We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good but low WOW factor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vlet Restaurant

Vlet Restaurant
Am Sandtorkai 23/24, 20457 Hamburg, Germany
+49 40334753750
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 2,741 Restaurants in Hamburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very good but low WOW factor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

had excellent mussels, an overcooked fish with amazing vegetables and a delicious game. Dessert was okay. Very friendly and attentive staff. Overall very good and not too expensive given that I had four courses, five different wines and three large bottles of water (100 euro).
however, I think I will only remember the mussels :-(

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    46
    16
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Christmas Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

as a repeat customer we had a delicious christmas dinner experience. as usual the staff was very attentive and the served food was excellent.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“amazing service and interesting cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We arrived with our two teenage daughters and our just seven year old son, pre Xmas. We were looking for authentic northern german cuisine with a modern spin and that's exactly what were we offered. The venue is a lovely warehouse conversion, cool and contemporary with a good vibe. The menu was most interesting - we went for the traditional dishes and they were very good indeed. But what really impressive us about Vlet was the amazing service. They were beyond considerate and welcoming to our young son. I had emailed ahead to ask if they could prepare something simple for him and also to say he has a nut allergy. Our son was offered the head of the table and a special cushion, his own menu and best of all was asked if he would like to go into the kitchen to choose his pudding! They even reminded us what he could and couldn't eat given his allergy. The evening was fantastic. Our style conscious girls loved the surroundings, we loved the food and wine and most importantly our young son loved the experience so much he behaved himself beautifully even though he was there till nearly 11! Recommended to us by locals, we would definitely go back when next in Hamburg.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good, not great. A bit pretentious..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The venue is very nice and love the decoration. The food was very well presented and tasted good. They do "gourmet portions" and price wise it's not easy in the pockets. I would recommend it more for a business meeting or corporate event that a family affair or a romantic date.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good food in historic ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

located in the middle of old hamburg speicherstadt - the historic storage area.
very nice ambience as the restaurant is build into one of the old storages. very stylish but also leaving the atmosphere of ancient times.
food and service excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlet Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Vlet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vlet Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.