We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overall - but insufficient noise insulation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hamburg Marriott Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hamburg Marriott Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hamburg Marriott Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   ABC Strasse 52, 20354 Hamburg, Germany (Neustadt)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #55 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“Good overall - but insufficient noise insulation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have stayed for three weeks now. Breakfast is good (always same choice, but quite complete continental choice). Rooms are clean and spacious (a bit old-fashioned style, but doing job fine). What I have found annoying with this hotel is the NOISE. Sometimes two customer speaking loud in the corridor late at night (probably after a couple drinks too much for a working day). Also, if the person in the room next door is snoring quite loud, you can hear it all (it has been my case for 3 nighs - and today the cleanign staff had trashed one of my earplugs, so I was charged 1euro at the counter for a pair of swimming pool ones that evidently don´t work as nice!)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    235
    71
    23
    10
See reviews for
127
132
42
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited Hamburg early December for the Christmas Market and selected the Marriott purely for location. The hotel is situated in an ideal position for each market and is surrounded by restaurants and bars. The hotel itself is excellent value for money, the rooms are very spacious and clean, hotel offers a nice menu and good snack selection, evening atmosphere in the bar is very good, would certainly recommend it for a night cap... will re-visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is located really close to everything you need, shopping, sightseeing and restaurants. The hotel bar is nice and tapa is good and not expensive. The pool in nice and children are allowed to play in it - so if you expect a quiet hour in or next to the pool, visit the pool early or late or outsite vacations and weekends.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This is a medium sized property centrally located in Hamburg, a few steps off the Gaensemarkt and 2-3 blocks to the Jungfernstieg and the best shopping Hamburg has to offer.

Rooms are well appointed, clean and quiet. My preference is a room facing the street, ideally on a higher floor (there are no more than 8 stories in the building). You could also be assigned a room facing the courtyard. I've never stayed in one but I would imagine they get a little less light but could be more private than the ones facing the street.

The hotel has recently added a small pantry like store at the lobby level, which replaced the mini bars in each room. A practical concept, even if a bit out of place in the lobby.

There is a restaurant in the lobby level which serves decent fare. The spa is small but very nice.

Only drawback is the size of the Executive Room for Marriott Elite members. It's a very small space that seems to be always crowded. The food spread appears to be ok, it's just that there's no room to enjoy it. The same thing happened during my two last stays, so I'm starting to think it's an endemic issue that needs to be dealt with by hotel management.

Other than that, a great property in a good location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed there on 16th December on our way to Westerland. This is your typical Bussiness Hotel at a good location, center of the City. Few minutes walk to shopping and business disctricts. Rooms are clean but no amenities, even no drinking water. Reception was attentive but concierge was not helpfull. They were not interested my enquiry about getting train tickets to Westerland. "You better go to main station to buy your tickets" attitude(!)

Piano Bar at the enterence is cosy and popular.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We enjoyed a short city break,hotel was well located and the family room had alot of space.We didnt opt for breakfast at the hotel as it seemed very overpriced and also ate out for dinner mainly again due to price of the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here on business for 4 nights. The room I was given on the first floor was well furnished and - most importantly - had the most comfortable hotel bed I've ever slept in.
The hotel is conveniently located in the city centre, with plenty of shops nearby. A small Christmas market was a very short stroll away, as are plenty of good quality eateries. The staff I encountered at the hotel spoke perfect English and were most helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hamburg Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamburg Marriott Hotel

Address: ABC Strasse 52, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#23 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#39 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#42 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#42 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamburg Marriott Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hamburg Marriott Hotel is located in the heart of a charming seaport, making us a popular downtown Hamburg Germany hotel. Our central Hamburg hotel is near famous attractions, cultural landmarks, prestigious businesses, and electric nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hamburg Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hamburg
Hamburg Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamburg Marriott Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.