We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky hotel but a bit out of the way” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Georg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Georg to your Saves list
Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Georg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spaldingstrasse 152, 20097 Hamburg, Germany (Hammerbrook)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 317 Hotels in Hamburg
Collingwood, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Funky hotel but a bit out of the way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We spent 2 night at this hotel out of a 3 week European vacation. The hotel has a great fun atmosphere and the staff is very helpful. The breakfast is also excellent. The rooms are simple but fun. Biggest complaints was that it is not very convenient location to the city centre and also we found that the rooms were very noisy at night.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    70
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
31
63
9
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Very close to all rail links, Very friendly greeting the staff were extremley helpfull & jolly nothing to much trouble. The Superbude is very quirky, fun and interesting. The room we stayed in (Blue room) was tidy, spotless and very warm (was minus outside) fantastic shower, flat screen tv & free lockable storage. towles changed every day if required.
Breakfast is well worth the money (continental style) more than enough selection even for vegies.
Used free internet to check flights etc, great place to have a beer & relax at any time day or night you can even cook a pizza at 4 in the morning!
Wish there were more superbudes across europe would stay there every time FANTASTIC!!!

Room Tip: Super market close by has everthing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
343 helpful votes 343 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

Once again another great stop, on arrival into Hamburg hofbahnhof we walked over to Superbude, it took about 20 minutes with our packs. The staff are fabulous, friendly and very helpful, our room was quirky as seen on the website, clean, with free fast WIFI. Being a Hotel-Hostel guests have free use of washing and drying facilities, the staff will help you with this as well:)
The breakfast room is bright and welcoming, and can be used at all times of the day, for playing board games, chatting. The breakfast buffet is very reasonably priced and there are enough choices from cereals, breads, yoghurt, meat and cheeses,etc.
We walked everywhere in Hamburg never needing to use the metro even though there is a station close by. It was wonderful to see so many different age groups of people staying here, and families.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010 via mobile

Superbude staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location is good- just five minutes walk from a major station with most lines running through including the one from the airport. It was also spotless. Buffet style breakfast well worth paying extra for. The only down side was that the beds were twins pushed together with single duvets but apparently this is fairly normal in Germany.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
International
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

This is a unique hotel. Witty design, no frills, clean comfortable rooms, friendly, helpful staff, (thank you Kitty) fantastic value for money and a good vibe – even for a quartet of over-60's trying to recapture their past.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

I booked a room for 69Eu, great deal, I thought, but apparently this great deal goes with a XS - room. And that fact was not known to me. Fortunately we stayed only one night, cause the 2 of us and our dog could barely move. Annoying. The elevator was not working at the time, so had to drag ourselves and our luggage to the 4th floor. Annoying. Then in the room I discovered, that for opening the window wide, you have to get a key at the reception desk!
The location is not appealing, I found it pretty loud, the hotel is set between 2 streets with a lot of traffic.
Free parking, internet in the lobby.
I do understand that people like the hotel, as I have seen, hte rooms are hip and the whole concept is relaxed and cool, but we just had no luck.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Stayed at Superbude last weekend. It's a really nice place, really and helpful staff, clean and fresh rooms. It's amazing value for money, great modern decor, pretty retro all around. Good breakfast facilities.

Only negative is it's out of the town centre, but only a 6 EURO cab ride into town. Doubt you'll find much better budget accomodation in Hamburg...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Georg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Georg

Address: Spaldingstrasse 152, 20097 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Hammerbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#27 Best Value Hotel in Hamburg
#62 Business Hotel in Hamburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Georg 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleeping in a hotel bed is going to become super!Stylish, comfortable, communicative and valuable: Superbude right in the heart of HamburgFrequent travellers sleep in hotels, hostels, b&bs or youth hostels, depending on style and budget. But nothing is better than spending a few nights in your friends home, which is often a Superbude, and you can enjoy such a home fully if it is right in the middle of one of Europes most interesting towns. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, seekda GmbH, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Georg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Superbude Hotel Hamburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Superbude Hotel Hostel St.Georg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.