We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meaty night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of [m]eatery bar + restaurant

[m]eatery bar + restaurant
Drehbahn 49, 20354 Hamburg, Germany
+49 40 30999595
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #82 of 2,739 Restaurants in Hamburg
Price range: $0 - $37
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The [m]eatery in Hamburg's new town offers a sophisticated ambiance, combined with hearty food and great service. Only the finest quality and freshest ingredients are served in the [m]eatery. Delicious starters, sensational steaks, unique burgers- and tartar specialities, and a choice of drinks that completes the offer. Argentinian Black Angus, original American beef, and meat seasoned with Husumer willow bark, made with traditional craftsmanship, are all options you could choose to indulge in. A speciality which is really representative of the [m]eatery, is the tartar, which is always served fresh á la minute from the very best and most expensive cuts of meat. The menu also offers monkfish cutlet served with sweetheart cabbage, and Sardinian Gnocchi in Noilly Prat Sauce, New York Cheesecake - deliciously creamy cheesecake covered in white chocolate and suitable for vegetarians. In addition to the menu, the old glass divides in the restaurant offer an additional visual attraction of their own. Within the individual booths, the expensive Husumer cuts of meat are put before the eyes of the guests after three to four weeks of coming to maturity.
lisboa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Meaty night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Loved the 6months aged meat. DIVINE. The ambiance is a bit too modern, too cold. Of course, this restaurant is located in a very contemporary hotel and it is the very 1. time I encountered a lobby, where one has a window showcasing cow cadavers... But I might go back, just for that taste of this meat! This is the ancient way of preparing it and one can taste the difference. Time does work wonders... It almost tastes a bit like liver, a steak becomes stronger, rounder, fuller...maybe like a well aged wine? Give it a try!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp R, [m]eatery Manager at [m]eatery bar + restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your dinner and that the flavour of our dry-aged beef was to your full satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again!

Best regards,

Philipp Reese
[m]eatery Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    82
    40
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great, but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A mixed experience visiting this restaurant. The atmosphere was more "up-scale" then the food deserved in my opnion.

Had a great beef- and veal tatar seasoned variously. But the signature steak, where they combine grilling and a 800 degree oven gave a little odd experience. Hence my steak was on a bone, the scent when the steak was served was more fishy, than grilled steak.

It was not bad, but...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp R, [m]eatery Manager at [m]eatery bar + restaurant, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor.

We are awfully sorry that the flavour of our dry-aged beef was not to your satisfaction and did not meet your expectations. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences.

We look forward to welcoming you again and assure you of our best attention to make your next dinner perfect!

Yours sincerely,

Philipp Reese
[m]eatery Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I enjoyed an excellent meal at the (m)eatery which included a fabulous steak. The waiter (Omid) was excellent. I did find the tables to be rather cramped sitting far too close to the next tables. It is well worth a visit though if visiting Hamburg.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp R, [m]eatery Manager at [m]eatery bar + restaurant, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are very delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and that the service was to your satisfaction. We already passed your nice compliment to our waiter Omid!

We look forward to welcoming you soon again!

Yours sincerely,

Philipp Reese
[m]eatery Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stuttgart
1 review
“Best Cocktails ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Excellent food and an outstanding cocktail menu!!! Whilst looking at the drinks menu it was difficult to decide on a drink. There were so many interesting and new combinations which didn't seem to appear on your average drinks menu. The blueberry muffin cocktail was delicious, definitely one i can recommend. If this bar was in my home town i would most certainly be dropping in for cocktails more often. Service was prompt and friendly, with an extensive knowledge of their menus, both food and drink.We had an excellent evening definitely worth a look in.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp R, [m]eatery Manager at [m]eatery bar + restaurant, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us on TripAdvisor. We are very delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your dinner and that our cocktails at the [m]eatery bar were to your satisfaction.

We hope to have you back soon!

Best regards,

Philipp Reese
[m]eatery Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“under the prietence of hospitality, unappetizing, pretentiously & unsatisfactory”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I choce m eatery for a Saturday late lunch, because of the dry aged meat, and the news, they want to be the best Steak-Restaurant in Hamburg.
Here the Facts: unappetizing late Lunch
Service professionality average rate, 2,5 of 5, friendliness and professionality
Kitchen: the Beef- Veal Tartar, very good 4,5 of 5, quality and preparation
Steak: one Rip-eye Steak average 3 of 5 points, quality and preparation
Steak: NY-Cat everage average 2,5 of 5 points,
Steak: Filet Mignon, two times burning thats to much,
the side dishes tasteless, loveless, no passion for something!!!!!!!!
Complain-Management:
Was for nothing, the didn't charge for the burned Filet Mignon, i don't want something for free,
You all together destroyed the reputation of your Restaurant and some hours of my Birthday Party.
The Managers attitude was the best, hiding behind the wall and service staff,
instead of going ahead and talking with the customers. well done like the burning Steaks

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philipp R, [m]eatery Manager at [m]eatery bar + restaurant, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are very concerned about your critical comments regarding our service and hospitality and would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations. We will certainly discuss your feedback regarding the burned steak with our Executive Chef and assure you that we take your complaint very serious.

Dear guest, Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences.

Yours sincerely,

Philipp Reese
[m]eatery Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed [m]eatery bar + restaurant also viewed

 

Been to [m]eatery bar + restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage [m]eatery bar + restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.