We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst service ever!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Alster Cliff

Alster Cliff
Fahrdamm 13, 20148 Hamburg, Germany (Eimsbüttel)
040 / 44 27 19
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,567 of 2,636 restaurants in Hamburg
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Eimsbüttel
La Tour de Peilz - Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worst service ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Despite the location, that deservers 5 stars, the service is so so bad.
Waiters are in general in a very bad mod and sometimes just in a bad mood.
They never smile, never offer help, they make you feel you bother them.
Not to say that is not a place Child Friendly.
It is a real pity they have to work in such atmosphere.
The management has definitely to work on it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

29% Recommend
    1
    10
    10
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Take a picnic if you visit this restaurant.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

The service is ghastly. Incorrect entree brought to me. Truly rude waiter who seemed put off on having to wait the table. The owner really needs to look at the staff and make major changes starting with reminding the inept staff that without diners, they would not be open for business. Will never go back and I doubt if those seated around me would bother, either. Certainly the worst in all of Hamburg.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Alster Cliff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Good pizzas, although the service can be a bit slow. Good location right on the edge of the lake, ferry pulls up at a wharf right next door.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Average food but outstanding view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Don't expect to be overwhelmed by the food here but the view is absolutely outstanding. We had a pizza and a few beers, nothing fancy. The pizza was ok. You can get better pizza elsewhere. But go here for the view across the river. Really outstanding.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Go for the view - food is decent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I stopped in for lunch while taking a walk around the lake. The view from the restaurant is outstanding - you're right on Alster. I was surprised to see the bad reviews - I had the tomato soup (really good cream on top) and chicken caesar salad, which was one of the best caesars I've had in recent memory. Service was excellent. It's a bit pricey for what I got, I think, but everything was spot on to expectations--Euro is much higher value over the dollar. Its interior looks trendy, so I would think it's quite a hotspot in the summer months. I'd have no hesitation in going back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alster Cliff also viewed

 

Been to Alster Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alster Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.