We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel , Great Position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relexa Hotel Bellevue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Relexa Hotel Bellevue to your Saves list
Relexa Hotel Bellevue
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   An der Alster 14, 20099 Hamburg, Germany (St. Georg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel , Great Position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

Great hotel based near the lake in Hamburg, the reception staff were very helpful, the downstairs bar was great for pre dinner drinks, our rooms were based at the back of the hotel, so no lake views, however they were excellent, clean and well appointed, we had the triple room with two single beds and a sofa bed and two bathrooms. I would definitely stay here again if I returned to Hamburg.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    60
    17
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
35
15
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Our bedroom was very large with a four poster bed and a lovely view of the lake. It was kept very clean and bedlinen changed every second day. The bathroom however is in bad need of an update. The shower was in the bath and we found this very awkward to get in and out of as the bath was so deep and we could not understand why the shower was not installed at the end of the bath.

Our tv had no English speaking program whatsoever despite CNN being listed on the program list. We enquired at reception only to be told they do not have any english speaking programs. Seems a bit strange for any large hotel not to have at least one english speaking news channel.

We were told by reception staff that we could only get wi-fi in the residents lounge which is accessed off the breakfast room which was in darkness. We sat there for some time then returned to our room and were surprised to find that we could access the internet from there. In fact we could access the internet from our room for the whole of our stay.

The breakfast however was chaotic on some mornings especially at the weekend when there were no seats available and guests were having to go to the residents lounge. The staff did their best clearing tables etc but there were was no bowls for cereal, no yogurt in the big bowls, no rolls, glasses for fruit juice, hot food nor cold meats available. There were so many people waiting by the breakfast buffet that when a basket of rolls was eventually produced they were immediately taken and if not quick enough you had to wait once again for the next basket. We had to give up on the hot food as we had been waiting more than half an hour and nothing was replenished. They must have known how many guests were staying and had adequate foot prepared.

The front of the hotel faces on to a very busy main road and has no air conditioning. It was therefore very noisy if the windows were left open so we had a few very uncomfortable nights as it was so hot. We eventually asked for a fan which was produced immediately. Pity they had not thought to put one in the room on our arrival.

When booking this hotel I emailed to ask if it was possible to book a room with a balcony and was told they did not have any rooms with a balcony. Somebody should inform all the staff that rooms 23 and 33 (and possibly more) have balconies.

Would we return? Probably not despite it's good location and very good restaurants just one block behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Be aware that the rooms at the front of the hotel may have the lake view but it means your windows h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The Bellevue is situated at the Außenalster in the heart of Hamburg city centre. It is a charming hotel with the water front literally on the doorsteps. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and the staff is most helpful and amiable. Travelling by car is made easy by the convenient car park on spot. Most sights are in walking distance from the hotel (10 mins to Binnenalster, 25 mins to town hall, approx. 45 mins to harbour/Landungsbrücken).

If you like a cosy brunch Altona's Schanzenviertel will be a delight. Hamburg's delicacy "Franzbrötchen" can be found at its best in Eimsbüttel ("die kleine konditorei").

Room Tip: If you would like to enjoy a water front view when getting up in the morning you should make a reser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
relexabellvue, Manager at Relexa Hotel Bellevue, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Silke,

thank you very much for your review and the "perfect Loaction" :-).

Greetings from Hamburg

Olaf Dierich
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I had two stays in the Relexa Hotel Bellevue Hamburg in different room categories. The hotel is conveniently located at the Alster Lake in Hamburg. Its character as a family driven hotel is more charming than the big business hotel chains.
The comfort room category was spacy and was equipped with flat TV, Minibar, a good bed and a working desk. Furniture was not really stylish but of good quality. I would rate the appearance of the room as a good 3 star standard.
The standard single room (experienced on occasion of my second stay) can be taken into consideration for a short overnight stay if a large room is not required.
WiFi is free in the lobby and restaurant but not on the rooms.
Cleanliness in the rooms and in public areas was perfect. Also parking lots were available.
The highlight of this hotel are clearly the dining options. The menu in the restaurant "Alster Charme" was small but everything was freshly prepared and tasty. Also the breakfast is highly recommended. Very fresh bakery and numerous options of local food (Hering Salad) and everything you would expect in a classy international breakfast buffet. For dinner and a drink in the evening the restaurant "Unter Deck" is a cozy option that is decorated with marine related accessories.
Staff was friendly and helpful without any exception.
For my next trip to Hamburg I will take the Relexa Hotel Bellevue into consideration again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 'Guesthouse Hohenfelde' and the 'House St.Georg' are quieter than rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Vejle, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Excellent family-room with two separate bathrooms! Staff is friendly and helped if we had any questions.
We liked the quiet street to which we had a view. But we missed a balcony, where we could sit at night. And the bed/sofa our kids slept in was a bit hard.
There were only free wifi in the lobby. Why not include the entire hotel?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We went to Hamburg for a convention and was assigned to this hotel. As I was not able to choose our hotel I was hesitant but I should trusted our convention committee. This hotel is located very close to shopping, restaurants and the local sights. The entire hotel is very clean and the staff is very accommodating. We were very happy with our stay!

Room Tip: There was pool or fitness center which was not a concern during our stay. Ask the front desk for a f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kherson, Ukraine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Not a big, well located and quite comfy.
Staff appear to be a friendly and helpful.
In my case room was very big but cold on my arrival (November), I has to recognized how to open heating batteries :)
My room have a great view to the lake and a good marine binocular!! in the room.
Breakfast was nice. Restaurant been well decorated within Marine themes, varieties of meal was not big, but OK -just enough.
Biggest issue was a closet proximity of elevator with old-fashioned door, banging noise of it wake me up few times

Room Tip: In any case avoid rooms close to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relexa Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relexa Hotel Bellevue

Address: An der Alster 14, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Relexa Hotel Bellevue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanseatic hospitality in Hamburg’s finest location. The outstanding location of our hotel directly on the Outer Alster Lake (Aussenalster) guarantees you wonderful, maritime views and easy access to the many highlights of this Hanseatic city. You can even reach the city centre and railway station comfortably on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Relexa Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relexa Hotel Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.