We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Premium" Room was not so Premium and TERRIBLE service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Relexa Hotel Bellevue

Save Saved
You added Relexa Hotel Bellevue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relexa Hotel Bellevue
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   An der Alster 14, 20099 Hamburg, Germany (St. Georg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 317 hotels in Hamburg
Birmingham, Michigan
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“"Premium" Room was not so Premium and TERRIBLE service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here with my family of 5 (all grown adults), and we had three seperate rooms booked. My parents who arrived first were put in a room for 4 and since we are adults and booked seperate rooms, they had to be moved when we arrived. Then my boyfriend and mine's room was so small and we called the desk to ask what kind of room it was. They said it was a comfort room. We informed them that we booked a premium room and they said too bad they are full until I argued that I would not settle for something less than we booked. Finally they moved us to the so-called premium room and it was just as bad as the first room. A tiny bed for two of us. The shower and bathroom were so tiny!

Then once we needed to reach my parents for an emergency and tried to call the hotel, and no one answered. When we arrived in the lobby and asked why they did not answer the phone, the receptionist said she was busy. It was mid-night and she was doing nothing at all and just didn't answer the phone.

Furthermore, regarding the service, when I had a question, since my boyfriend speaks German, they refused to answer me in English and would only speak to him in German, which I found terribly rude of them.

On a positive side; although it's hard to look past the above, the location was ok, and they had a nice breakfast for Euro 12, and parking was a reasonable Euro 10/night. However, I would never stay at this hotel again. You pay for what you get - cheep!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    60
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
23
29
14
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fredrikstad, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

stayed at this hotel from 12/11 to 14/11 to participate in a business meeting.
finding a hotel on the Internet is not always successful , but believe me , this was successful !!
A small but perfect hotel with a soul and staff with large smiles. Spacious rooms , good beds, nice bathrooms.Breakfast , where scrambled eggs and the coffee was perfect ( we have all tasted bad hotel coffee and dried scrambled eggs haven't we ? ). Location by the river Elbe was not a drawback either. Ofcause there are large and modern hotels in Hamburg but have you seen one then you have seen them all. My suggestion to those who reads this revue : GO THERE !!successful

Room Tip: visit Relaxa hotels website
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in for 4 nights in August. We got a great deal so the stay was a bargain. Hotel is in a great location and our room had a beautiful view over the Alster lake. The main road outside is very busy but the room was well insulated and the noise was not a problem. The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and spoke English. We had breakfast in the hotel one day, it was fine but a bit expensive. Round the corner is the wonderful Lange Reihe street with loads of cool cafés and bars, many of which serve breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed here with my family during Easter. The room was very clean, spacious and up to date. We ate breakfast at the hotel twice, and it was okay with a good variety of warm and cold food. The hotel has a parking lot and garage behind the hotel, where you can park your car for a fee.

The hotel is located next to one of the Alster lakes, and is located close to a street with lots of cheap restaurants, cafées and bars. It's also within walking distance of the city centre with all of it's stores and attractions.

I would definately stay at this place again, and recommend it for anyone in need of a nice, clean and cheap hotel for a couple of days in Hamburg.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012 via mobile

Ideally located right on the lake in a corner of St George. A bustling little neighbourhood of great restaurants and cafes. The room was excellent and spacious. The bed was a littler hard and the shower took a fews minutes to heat up. We had the benefit of staying on the top floor which limited traffic noise from a busy road, but on a lower front facing floor, you might have trouble sleeping. Upgrade to premium recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

This is a really nice hotel very close to the beautiful Alster Lake in Hamburg, and just a short walk from a good lively street with lots of cafes and bars. The hotel itself is nice and quiet with no noise coming in from outside. You can also walk to the hotel from the train station in about 20 minutes. The building is an old one, but very well kept, and then there is a extension with more modern rooms behind it. The room I had was very nicely designed with zebra striped theme on all the furnishings and walls. Also it had some very funky lights. It was clear a lot of thought and care had gone into the design of the room and its fittings. There was a small bathroom with a good hot shower.
Breakfast was very good - a wide selection of meats and eggs and salads. And some very nice hot coffee. The staff were friendly and helpful, and this hotel makes an ideal base for exploring the city of Hamburg.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice hotel in Hamburg either for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

The rooms are not that big, but a great staff and location more than makes up for it. You are one block away from Lange Reihe, a street filled with all kinds of great restaurants. The subway is a 8 minute walk from the hotel and most shopping can be done around the subway station.

The breakfast was also amazing. A great selection with helpful friendly staff.

We enjoyed this hotel so much we decided to stay for another night in Hamburg.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony if you are there in the summertime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Relexa Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relexa Hotel Bellevue

Address: An der Alster 14, 20099 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Georg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 317 hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Relexa Hotel Bellevue 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanseatic hospitality in Hamburg’s finest location. The outstanding location of our hotel directly on the Outer Alster Lake (Aussenalster) guarantees you wonderful, maritime views and easy access to the many highlights of this Hanseatic city. You can even reach the city centre and railway station comfortably on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Relexa Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relexa Hotel Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.