We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Simon-von-Utrecht-Strasse 39a, 20359 Hamburg, Germany (St. Pauli)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #66 of 316 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Scotland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here recently for 3 nights and found it to be very well located for the lively Rbahn and docks. Staff were absolutely fantastic to deal with and the hotel facilities as wee as rooms were top notch. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    145
    43
    8
    3
See reviews for
27
106
18
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed here for 1 night on a road trip. The hotel is on a quiet street in St. Pauli, but close enough to walk to the harbour for a cruise and to Reeperbahn to enjoy the nightlife.

Check-in was smooth, staff very friendly and helpful and parking was within the hotel at a fee. Rooms were small and basic. Complimentary breakfast is provided in all Holiday Inn Express hotels and it was also basic here. I found the bed too soft and the pillows even softer. It seems to be so in the other hotels in Germany too.

Overall, a pleasant stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

it is a good hotel in a very good location - just beside of the famouse night life area from hamburg and there had been also few good restaurants just nearby. there was also a metro station 2 minutes away. hotel is pretty nice outfitted.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The hotel is not very near the center. It's near Reeperbahn, near the Bismarck monument on one side and the History Museum and a long park on the other side. However one can use the subway to the center (5 stations, we were told). Subway is close to the hotel.
The room was small. New, clean, modern, but small.
The sink in the bathroom is unusually high. Also didn't like the fact that flushing button is located behind the toilet lid (when it's raised), hence making it not comfortable to use.
Shower is good, but it doesn't keep same temperature well.
What was very annoying was the fact that the bathroom had a glass door. At night you can turn on a blue light in the bathroom to see where you're going, but the light goes through the glass door, reflects in the mirror and then shines at the beds. Annoying!
Parking costs 15 euros and otherwise it's difficult to find parking in the area, as it has many parking places only for residents.
You need the key to use the elevator.
Breakfast was good and abundant, even had herrings. There is only one coffee machine, which created a big line during breakfast.
Internet is for a fee, although Priority Club members get it for free.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear transy,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. We are pleased you liked our location as well as our breakfast options. However, I am deeply sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Overall, we has a very pleasant stay - the positive points below overwhelmingly outweighed the minor negative ones.

Main good points:
- Good location - a few minutes' walk from St Pauli Metro station and 10 minute trip into city centre.
- Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.
- Room was a decent size (but not large), and clean, with a good sized shower room/cubicle.
- Plenty of soap/shampoo available in room - via large squeezable dispenser.
- Safe provided in room.
- Kettle provided in room.
- Lifts required door access card before use, for added security.
- Good breakfast selection.
- Free ice dispenser in lobby!

Less good points
- A/C in room was underpowered, although (presumably intentionally!) it just about ensured that the room was comfortable. Large window could be opened for ventilation.
- No refrigerator in room
- Apart from news channels (BBC, CNN, CNBC?), there were no English language TV channels
- hotel is just a couple of minutes' walk away from the 'sleazy nightlife' strip, although it didn't really detract from the appeal of the hotel.

Room Tip: Little to choose between front facing and rear facing rooms, as far as we could tell
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Durkheim, Germany
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Hotel is close to Reeperbahn. Landungsbruecken are within walking distance. The hotel is located in a relatively quiet street, close to other budget hotels.
The rooms are o.k., but don't expect too much space. The bed, although brand new, is quite an experience.
The staff at the check-in is friendly. Parking in the hotel garage was not possible (full), book in advance.
Summarized: a good deal in Hamburg

Room Tip: I stayed on the 5th floor (german numbering)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was not sure when 6 off us went to Hamburg for a 4 night stay,The hotel is just far enough away from the Reeperbahn to be quite, but not far away as to have a long walk to get there.
I was very surprised at Hamburg the place is fantastic full of live and very vibrant the bars up and down the Reeperbahn are what you would expect them to be loud and even louder, but go off some off the streets and you find a wonderland of local bars ,Irish bars with live music in them that has to seen to be believed. I was in Hamburg 40 odd years ago very short stays and I was greatly shocked at the city it has to be one of the most beautiful cities I have been in for a long time.
There is a lot of work going on along the docks and a lot of building work at the Harbour.
I would recommend a walk through one of the many parks and there are a few to choose from
stop of at one of the many little squares and sit and have a beer or a drink of your choice and enjoy the local culture the meals are superb and don't cost the earth, all in all a great few days and we will be going back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe

Address: Simon-von-Utrecht-Strasse 39a, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 316 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe Hotel Hamburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hamburg - St. Pauli Messe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.