We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value Hotel near Alster” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum to your Saves list
Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Holzdamm 4-12 + 16, 20099 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 316 Hotels in Hamburg
GreenLeadersBronze level
Munich
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Value Hotel near Alster”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you are looking for economy hotel close to Alster and center of the city this is the right choice. Just a few minutes of walk from main railway station with Alster around the corner and the museum mile of Hamburg across the railway bridge. Perfect spot for weekend trip to Hansa metropole.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    407
    150
    28
    10
See reviews for
100
335
90
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Recently stayed at the Ibis Hotel in Hamburg, Germany. Very nice Hotel and close to the City Center in the event you need to make a money exchange at the local Western Union. It's only about 3 blocks away and very convenient to walk to. Yes the fees are very high at Western Union but wwe were glad to be able to purchase Euros since we don't use ATM machines and this option was available. The hotel offers WFI in the lobby which was nice and the dinners and breakfast in the Hotel were very nice. Room was a nice size and the accommodations were fine.

Room Tip: Our rooms were already chosen for us as we were on a Land Tour through out Germany. All reservation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The location of the hotel was in a perfect distance from the Railway station and in at pictoresque area of the city but also close to shopping facilities.
The services and premises in the hotel were excellent including the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Accord Hotel in Germany don't have internet access in rooms. Some wifi area in lobby is not very nice if you want call your private skype calls for instance.

I don't want valuate any other services before this is solved.

There are mobile application for Accor Hotels - just to check your reservation details. It is funny that you have to enter the data your are searching. I think that nobody ever asked clients what they may need. Maybe the loyalty car number or even your e-mail address could be enough to find your details?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Recently stayed here on business. The reception staff were helpful and friendly. The room was a decent size and very clean. Nice powerful shower in the bathroom. The only downside was that the room was very warm and stuffy which meant I needed the window to be open most of the time I was in there and the air con only seemed to push out warm air.
Breakfast was good, buffet continental style. The free wi-fi in the reception area worked fine.
The location of the hotel is good and we were able to get around easily.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

To our surprise, this is the first and the only Ibis hotel which does not offer free in-room wifi (it is free in the lobby)! Can't believe they are charging it for a fee to use wifi in your room! The room itself is a typical Ibis style, except that the air-conditioning was uncontrollable. It was very hot and we could only cool down by opening the window!! The shower was weak and the pipes kept producing a sharp noise for the whole night. The room key cards once malfunctioned for no reason and we simply could not get in. We asked the reception and the staff asked if we had placed our cards with our phones which we didn't! And this had never happened to us before. The whole experience was not as pleasant as we enjoyed it in other Ibis hotels.

One more note: there was only one lift serving 5 floors with abt 20 rooms on each floors. The waiting queue for the lift was unexpectedly long!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

At less than 100 euros, including breakfast and secure private parking, this proved to be more than a bargain in Hamburg.

We were given a room overlooking the Alster, with huge windows, which was a real bonus. The rooms were as you would expect in an Ibis - functional rather than luxurious, but with everything you would need. There was a good sized desk, free wifi in the room, the bed was comfortable and the shower room was a good size. No problems whatsoever with aircon, shower and tv. Spotlessly clean.

Public areas were clean and bright, staff friendly and helpful. Drinks at the bar were not expensive. Breakfast was delicious and with a wide variety of choice. It was an easy walk to the Rathaus Christmas market, as well as other smaller markets dotted around the city. We thoroughly enjoyed our brief visit to Hamburg and would recommend this hotel wihout hesitation.

Room Tip: ask for a view of the Alster
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum

Address: Holzdamm 4-12 + 16, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#61 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum 2*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200 m from the railway station and 12 km from Hamburg airport, the Ibis Hamburg Alster hotel offers 165 airconditioned rooms with free WiFi Internet access, including 2 with facilities for persons with limited mobility, the bar with snacks served 24 hours. The hotel also features 4 meeting rooms. WiFi in the lobby and bar are free of charge. The City, the Alster and its lake and the Alsterarkaden are very close by. The Operettenhaus theatre, the musicals, the harbor and the Hamburger Staatsoper opera house are just a few kilometres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Hotel.de, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Hamburg Alster Hotel Hamburg
Accor Hamburg Alster

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Hamburg Alster Centrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.