We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class - truly luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Hyatt Hamburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Park Hyatt Hamburg to your Saves list
Park Hyatt Hamburg
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bugenhagenstrasse 8, 20095 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #1 of 316 Hotels in Hamburg
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“First class - truly luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

Park Hyatt is promoted as a 5 stars hotel and it doesnt let you down. Located downtown it provides you with a sense of luxury from the minute you arrive. I can only vouch for the room I stayed in, but it was quiet, nice, clean and had everything I needed. The staff is very friendly, but discreet so it doesnt feel imposing. Great restaurant for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Great stay and one of the best Hyatt hotels I have visited

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    968
    167
    37
    10
    7
See reviews for
141
381
145
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

I stayed one night at the Park Hyatt Hamburg. The hotel was near perfect with individual approach in service, which is very rare in Europe nowadays. The only minus, what I could think of was the cold bayhroom floor in the room. Next time promised to fix it, when I am going to stay there. Simply one of the best hotels I have stayed in Europe.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

Whenever we go to Hamburg, and we go there at least 2 times / year, we stay at the Park Hyatt. Not only is it situated right in the middle of one of the shopping streets, it is also in walking distance to all the great places to shop and the Binnen Alster where you can go for a boat trip.
The Park Hyatt is one of the few hotels we have been to on a regular basis that really keeps track on their guests. They know what kind of room we want, which newspaper we read and everything else. The rooms a really big and the bathroom is large as well and very good equipped with everything one needs.
The service is very friendly and the food is delicious.
I can highly recommend it and we will alway go there again and again and again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

it is located in the Old Town of Hamburg, Park Hyatt Hamburg hotel provided a privileged location right in the city centre. it was located among the main shopping promenades and i heard it is part of the historic Levantehaus buildinng. it was a convenient walk away from the Harbour with its historic warehouse district and Jungfernstieg area, even the Alster Lake and St. Pauli quarter was close by.we were offered all the services of a luxury hotel. there was a Apples Restaurant & Bar and a spa Club Olympus Spa where we went and pampered ourselves. it was really rejuvinating. i was amazed at the type of service that was offered. a little expensive but on a haliday when u actually mean to speand i think its a good bet to spend on such service.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

First time in Hamburg (in fact first time in Germany) so we based our decision on where to stay solely on the Tripadvisor reviews here. We weren't disappointed.

Park Hyatt is perfectly located - a short walk from the Town Hall Square, shopping area, lake, warehouse district and harbour. The rooms are modern - we stayed in a suite which was huge, overlooking the lightwell and shopping centre below. Bang and Olufsen TVs (two of), Nespresso coffee maker, wet room and beds to die for all make for quite a luxurious stay.

Staff are friendly and efficient (didn't see the grumpy doorman!) and service was excellent. Breakfast in Apples is truly wonderful with very good eggs and bacon whilst afternoon tea in the adjoining Park Lounge overlooking the Monkebergstrasse is sedate and relaxing. Like every 5 star hotel, the cost of food and drink is high but there are plenty of options for dining within minutes of the hotel. Do have a drink in Cafe Wien - a converted river boat on the Alster.

Overall a very very good hotel which we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

My colleague and I came to the Park Hyatt in September this year on business from the UK. We work in Venture Capital within the technology sector, so Hamburg is an important destination for us, one that we plan to return to on a frequent basis.

The Park Hyatt was an obvious choice for us and everything inside the hotel from the rooms, to the breakfast staff, to the decor is excellent.

Upon leaving the hotel to the airport, we had requested a taxi be called five minutes prior on the reception desk. We waited then took the lift downstairs.

No taxi had arrived yet, but about 30 metres down the street there were four of them sitting there, so I asked the doorman (a larger, middle eastern man) if he could call us one as we were in a hurry to get our plane. His response was 'calm down, it will come' yet didn't gesture to bring the car over, and then pulled his phone out and started speaking to his friend, which I would have found rude at a one star hotel, let alone at a Park Hyatt!

I then said we would walk down to the cars, to which he suggested 'you can't do that', smiled in a smug manner and then walked into the hotel, leaving us to deal with the situation. If we hadn't had to leave in such a hurry my colleague and I would have spoken to the manager about the situation, considering our company had just spent a lot of money on our rooms and expected at least a little courtesy.

I am shocked that a leading global hotel such as the Park Hyatt would employ someone such as the man in question, as it's quite honestly left a sour taste in my mouth.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

There is no doubt in my mind that the Park Hyatt Hamburg is the best choice in Hamburg. Also, I feel it it is in the top 15% of luxury hotels if you rate it amongst its peers (not specific to this location).

Now, our experience with the PHH was not perfect. I would say 90%. There was a few niggles, and we have stayed at other PH properties so we know what it's "supposed" to be like.
First issue was incorrect room booking. We arrived after 15.00 hrs and it still took em 45 minutes to find us another (correct) room and our second room it took them 2 hours to get ready (which required to physically go to the recepetion and get the key!!). The rooms were fully up to Park Hyatt standards, but cleaning was less than perfect. No "big" issues though. The usual PH experience seemed to be shaved down a bit. No special anemities for us nor the kids. Club floor lounge was pretty good though. We had room service for 3 nights in a row. The first time, the food was cold. Staff was very apologetic though. The second and third time was fine. Breakfast and breakfast service was great (as expected). SPA and Pool area was great. For some weird reason, no water bottles in the pool area. They had a water dispenser but all the plastic glasses were gone...At 600 euros+ a night I guess one could expect perfection, PH delivered a nice standard 5 star experience. Nothing more - nothing less.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Park Hyatt Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hyatt Hamburg

Address: Bugenhagenstrasse 8, 20095 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Family Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Park Hyatt Hamburg 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Park Hyatt Hamburg is located in the historic Levantehaus building near Moenckebergstrasse shopping street offering 252 luxurious rooms and suites. The hotel features Hamburg's maritime legacy as well as contemporary design and amenities. A 1,000 sq m area is dedicated to wellness at Club Olympus Spa & Fitness featuring a 20 m pool, a sauna, a Sanarium, a steam bath, a whirlpool, a fully equipped fitness centre and a yoga studio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Splendia, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Hyatt Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hyatt Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hyatt Hamburg
Hamburg Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Hyatt Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.