We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel, love the lobby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg

Save Saved
You added Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   An der Alster 72 - 79, 20099 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #8 of 318 hotels in Hamburg
Zug, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel, love the lobby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

When i travel for business to Hamburg I always like to stay here. It is perfect located in Hamburg near the lake, easy drive from the airport and taxi always in front of the door. The price quality in this hotel is very nice and rooms are amazing. As a blackmember of the group been upgraded stayed for two nights in a junior suite. Maybe some other hotels are slightly better located (for shops) but I like the lobby and the very nice breakfast here. Would come again and again...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    56
    14
    2
    7
See reviews for
35
98
11
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Beautiful hotel in good location with very good breakfast and friendly staff.
The room was smelly and the our view was on a noisy construction area a few meters from our window. The room itselfe was already expensive but a parking fee of 30 Euros is even in Hamburg extortion. But what bothered me the most the mattress springs that drilled in my back the whole night. The mattress appeared to be new from outside but the inner life seemed to be a few centuries old.

Room Tip: If you really want to get something for your money I can recommend the "Le Meridien". Its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for four nights in May. The Superior Room we had booked was really nice (450), spacious and light, and the bathroom was great. Everything was superbly clean and quality. The location is nice because of the Alster across the street (enjoy a beer at one of the restaurants on the water), but a bit far from the shopping areas if you have a problem with walking. We don't and loved the stroll along the shore of the Alster.
We had not booked breakfast but ate at different bakeries close by (which I love).
The Atrium at the Atlantic is nice for a cup of coffee but offers no view.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great hotel, great staff, great breakfast. Everything superb except the spa which was a little bit disappointing, the sauna & shower in need of restauration.

I really recommend this hotel for people who need to be spoiled once in a while.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I had invited my family to an opera weekend in Hamburg and we stayed on this magnificent hotel with juniorsuites with beutiful views to the Alstern lake. Welcome at the room with strawberries and vine and the wonderful book about the hotels 100 years as a hotel for kings and imperors. When we came home after midnight from the opera the bar serviced us with some light dishes and vine and the most elegant service in the lounge area. Next morning we arrived a half hour before the end of breakfast. The restaurant was buzzie for the Fishmarket Brunch a very well known event in Hamburg. The professional staff said we were welcome to stay in the restaurant, but they think we would have more time and it was more relaxed to be served in the bar lounge, and they made a wonderfull breakfast table with many different specialities and two waiters for serving us 3 persons. Now I have stayed twice on this fabouleus hotel and I will come again it is an institution in Hamburg and in my mind for luxury.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner junior suite with view to the Alstern Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Though not exactly a youngster myself, I felt by far too young for this old fashioned and stiff hotel.
Apparently the hotel only re-opened fairly recently, re-gaining their 5 stars. I wonder why they insisted to decorate everything in these dreary dark colours, dark brown and dark purple in poorly lit (no proper reading light!!!) large rooms. I thought this to be a very pompous and depressing atmosphere (not even bumping into Udo Lindenberg could lift my spirits).
Staff (particularly in breakfast room) was very kind and attentive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I was able to check in early after arriving from the train station. The hotel is just a short walk from there. The doormen and front desk attendents greeted us with warmth and professionalism. My room was large with gorgeous fabrics and the necessary amenities. The bath was luxurious with a separate tub and shower and two sinks. I enjoyed a drink or two in the spacious bar/lounge. The singing pianist was enjoyable, if not the most upbeat. My only concern during my stay was with the slow shower drain.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg

Also Known As:
Kempinski Atlantic Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Kempinski Atlantic Hotel
Address: An der Alster 72 - 79, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#4 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.