We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great service and comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten

Save Saved
You added Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neuer Jungfernstieg 9 - 14, 20354 Hamburg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 316 hotels in Hamburg
Purton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent location, great service and comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Central location overlooking the the lake in the centre of Hamburg.
Very close to main shopping areas and great restuarants and bars.
Room service was of very good quality, and always on time.

Huge rooms, very comfotable beds. High speed internet.

Very helpful staff.

One issue: rooms were very hot, had to keep windows open all night in winter!?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    80
    21
    13
    3
See reviews for
51
190
48
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

stayed there over Christmas for the 3rd time. Always a blissful experience as the atmosphere is very warm and welcoming. Old style luxury, you "feel it" just walking through the hotel. Rooms are excellent, service is great. Location perfect in short walking distance to everything and a wonderful view onto the lake from the hall and rooms on the lakeside. They helped in setting everything up for our 2 year old daugher in the room. Sitting in the Kaminhalle having tea is a wonderful experience. The place to stay if you want old style classy, luxury in Hambrg

Room Tip: view over the lake is recommended, although you pay for it a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is historic, lovely, and well located. From problems with being assigned the right room type and a complete failure to follow up on a concierge request, I found the service to be a let down. If the hotel had higher service standards, it could have been a perfect stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

All staff hold an extremely high level of service. From the doorman to the maid.
Have stayed here several times and will be back soon. The hotel has a thoroughly luxurious classical style. The rooms are of a very high standard, the only thing is that the beds are a bit short. Enjoy a tour of the restaurant Haerlin, for a taste experience

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisboa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

One is immediately excited when the traditionally clad Porter opens the taxi doors and you proudly stride up the plush red-carpeted staircase, then taking a dizzying spin at the revolving doors only to arrive in a time-preserved Hamburg, a celebration of a grand pre-war Germany. The reception, deliciously old-fashioned in mahogany and with the once so common key boxes makes a lovely sight. A beautiful blue eyed blond checks us in with a perfect smile and hands over our keys, electronic versions of the real thing. They are bulky and heavy and they feel oh so precious in my hands.
Plastic chip entry cards have long been on my least liked list.
The elegant (wood - mirror - glass) elevator takes us up to our floor and while ogling some framed images of birds along the hallways we arrive at our charmingly old school room. The door system is rather confusing, as there are 2 doors and only the 2. needs to be unlocked. I guess this is some sort of noise insulating invention from the past. The electronic-yet almost real key needs a bit of fine tuning before one succeeds in opening, but after a few tries it becomes easy.
Our room is bathed in buttery cream , heavy curtains celebrate tropical flowers and parrots, classical furniture is made of wood and the big bed is very inviting, if it wasn't for that gap... (2 twins turned into a queen size, but one can always ask for the connecting piece, as not to get 'lost' at night) And of course, the typically German and very couple-hostile blankets. One small cover for each sleepy guest, I always wonder why Germans still have not turned to the cuddle friendly versions?
The bathroom is white and bright, the lighting perfect for ladies doing their makeup and the rain-shower big and strong. Amenities are from "LE LABO" and the rose scented body lotion is well worth a rub.
Since this is a very short stay and we are going to be out most of the time, we booked a less costly courtyard room. (courtyard really means cement hole here, this is one small fault of the hotel that could do with some perfecting. Maybe some greenery or a water feature could make the courtyard what it really should be)
It could be considered somewhat depressing, if judged by the grey outlook. So if you want to enjoy Hamburg's prime view and you will spend some time in your quarters, better to book a room on the lake side.
I love the little jbl speakers for my iphone and my husband is happy with the Nespresso machine, almost a hotel standard these days.
But my absolute favorite at the 4 Jahreszeiten is the 'Living room'. This is the grand wooden paneled lounge area, where a fire flickers through the day, tea is served from a beautiful giant samovar and people nip and sip while gossiping about. The piano player has his own take on some all-time favorites and I could spend hours in here, just being filled with that outer-world-beauty and an unmistakable feeling of a trouble free world. The prices, of course, are pretty inflated and my sandwich became somewhat of a luxury, but one pays for the ambiance I guess. The maitre d', a refined gentleman with that certain ease runs this place like a private club, so as soon you manage to secure a seat you feel very privileged, like beeing part of something special.
The bellini was perfect and the Alster Cocktail somewhat on the sweet side.
We took dinner at the in-house 'Doc Cheng's' a sensual restaurant in crimson colors and candle lit romance. Again, the staff was extremely handsome and very attentive, if somewhat just slightly on the cold side. Last order is 11, which is a bit too early for our liking. The food was yummy, but nothing outstanding. (Since it was 5 to 11 we only got to order 2 dishes, as the kitchen was closing, so no chance to try different tastes)
The Condi is the in-house coffee-shop, very cozy or as one would say in German : gemuetlich. The long pastry bar is offering all kind of delicious treats and is always bustling with sweet tooth loungers. (The walnut cake is divine)
The tiny JAHRESZEITEN BAR is an institution in town and after dinner we had to drop by for a night cap. The bartender makes half the charm with his dry humor,a pair of over-sized glasses and a formidable knowledge of cocktail mixing. Absolutely cool! And so were the drinks and the music.
Just be warned, Germany sleeps at night, so drinks finish here at 1am.
Sadly, no time to try the famous breakfast buffet this time, but always a reason to come back!
Which we surely will...




____________________________________

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We went to Hamburg for 5 days to visit the Christmas markets and to do some sightseeing. Chose this hotel because of its reviews and it did not disappoint. It was ideally situated with views over the Binnenalster and convenient for the city centre and the markets and shopping. The staff were all helpful and friendly without exception. We only had breakfast in the hotel and it was excellent with plenty of choice and the service was very attentive. The room was large and comfortable with a separate dressing room. We dined in the city centre so I cannot comment on the restaurants. I would definitely stay here again. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind and great comments regarding your last stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

We highly appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service and the facilities.

Your compliments are a great and intensive motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Beautiful, traditional, elegant and stellar in every way. The service is outstanding and staff very helpful and friendly. The rooms are most tastefully decorated and nothing is lacking from free WIFI, free bottled water, a daily bowl of good fresh fruit and a very nice welcome bottle of wine. The bathrooms have every amenity possible and it is as fine a hotel as we have stayed in. We were there during the Christmas Market which is just steps away and many interesting buildings are close by. The hotel was so beautifully decorated for Christmas, we didn't really want to leave. The rooms facing the lake are extra special and most enjoyable. We thought Hamburg a most interesting city with a tour of the Harbour being our favorite excursion.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the lake are more expensive, but definitely worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HVJ_Hamburg, Manager at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind and great comments regarding your last stay at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

We highly appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know when they are content with our staff as well as the service and the facilities.

Your compliments are a great and intensive motivation for our employees and we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten.

Yours sincerely

Raimund Schied
Executive Assistant Manager
Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Hamburg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten

Address: Neuer Jungfernstieg 9 - 14, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hamburg
#3 Business Hotel in Hamburg
#6 Family Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hamburg's traditional hotel is the only one located at the Inner Alster Lake, just a few steps from the famous shopping arcades, the most cultural attractions in the city centre and within walking distance to the fair ground and the congress centre. The rooms are furnished with Walk-in Closets, soundproofed windows and doors, 2 line digital telephones with modem connection, a colour TV, cable (35 channels), free wireless high speed Internet, video on demand and a minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Vier Jahreszeiten
Fairmont Hotel Hamburg
Fairmont Hamburg
Hamburg Fairmont

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.