We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite average except for the location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Hamburg

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Hamburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Hamburg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Grosse Bleichen, 20354 Hamburg, Germany (Neustadt)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Hot rate & 15% off dinner
Ranked #93 of 316 hotels in Hamburg
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quite average except for the location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011 via mobile

Renaissance Hamburg is not comparable in any sense with many 5stars, for example the Renaissance in Istanbul.
The staff is nice but too (!) friendly, and the house keeping is not great.
We had to ask a couple of times for cleaning of the restroom in our meeting room.
I stayed on the top (7th) floor,and the elevator gossip to 6th. Then you need to take "a couple" (as the receptionist said but it was definitely more) of stairs to get to the 7th floor.
The room is decent, the bed and pillows are comfortable, but not very new? The hotel has a funny, ol, dusty smell in itself.
It is in a great location right in the city center, a short walk to Alster and other central locations.
But we can find better hotels around.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    116
    173
    72
    21
    13
See reviews for
43
113
34
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I booked a large party of people for this hotel and did negotiate a good rate (unlike almost every other hotel I spoke to in Hamburg who ranged from quite rude to very rude when I asked for a concession).
The check in was Ok although I was not asked which type of room I wanted (twin or double) -the group booking doesnt specify the exact room type. I ended up in a twin which was Ok but when I asked to switch to a double it was not made easy so I didnt bother.
Some of my group were quite loud one night in the bar and the lady serving was very rude telling them to quieten down. Less is more and a teacher style lecture could have been avoided. Incidentally we spent a fortune in this bar, cocktails at 9.50€ a time, beer, wine and spirits.
I did raise these small issues and they were responded too very politely.
Breakfast was very pleasant and a nice range.
I would say if you get a good price then its a nice hotel in a central location and would beat a lot of the other Hamburg hotels Ive stayed at.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Renaissance is one of my favorite lodging choices in Hamburg. It has the perfect location, but the rooms are old. The lobby fits to the historical style of the hotel but the rooms are outdated.
Generally im sure you will enjoy it.

The travallers must check the rates carefully before booking. If its around 110-170, dont miss it. But during busy days of Hamburg the rates may fly up to 260-270EUR. Thats something you should avoid. Its hell of a money, but you will again get outdated rooms with small old-fashion tvs.

Room Tip: Avoid the regular rooms if you care about comfort. Club Rooms are really huge and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Nice upscale hotel with comfy beds and helpful staff. We were having trouble with our rental car and one of the door men went over to the rental office with us and got them to give us a GPS that spoke english. The built in one only spoke German and we requested an English speaking one. Great breakfast and nice lunches. They have a great selection of Teas and a proper bar with a great selection of drinks. Comfy living room area next to the bar to relax in. I felt quite at home.

Room Tip: Join Marriott and use your points to get a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Sussex UK
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Nice location – 10 minutes walk to the Alster / Rathaus / shopping areas / restaurants.

Comfortable hotel – 4* quality, nice rooms. Ideal for either business or leisure.

Good breakfast with excellent service and a late night bar also. We were allowed a late check out – this meant we could enjoy the last day in excellent Hamburg – a nice touch.

Overall we would stay here again on our next trip to Hamburg.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I rate 4 stars because this hotel is at a nice location, rooms are clean, breakfast has great variety and front desk personnel were very helpful. The hotel rooms are dated and the TV is ancient. The daily cleaning service is rather slow, sometimes the room does not get clean till late in the afternoon. Perhaps they were full booked and were too busy. The room rate was way too expensive, it fluctuates between $219 euro to over $300 eruo per night.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Modern and convenient hotel with a great lobby area with mixed type seating that allows for meetings, coffee, snacks throughout the day. The area also has outdoor access and a back door into the mall.

Altough the hotel only has one restaurant they did a good job of "reconfiguring" if for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

The rooms were large and well equipped. The staff was generally friendly and helpful throughout.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Hamburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Hamburg

Address: Grosse Bleichen, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Hamburg 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Renaissance Hamburg Hotel is located in the center of this Hanseatic City. The direct access to the adjacent mall Hanse-Viertel permits comfortable and elegant shopping in Hamburg. The Alster Lake as well as the fairgrounds are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Hamburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hamburg Hotel Hamburg
Hamburg Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Hamburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.