We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still thinking about it with a smile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mirabelle

La Mirabelle
Bundesstrasse 15, 20146 Hamburg, Germany (Rotherbaum)
+49 40 4107585
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 2,761 Restaurants in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Rotherbaum
Denmark
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Still thinking about it with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

One word? OUTSTANDING

Landed in this restaurant after not getting into another based on a taxi drivers recommendation. Arrived late but they worked the menu and did best to accomodate us. Food was amazing... Being a top restaurant you do not go there to fill up but go wow on every bite

We had lobster soup, fois gras, sorbets but with lots of side oils, amazing breads, fantastic wines. I am a hobby chef and am well travelled and I felt humbled by the food standard - - a food I could just not cook at home and rarely ever taste elsewhere.

I was with a lady and the staff we so attentive to both of us and made us feel so special and made the weekend perfect.

I will go back .. I still hear Edith Piaf playing in the background and the French owner talking to us.

Thank you La Mirabelle . .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    21
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“French doesn't get better!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

If La Mirabelle was in France, it would also stand out from the crowd, for all the right reasons! Superb food paired with great wines made this a fabulous dining experience for my wife and I recently. A small intimate venue with a waitstaff that is very attentive. The chef, Pierre Moissonnier greeted us as we entered, and throughout the evening continued to interact with us. We thought we were at the chefs table until we noticed he gave his other guests the same attention. We had come here because we heard that his continually changing themed menus/ degustation were extradorinary. We hit the jackpot!
The taste and texture of the food was second to none. We opted for the 6 course menu and thought we would find a disappointment - we didn't ! Again, the wine pairings throughout were great - particularly from Domaine Mastrio Elegant le Millesime 2007. A highlight for me was the cheese tray. It was an education and a delight. Havent ever seen such a varied selection in any restaurant to date. We finished incidently with a glass of Mirabelle plum liquer poured from a cask!
If you enjoy fine food, and want a culinary experience that creates a life impression, then La Mirabelle is a must.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Great restaurant. Recommended.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We found this restaurant on the web and used Trip Advisor to check it out. Looked fine, so we took a chance. Great decision!! The staff are really attentive without being overly obtrusive. We speak no German. English is our main language and we get by in French. Staff accommodated us with ease in both English and French. Ambience is spot on. Food was very very good and the wines were excellent. We enjoyed a super night and would definitely go again. Thank you guys...we had a super time.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It's a good French Restaurant in a german city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I really didn't expected to eat such a good Entrecôte in Hamburg. A good degustation of wines its offered as well. Its a must if you are in Hamburg and you are looking for a neat and special place to eat out.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Mirabelle also viewed

 

Been to La Mirabelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mirabelle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.