We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg to your Saves list
Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   An der Alster 72 - 79, 20099 Hamburg, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 316 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bergen
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Classic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Location is very good on the edge of Alster and short walk to the city hall. Hotel has undergone a major renovation, but has kept the old style with a modern touch. The room was nice with a sitting area and a large bed. There are both a shower-room and bathtub in the bathroom. Breakfast was very nice with a variety of different food and additional options on the menu.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    103
    32
    6
    11
See reviews for
70
178
23
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We had fond memories of the Atlantic from a long time ago, and thus were looking forward to seeing how it turned out after the major renovation. Our expectations were more than met.

We had two standard ("Superior") rooms, and they were very spacious, quiet, and beautifully appointed. Bathrooms were just gorgeous with tub and a huge separate shower.
Service was on the same high level as the rooms themselves. Every single person we met was friendly, helpful, and efficient. The reception desk was always well staffed so there never were any lengthy queues when dropping off or picking up keys, asking questions, etc.
Our rate included breakfast, which is in a nice restaurant overlooking the Außenalster. They offer a comprehensive buffet as well as made-to-order items such as omelettes or waffles. Quality of all items we had was very good.

A further highlight of our stay was the pick-up service from the railway station. On prior arrangement, the Atlantic sends somebody (in our case, two very friendly young ladies) to pick you up right at the train, help you with your luggage, and guide you to the hotel (which is an easy walk from the train station). Outstanding service, and in the true Grand Hotel tradition that is increasingly hard to find nowadays.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay and will definitely return when our travels take us to Hamburg again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Delightful, comfortable hotel situated in a great location near the edge of a lake but only 5-10 minutes walk from Hamburg's main train station. Wonderful foyer, lounge & bar area & the restaurant serves superb food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Colombia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

excellent hotel with a great service!!! Staying at the Atlantic gives you a great pleasure. the Hotel is a walkimg distance to the center of town and the walk around the lake is very romantic and colorfull. the personnel are very nice and they are eager to attend your needs. The room and the bathroom were magnificent. the breakfast is also very good. from all the above I definitely advice to stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great hotel, good service. Room was small, but very cosy and well equiped! Car can be parked at the hotel (valet). Tip; in summer time, go to the lake and relax @ A.Mora, great coffee and beautifull view over Lake Alster

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Staying here was a delight - a lovely room with super-soft sheets, and excellent food and outstanding service in the restaurant. The espresso maker was nice but as we are tea drinkers it was a bit disappointing that there was no in-room tea option, but that's hardly something to complain about! We weren't sure about parking and ended up parking in the car park underneath the Ibis hotel directly across the street, but it was fine. Sadly we didn't have time to try out the spa but we will next time as we will definitely stay here again for special occasions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have to take the rather expensive Kempinski due to the lack of other more affordable hotels during the Hamburg Port festival.
The service was superb. We had some problems with the express machine and a butler came to solve it . Afterwards he sent more fruit and offered to give advice about nearby restaurants.
The recepcionist recognized us by my surname without looking at my room key.
I have been in a lot of very five stars hotels that are quite impersonal and dull. But this hotel has a personality.....I`ve never seen a variety of food as at the Atlantic breakfast....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg

Address: An der Alster 72 - 79, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#6 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimate standard in service and comfort. For most demanding travellers, a first-class standard in living comfort is just as important as a perfect individual service. This is what the Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg stands for. For more than 105 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Atlantic Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Kempinski Atlantic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.