We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel, St Pauli” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Altan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Altan Hotel to your Saves list
Altan Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Beim Gruenen Jaeger 23, 20359 Hamburg, Germany (St. Pauli)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #280 of 316 Hotels in Hamburg
Belgrade, Serbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel, St Pauli”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

we slept here only one night and I choose it because it was near the place where are going that evening on concert but its was awful, thick walls, shared bathroom, loud was all night because of the girls who slept in the next room with whom we shared bathroom
but it was clean in the room
only cool thing was that room was cheap and near St Pauli stadium and that cool alternative part of town Hamburg that I wanted to see and experience
I like Hamburg and St Pauli part of town and you can go by foot to Freiheit 36 and to the red light district and harbor

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    14
    6
    8
See reviews for
4
6
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

Only faults were the 24-Hour Front Desk,( It closed at 11pm), wasn't ideal as their was a few of us travelling,and no elevator just a steep stair case.
Rooms were basic but clean,staff were freindly and a good 30 minute walk to the Reeperbahn centre.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faroe Islands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Friendly staff and nice bar area downstairs, but the rooms were very basic and the electrical appliances looked unsafe with exposed wires and sparks when appliances were plugged in. Ideal for single travellers or people who just want somewhere to crash after a night on the town. There was no door on the shower in the triple room which was a bit offputting for our teenage children. However we had a good night's sleep and the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

Alright right off the top we paid 45 euro a night for a Wed and Thursday night. This is in a rather cool part of Hamburg, not far from downtown or the red light district. So what do you think we got for that price? A place to stay that wasn't the Ritz, but it wasn't bad either.

The hotel,
Like other small pensions this was a walk-up with 4 floors in total and without an elevator. Our room didn't have an en suite bathroom but on the plus side you only shared with one other room. The room itself was basic.

We had some problems with our room.

I had booked a double room and we were given a room with two sets of bunk beds. Not the end of the world, but I kinda like to share a bed with my wife.

We also found a mini-keg in the cupboard under the sink, obviously missed by the cleaning staff.

But really the big issue was the strike plate on the door frame was nearly falling off, and all you needed to do was push a bit on the door and it opened. We informed the staff, and being generally unimpressed that they were unaware of such a major problem we agreed to wait no more than 20 minutes before leaving as they didn't have any other rooms. To the hotel's credit they were very apologetic and had it properly fixed before the deadline.

They also offered us a better room for our second night's stay, a large room with a double bed, bunk beds, an en suite and a kitchenette.

So we were generally pleased with what we received for the price we paid, and the issues we had were dealt with by a friendly staff.

And just be aware of the neighbourhood. It definitely looks like a rough neighbourhood, a bit run down and with more graffiti than I've ever seen. But don't worry it's more of an alternative area full of great restaurants, cool shops and interesting people. I might not recommend it for nervous travelers, but if you're young it's a great part of town.

  • Liked — Response of the staff to problems and their willingness to upgrade
  • Disliked — cleanliness, security and lack of double bed rooms
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Altan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altan Hotel

Address: Beim Gruenen Jaeger 23, 20359 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > St. Pauli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 316 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Altan Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Altan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Altan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.