We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairmont Hotel, Vier Jahreszeiten , Hamburg” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten to your Saves list
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neuer Jungfernstieg 9 - 14, 20354 Hamburg, Germany (Neustadt)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 316 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Jerusalem
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Fairmont Hotel, Vier Jahreszeiten , Hamburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The rating of five star to a Hotel is meant to accord a title of excellence and includes already the appreciation of the reviewer about all the qualities of the subject. I wish to add a further attraction of the Hamburg Four Season Hotel which was the fresh orchid flowers in the room. I had to touch them to convince myself that they were not artificial. The exquisite beauty of the flowers and of the view of the lake from the window left no regrets for the time required to be spent in the room of the hotel .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    511
    111
    30
    15
    5
See reviews for
82
277
63
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
united kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

The hotel is excellent , very central , 2 mins from city centre. Service excellent , rooms are good , we stayed in the junior suite , however this was facing 'courtyard'. I am sure the lake facing option would be delightful . Food excellent , we ate at the grill restaurant and a special mention for the staff here , they are excellent . My only gripe with this hotel is the front desk and reservation . I had booked through American Express and should have been offered an upgrade through the fine hotel and resorts programme. This was somehow made to be difficult and was never defined or explained . Also when the final bill was totalled I was charged for the upgraded room . The front desk was unhelpful and it took a phone call to amex to sort it out . Also there was a manger type person who seemed to be more polite and helpful than others . Don't let this put you off though, as I am sure this was a bit of a exceptional and isolated incidence . To cap it off when we took the boat tour on the lake we passed by the hotel and the guide said ' and ladies and gentlemen this hotel is the best hotel in hamburg'

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

stayed 4 nights in Hotel. Nice older style building. Door keys tricky. Staff very helpful and courteous. breakfast nice. wifi free amd easy to assess. lounge great atmosphere especially if piano playing. on the alster lake.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlon, Belgium
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Fairmont Hotel is a perfect hotel for business or for pleasure. Just a few minutes walk from the center town, from the shopping area or from the congress hall, the hotel is located on the lake side. It has a great spa and very good buffet breakfast in the morning. The wifi is free and working very well. This is quite important for business people, as many hotels offer wifi but the quality is very bad. The staff is really nice, welcoming and helpful, always ready to serve you. All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Not the cheapest of the Fairmont group properties but a personal favourite. For an occasional 'push the boat out' go for a suite with lakeside view and allow plenty of time for a world class breakfast. Heaven...

Room Tip: Front of house gives a lake view, often frozen over in winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillelagh Co Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I endorse all the compliments given by other reviewers! This is such a beautiful hotel, so welcoming and warm. In the evening there are candles alight throughout, which creates an intimacy evn in the largest public spaces. We had a large lakeside room on the 4th floor, with a huge bay and three windows that opened creating almost a conservatory feel of that end of the room. The complimentary items in the room were generous [from the Nespresso machine to the toiletries, the fresh bottled water each day to the fluffy dressing gowns and slippers].

The service was excellent everywhere in the hotel. We ate one evening in the Grill Bar, and enjoyed a delicious meal [though pricey well worth it!] of King Prawn Caesor Salad [ask for half portion] , Veal Liver [sublime and cooked exactly to request] and steak. We noticed other tables having a fish and prawn dish that was presented to them before cooking and then served at table.

Another night we ate at the Fischereihafen restaurant down on the docks [around €12 taxi fare to it and booking essential] - delicious and great atmosphere; also Cafe Paris [5 mins walk from hotel] - a French style bistro with a great Entrecote Frittes!

Hamburg, Hotel Fairmont, we will be back!

Room Tip: Room 405 has large bay and wonderful view of lake and surrounding area. Hairdresser available in ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

How difficult to add anything of value to the several kudos of other TripAdvisor travellers! This is as near as perfect as a luxury hotel experience ought to be. With the added bonus in our times of a level of service that catches the exact balance between friendliness and discretion - as it used to be some decades ago and is often lacking nowadays. It all started with us being upgraded to a larger suite without any particular reason, except the pleasure of enjoying such a treat. And what a suite it was! At such a price, in that category of hotel a true bargain. The premises had obviously been renovated quite recently, but nothing pointed to this. Everything remained as the hotel itself: luxurious, albeit a bit old-fashioned (not a drawback in my view), and a wonderfully well equipped bathroom. Only slight critic there: the amenities, which the Fairmont hotel chain provides in all its premises, are somewhat underwhelming in quality if not in quantity and diversity - and not up to par with the level of such hotels. Everything is there, of course, but it looks and is run-of-the-mill.

Bedding is as it should be although we like to sleep in a real king of queen sized double bed, and not two single beds put together. But maybe we should have made this more precise when requesting a single bed.

Other annoyance: the hotel provides WiFi and LAN connections in the rooms. However, I could not get online via wireless and had to rely on the (good albeit sluggish LAN connection). However, this or the general connection with the hotel's router facilities resulted in _all_ the open tabs of my router to be immediately redirected to their captive site through which the connection had to be established. Further problem: when coming home, it appeared that the WiFi adapter of my laptop had been grilled beyond redemption. It must be a coïncidence but still...

And if the fitness offerings were all right - but just - the lack of a swimming pool in such type of venue is a bit of a drawback.

And I find paying 28 euro per night at the hotel garage quite steep, all things compared although the staff, like all the other personnel, was exceptionally nice.

However these tiny bumps on an otherwise exquisitely smooth road should not stop anyone to enjoy a truly old- or any-world luxury hotel experience.

As several travellers have pointed out, breakfast (included in the room in the package we had) was of a superior level - and extras like perfectly cooked poached eggs or luscious North Sea shrimps were beyond any possible reproach.

We stayed for but a very short time in wonderful Hamburg - one of the most agreeable big cities in Germany - but if we return, it will certainly be at the Vier Jahreszeiten.

Room Tip: Even if the idea of a room with a view on the Alster lake is enticing, do ask for a room on the cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten

Address: Neuer Jungfernstieg 9 - 14, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Neustadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#2 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#7 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten is the epitome of a traditional European grand hotel. Since its opening in 1897, the elegant hotel at Binnenalster Lake in the heart of Hamburg welcomes its guests from all over the world in charming magnificence and timeless elegance. Many cultural and architectural sights as well as numerous shopping facilities and Congress Center Hamburg are within close distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vier Jahreszeiten
Fairmont Hotel Hamburg
Fairmont Hamburg
Hamburg Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.