We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meat with Young Ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bullerei

Bullerei
Lagerstrasse 34, 20357 Hamburg, Germany (Sternschanze)
+49 40 33442110
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #167 of 2,835 Restaurants in Hamburg
Price range: $10 - $45
Cuisines: German, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sternschanze
Description: The BULLEREI in Hamburg's Schanzenviertel was once a cattle market and is visibly stunning. with stylish but comfortable grey couches, 200 year old oak tables and a blue tiled bar. The restaurant is popular with gourmets, the in-crowd and beer drinkers who wax-lyrical about it. The food tastes amazing and prices are reasonable. The meat is cooked to perfection and the side dishes are delicious. The lunch menu offers wonderful meals for vegetarians. The staff are stylish and fashionable. They are cool, friendly and stand out from the crowd in their grey aprons.
Izmir, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good meat with Young Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Live, young, experiential and delicious meat ! What else do you want
You should make a reservation especially weekends

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    224
    125
    34
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Visited this restaurant for lunch without much of an expectation but was pleasantly surprised. Nice interiors and good food made it a great experience, the service though was not up to the mark. The portions were big and we could not do justice and had to leave food on the plate.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A spoilt evening”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I was taken here by some locals who had heard it was the place to be. We had tried to reserve a table for 8pm, but they had nothing until 9pm. When we got there, we had to wait about 45 minutes for the table,which is tough going when you've got a young child. Eventually sat down and I ordered a very expensive piece of Iberian pork. At 10.30 the dish finally arrived and it was not cooked apart from being seared on the outside The waiter tried to explain that was how they cooked it? At around 11pm I finally got the dish, by which time I had lost my appetite and my son was going insane. As an apology I got a free glass of apple juice.

This place is owned by a chef who has a tv program and is basically trading on his name. It sells American beef and it charges a heavy whack for it. However, atmosphere and interior is very cook

In the north of Germany they raise some of the best cattle anywhere in the world, so it escapes me why they need to import their beef.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bullseye!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A very cool and robust place at the end of the railway tracks in Schanzenviertel. An old slaughterhouse turned in to a hipster reastaurant/club. Nice interriors and some gems on the menu. You gotta have burrata to share with friends! Don't forget the reservation.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice place but food is not quite living up to the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Attracted by the very good tripadvisor ratings and the general hype surrounding the restaurant and its TV Chef, we visited during our short city break this August. We got a very good table in the main dining room, one of the best that there was. Service but friendly and efficient enough. My wife had fillet steak which was fine but nothing out of the ordinary. It was reasonably well prepared, perhaps lacking a bit of salt, but the meat itself was not very flavorsome. We have certainly had much better quality meat. I ordered ribs and while the portion was very large again the quality was average. The meat was tender but the sauce completely drowned the ribs.The accompanying beans were disappointing while the fries were absolutely superb.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bullerei also viewed

Hamburg, Germany
 
Hamburg, Germany
 

Been to Bullerei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bullerei, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.