We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic & Everything was perfect!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie zu Gutenberg

Brasserie zu Gutenberg
Jagerstrasse 10 / Ecke Gutenbergstrasse, 14467 Potsdam, Brandenburg, Germany
0331 / 740 368 78
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 254 Restaurants in Potsdam
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“Fantastic & Everything was perfect!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Don't let its look deceives you, its menu offers sophisticated dining and its food is of international quality, not your traditional beer/bar casual dining. The venison carpaccio was out of the world, fresh and tasty. It was a tough decision among the main course specials, half duck, ox cheek and venison filet; and I had the venison again. It was perfectly prepared and came with wonderful potato napoleon and brussels sprout. My desert, crepe with orange filling and vanilla ice cream, was just as wonderful (light and just a touch of sweetness). All three servers there took care of me, and they were all delightful and helpful. What a wonderful experience!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    15
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
422 reviews 422 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Just What we Needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had a lunch and a dinner here while in Potsdam. Both meals were very good and reasonably priced. A Flammkuchen was excellent. Service was good too. Obviously we went back after our 1st visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“LCHF friendly, nice atmosphere, decent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I eat low-carb/high-fat, so we often choose restaurants based on the side-dishes that they offer. We especially like restaurants with "modular" meals: this meat plus two of these sides. This restaurant offers their Grilled Specials the same way.

We both ate the mixed-plate of chicken, pork and beef ("Grillteller"). We chose creamy mushrooms and green beans with bacon. I would have liked more bacon with my green beans, but everything tasted quite good. I found the pork a little dry, but by comparison, they cooked the steak to a nice slightly-rarer-than-medium. The chicken remained moist. I ordered the veal jus and my wife the pepper sauce, which we both liked.

We had a very friendly waitress who patiently survived my limited German, but who sent someone English-speaking to ask us how we liked our meal, which I liked.

We did not drink any alcohol, but the wine and spirits selection looked impressive, and on a night when we felt like drinking, we would have happily done so here.

We paid €43 and felt that we got value for our money. We will probably go back later this week.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, Ca.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Cute place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Came here on a day trip to Potsdam from Berlin. Nicely decorated place, interesting menu, good service. We were surprised that it was so empty and the quality was quite high. Recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Good, but not for sitting outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Food was good, service friendly, the restaurant looks good inside. Bur the outside seating on a narrow strip of a street right by the row of parked cars is not comfortable.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie zu Gutenberg also viewed

Potsdam, Brandenburg
 

Been to Brasserie zu Gutenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie zu Gutenberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.