exceeded our expectations - clean, well designed, comfortable and efficient. We considered it an excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We have just returned from a 5-day stay at the Grand Elysee and was delighted with the standard of our accommodation. The hotel exceeded our expectations in every way; everything about it was first rate and was excellent value for money. The helpfulness of the staff and quality of the food deserve a special mention. The hotel is in an excellent position, near Dammtor and Stephenplatz stations. It is also within easy reach of the airport, which is a 21 euros taxi ride away. We were blessed with excellent weather on our trip and so ate outdoors in the Elysee Terrace restaurant most lunchtimes and evenings. The asparagus dishes served there are fantastic - most original and imaginative. We would have no hesitation in recommending this wonderful hotel to anyone and would love to return before too long.

Room Tip: Our standard room was on the front side, facing away from Dammtor Station. It was on the fourth flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Hamburg's character as a Northern German Hansasatadt is very well reflected in the Grand Elysees Hotel. Both are beautiful and work very successfully. But neither is filled with opulence and frills so you won't find that at the Grand Elysees. Somewhat expanded recently it is a little more modern than we expected and a little larger than we like. It is centrally located with an easy walk to the heart of down (cut through the Dammtor Bahnhof).
The service at the hotel was very nice and efficient (maybe slightly cool but remember where you are). We had to change our room because we were directly over the smoking balcony and this was handled very well. The clerk at the front desk came herself to see that the move was handled well. The health club, pool and other facilities were wonderful. The breakfast was one of the best we ever experienced. All included so we thought it was a good value as well. Hamburg is a great city and worth visiting and we heartily recommend the Grand Elysees.

Room Tip: Balconies over park in junior suite lovely, just not direcly over smoking balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg

Address: Rothenbaumchaussee 10, 20148 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Rotherbaum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#10 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#11 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 511
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The specialhotel a lively hotel atmosphere with attentive service Located in the green heart of Hamburg, the Grand Elysee Hamburg is an informal meeting place for Hamburgers and visitors from all over the world. The largest five-star private hotel in Germany provides its guests with a welcoming atmosphere and attentive service. Through their commitment, the owner, Eugen Block, and his family have made a decisive contribution to the informal character of the building. What is unique here is the range of fine food on offer in three restaurants, a bar and a cafe. As an event location near the Hamburg Congress and Trade Fair Centre it offers facilities for all kinds and sizes of events in a total area of 4,200 m². A sense of ease and generosity permeates not just the 511 rooms and suites, it is also felt through the atmosphere of the entire hotel. Over and above that, the Grand Elysee Hamburg boasts a large art collection that lends a uniquely personal style to the premises. The location – in the middle of town yet surrounded by green Close to the centre yet overlooking green parkland – only a few hotels can offer this to their guests. The city centre can be reached on foot, with Dammtor station, and its ICE train connections, just a few steps away and with parks and green spaces in the immediate vicinity. This makes for great relaxation while attending conferences and staying at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Splendia and Priceline so you can book your Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Elysee Hamburg
Hotel Grand Elysee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Elysee Hotel Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.