We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with a flair” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg to your Saves list
Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   An der Alster 72 - 79, 20099 Hamburg, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 316 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Uppsala, Sweden
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with a flair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in May. The Superior Room we had booked was really nice (450), spacious and light, and the bathroom was great. Everything was superbly clean and quality. The location is nice because of the Alster across the street (enjoy a beer at one of the restaurants on the water), but a bit far from the shopping areas if you have a problem with walking. We don't and loved the stroll along the shore of the Alster.
We had not booked breakfast but ate at different bakeries close by (which I love).
The Atrium at the Atlantic is nice for a cup of coffee but offers no view.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    103
    32
    6
    11
See reviews for
70
178
23
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Great hotel, great staff, great breakfast. Everything superb except the spa which was a little bit disappointing, the sauna & shower in need of restauration.

I really recommend this hotel for people who need to be spoiled once in a while.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I had invited my family to an opera weekend in Hamburg and we stayed on this magnificent hotel with juniorsuites with beutiful views to the Alstern lake. Welcome at the room with strawberries and vine and the wonderful book about the hotels 100 years as a hotel for kings and imperors. When we came home after midnight from the opera the bar serviced us with some light dishes and vine and the most elegant service in the lounge area. Next morning we arrived a half hour before the end of breakfast. The restaurant was buzzie for the Fishmarket Brunch a very well known event in Hamburg. The professional staff said we were welcome to stay in the restaurant, but they think we would have more time and it was more relaxed to be served in the bar lounge, and they made a wonderfull breakfast table with many different specialities and two waiters for serving us 3 persons. Now I have stayed twice on this fabouleus hotel and I will come again it is an institution in Hamburg and in my mind for luxury.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner junior suite with view to the Alstern Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Though not exactly a youngster myself, I felt by far too young for this old fashioned and stiff hotel.
Apparently the hotel only re-opened fairly recently, re-gaining their 5 stars. I wonder why they insisted to decorate everything in these dreary dark colours, dark brown and dark purple in poorly lit (no proper reading light!!!) large rooms. I thought this to be a very pompous and depressing atmosphere (not even bumping into Udo Lindenberg could lift my spirits).
Staff (particularly in breakfast room) was very kind and attentive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I was able to check in early after arriving from the train station. The hotel is just a short walk from there. The doormen and front desk attendents greeted us with warmth and professionalism. My room was large with gorgeous fabrics and the necessary amenities. The bath was luxurious with a separate tub and shower and two sinks. I enjoyed a drink or two in the spacious bar/lounge. The singing pianist was enjoyable, if not the most upbeat. My only concern during my stay was with the slow shower drain.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

If you like 'grandeur' and style, this hotel matches quite well. The building shows class and the Grandeur from some decades ago. I was welcomed by the doorman very kindly, a young lady checked me in, perfect service, quick, enough explenation. The way it should be. The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays. All seemed clean to me. My room was a double bedded one, with a nice sitting area as well as a clean and luxurious bathroom. Only minor point was the view. When looking outside, i could see the wastebins from a neigboring appartment building i guess. Not really what i expected. The wifi is for free and water botlled next to the bed as well. All facilities are available. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The great hotel near Alster lake
Serves was excellent
I recommend restaurant Atlantic , here you could found From lobster bisque to beef tatar - experience how personable finesse, fresh and seasonal ingredients, and the courteous service merge to transcentral harmony and transform every single dish and menu to a unique and personal moment for all senses...

Room Tip: If you would stay near the shopping Main Street , you need to take a taxi and go for about 5 minutes
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg

Address: An der Alster 72 - 79, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#5 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#6 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ultimate standard in service and comfort. For most demanding travellers, a first-class standard in living comfort is just as important as a perfect individual service. This is what the Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg stands for. For more than 105 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Atlantic Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Kempinski Atlantic Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlantic Kempinski Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.