We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Hamburg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten to your Saves list
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neuer Jungfernstieg 9 - 14, 20354 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4TH NIGHT FREE
Ranked #4 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
GreenLeadersGold level
kuwait
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Best location in Hamburg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I booked through the leading hotels of the world .however, the hotel the time I stayed was fully booked so I didn't get the upgrade .
The view looking at the Alster lake was unbeatable. Location walking to all the shopping and restaurants is amazing.
The rooms has a good size and very nice furniture.
The staff are extremely nice , polite and helpful.
The breakfast is very nice with a lot of varieties .
The Gem is nice however small.
Some of the things I didn't understood is the double doors of the rooms .
The hotel is bit old although it well maintained but still you feel yourself in the 50s
Mosquitos at night is disaster.
However, seeing the other hotels in Hamburg, I believe this is the best choice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your visit at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg and the comments made at Tripadvisor.

We always appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service. Your compliments are a great motivation for our employees.

Thank you also for your additional comments - we learnt that your last stay in our hotel did not meet your expectations. Please accept our deepest apologies for all inconveniences caused during your stay in our hotel.

We truly value your patronage and would never take it for granted and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg.

Yours Sincerely,

Raimund Schied
Exec. Assistant Manager

Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    96
    27
    14
    5
See reviews for
66
243
58
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel was one of my favorite stays this summer. The hotel is proper old school with large rooms, immaculate service, the most beautiful location in a city with not very many, and my favorite antique elevators in the world, complete with gilded chairs to sit on.

Ample breakfast in the mornings had simply everything you could wish for, accompanied by the most lovely service. Try the lemon tart in the library in front of the fire with your Bushmills malt or Brandy Alexander.

Absolutely super! I will be back.....

Room Tip: Try for an upgrade to a junior suite. The bathroom was out of this world.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your visit and the kind comments made during your last stay in our hotel.

We always appreciate our residents taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

Your compliments are a great motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Exec. Assistant Manager

Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourke, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Staying in Hamburg? If you can afford the price tag you won't be disappointed. Beautiful old rooms maintained perfectly. Wonderful well trained staff, breakfast to die for. Great memories, As good or better than many four Seasons.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your visit and the kind comments made during your last stay in our hotel.

We always appreciate our residents taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

Your compliments are a great motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Exec. Assistant Manager

Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Va
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Most reviews of the Vier Jahreszeiten call it the finest hotel in Germany and one of the finest in the world. I don't dispute those accolades. It is the lap of old world luxury with superlative service and a superb location overlooking Hamburg's Binnenalster. Several u bahn stations are a very short walk away, as are restaurants, tour boats and shopping. A flea market on Sunday with a lot of interesting stands is just around the corner, and the conderei in the hotel produces wonderful confections. My deluxe, lakeview room was spacious and beautifully furnished. The staff are professional and welcoming. When I asked at the front desk for a Chinese restaurant recommendation, a member of the staff chuckled as he said that one of the best ones in Hamburg was in a competitor's hotel, the Kempinski Atlantic. And it was. That is good service.

Room Tip: If you want a lakeview room, ask for one higher than the second floor. Otherwise, your view will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your visit and the kind comments made during your last stay in our hotel.

We always appreciate our residents taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

Your compliments are a great motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Exec. Assistant Manager

Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have experienced this hotel for many, many times. I was thinking that maybe this time we will get an upgrade, but no. I was also disappointed because they did not allocate us to the room we have had a couple of times before. Well, we got the same type of the room, but still. And the room was not ready because welcoming fruit was brought in when we already were in room.

Everything else was as good as always but this time service in general was not that good anymore. That was disappointing.

Next time we will propably try another hotel. Park Hyatt is very tempting.

Room Tip: Rooms which have windows in bathrooms are bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your stay at the Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg and the comments made during your last stay.

We always appreciate it if our residents take the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service. We also would like to thank you for your comments regarding the room upgrade and the service of our staff.

Please accept our deepest apologies for all inconveniences caused during your stay in our hotel.

Dear guest, we hope that you will give us the chance to prove to you that this particular experience is not indicative of our usual standards of service and quality. We are looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg in the not too distant future.

Yours Sincerely

Raimund Schied
Exec. Assistant Manager
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Incheon, South Korea
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This hotel is located in front of the Binnenaister. The Hamburg main station is near to this hotel, it take just only 5 minute by taxi.

My room was a Jr. suite with water view and has luxury & classical decor. It was wide and clean.
The sauna was slightly small and under-construction, so there were few customer.
Buffet breakfast was not so various but enough to enjoy.
Wifi internet speed was fast in my room.
All staffs were also very kind.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg and the kind comments made at Tripadvisor during your last stay in our hotel.

We always appreciate our residents taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

Your compliments are a great motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg. The sauna areas are available again after the renovation.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Exec. Assistant Manager
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Everything about this hotel is great: location, building, staff. Check-in was fast, efficient, friendly; and we were happy to be shown around and taken to our room by the receptionist. She managed to give us the feeling that we were really welcome. As members of the LHW Club we had an upgrade to a wonderful room with a lovely view of the Binnen Alster lake (we had an even better view from our own balcony with easy chairs). Good furniture in traditional style, comfortable chairs, a very good bed, etc. A beautiful bathroom (separate shower) with everything we might have wanted. Good Labo toiletries. In the room several welcome presents were waiting for us, a.o. a bottle of wine, and a jar of the hotel's own confiture. Free mineral water.
The public areas in the hotel are furnished in classic style, with many real antiques; one area (The 'Wohnhalle', a large lobby) is a listed monument. Everything was immaculate. A few times we had drinks and some light food in the Wohnhalle, and the service was excellent. (When a slice of avocado turned out to be unripe, it was whisked away immediately, and within minutes we were served a plate of perfect avocado.) The breakfast buffet (complimentary for members of the LHW Club) is very good, with fresh juice, good cappuccino, and a large choice of food. Egg dishes are freshly prepared for you. (You may also order à la carte.)
We stayed only two nights, but after a week elsewhere we came back for one more night. Again the staff were very friendly, remembering our preferences. We got an upgrade to a beautiful suite, also with a great lake-view, and once more various presents (we just loved the Riesling Sekt 2009, Reichsrat von Buhl!)
The hotel has a terrace on the lakeside, a bar, and several restaurants. The Michelin starred Haerlin restaurant was closed for some renovation work, so we tried the Grill restaurant. The room was beautiful (art deco), but the food brought some disappointments. For instance: a fine piece of tarbot, perfectly grilled, was much too heavily salted, as was the accompanying potato mousse. The service was friendly but might have been better.
When the Haerlin restaurant has opened again, we will certainly be back in this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg and the kind comments made at Tripadvisor during your last stay in our hotel.

Thank you also for your interesting comments about the Jahreszeiten Grill service und food quality.

We always appreciate our residents taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service.

Your compliments are a great motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg. The Restaurant Haerlin just opened today after renovation and summer break.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Exec. Assistant Manager
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten

Address: Neuer Jungfernstieg 9 - 14, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#1 Green Hotel in Hamburg
#2 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#12 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamburg's traditional hotel is the only one located at the Inner Alster Lake, just a few steps from the famous shopping arcades, the most cultural attractions in the city centre and within walking distance to the fair ground and the congress centre. The fresh renovated rooms and suites are furnished with Walk-in Closets, soundproofed windows and doors, digital telephones, HD-TV, free wireless high speed Internet, coffee making facilities, guest service tablets and a minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vier Jahreszeiten
Fairmont Hotel Hamburg
Fairmont Hamburg
Hamburg Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.