We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but not really for a wow. Service disappointing...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of marblau OHG

marblau OHG
Poolstr. 21, , Hamburg, Germany (Neustadt)
+49 40 35016555
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #383 of 2,835 Restaurants in Hamburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Neustadt
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food, but not really for a wow. Service disappointing...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We headed there after a recommendation of a friend. We had the Schlemmermenu ( special summer initiative in Hamburg) and one of us took the 4 wine glasses matching the courses. First course: good. Second: wow. Third: meh... Boring. Dessert: boring. Wines: two were really good. Two were disputable. Water was really overpriced.
Service: meh...did not know much about wine, we had to wait way too long for the last course, not really friendly or smiling.

You can pay with the EC karte only at the desk(why???), which is really awkward because it is not that the opened the other day... Not sure if we go a second time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Not really bad, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Not actually meeting the standard they are aiming at. The service makes an effort - but they don't leave the guests with the impression that the service actually is no effort. We came late on a Thursday evening, around 10 pm. Only a few tables were occupied. About 20 tables were empty. Nevertheless the waiter offered us a table in the entrance area and insisted that he couldn't offer another table. I was upset. We had the fish soup (quite good) and the tuna tartar (boring) as starters. The main course was also not more than ok. To cut a long story short: The bill was quite substantial, the food was a borderline experience, the service has many chances for improvements. We have been there the second time. The first timewas basically the same eexperience. So it seems to be a structural problem.

The only reason to go there is, if you are leaving the concert hall hungry - Laeiszhalle is just across the street. ..

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We came across this venus by chance, just walking back to our hotel not far from this location. We decided to drink something on the terrace and had a look at the menu as well. It looked interesting, so we decided to make a reservation for that evening.

It wasn't a very busy night for them. It was in the middle of the holiday season and there aren't a lot of tourist walking by. And that's a shame, because we really had an excellent meal. Next to the a la carte possibilities, they also serve daily specials. We started with a very nice and tasty Pumpkin Gazpacho with a scallop, risotto with cuttlefish, then a nice piece of Monkfish and after that a selection of cheeses. They have a great selection of wines available as well. Service was good and we had a perfect spot (half outside, half inside).

This is an excellent venue and it deserves a higher spot in Tripadvisor!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, delicious food, outstanding staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We come here whenever we stay in Hamburg. It is just one of the best!
A hidden gem with delicious food, friendly and attentive staff!
Great, romantic atmosphere!
We always go for 3 courses, a bottle of wine and coffee.
A very good selection/variety of starters and mains and the desserts are just the best!
The high quality of food and service turn a dinner at Marblau always into a very special treat!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed marblau OHG also viewed

 
Hamburg, Germany
 

Been to marblau OHG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage marblau OHG, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.