We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh how I wanted to like this hotel but....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Am Luisenplatz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Am Luisenplatz to your Saves list
Hotel Am Luisenplatz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Luisenplatz 5, 14471 Potsdam, Brandenburg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Potsdam
Cork
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Oh how I wanted to like this hotel but....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

First of all the pluses:
Great Location. A block from the bus line, (605) which comes directly from the main train and s-bahn station in Potsdam. It is one block up from the entrance, ( well one of them anyway), of the magnificent San Soucci Palais grounds and park. One of the best parks I've ever been in. And it sits between some nice restaurants and the square where there are markets at Christmas.

Nice man in the morning at reception. Very helpful.

Fantastic breakfast. Very German, ( loads of sliced meats and cheeses), but also cereals, yoghurts, fresh plentiful bread in many varieties and hot eggs and sausages. Also a wonderful selection of teas and great coffee from very friendly servers.

Very clean and orderly. In fairness I've never been in a hotel in Germany that wasn't however.

The minuses:

TINIEST ROOM IN EUROPE. If you are traveling alone as I often do I find myself in singles rooms and "economy" rooms a great deal. This one was, without a doubt, the smallest room I've ever been in. It is quite literally the dimensions of a walk-in closet in America. The bathroom was almost as large as the bedroom. I did peek into some other rooms when I was making my way to check out and the cleaning staff were working and the rooms seemed ok but they weren't large in any sense of the word.

Not clean. The tiny room that is. Unbelievable considering the rest of the hotel. There were hairs of indeterminate origin on the basin and desk and dust dust dust. Nasty.

NOISY. Extremely so. I don't know why other's didn't comment on this fact as my room was not overlooking the square but a side street. It was not traffic noise that was annoying it was the noise of people in the square and those coming home late from the pub. Really loud and obnoxious until after 2 in the morning on both nights I stayed. Midweek btw.

HOT. It is a very warm summer in Europe. I know. But the little fan that was left in the room did not begin to help with the temp. The one huge window had to be left open all the time to try and get a cross breeze. It was very uncomfortable and because the window is directly across from an apartment you get to know your neighbours rather well. Whether you want to or not.

Reception guy in the evening was rude. Almost, comically so compared to the morning guy.

If you need to be at the center of Potsdam you could do worse but there are other options that I will avail myself of in future.

Room Tip: I would suggest a "room at the back". You sacrifice view but you might get some sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    22
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
15
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

This hotel is the perfect base for sightseeing in Potsdam and surrounds. It is located on the main square in Potsdam, where the main Christmas market is in December. It has some really good restaurants in the buildings right next door, and it is within walking distances of the Sanssouci palace and gardens.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the main square. The view over the Brandenburg Gate and the Christmas Mar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rzeszow, Poland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Easy to find, very friendly man a the reception. Rooms are spacious, with some feeling of old times but in positive sense. Pretty good breakfast. At this time of the year there was a Christmas market just across the street, but due to bad weather it was almost empty. We stayed there only for one night, but generally everything was good. Possibly Internet infrastructure might need some attention, connection was pretty slow and unstable.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the square, it is nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Wielkopolskie, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Hotel is placed in very good spot, close to the city center but hidden from traffic noise. Lovely customer service speking both English and German language. Very big rooms, tasty breakfasts just small remark... unfortunately internet connection is not working properly... but overall mark is GOOD :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I spent 4 nights at Hotel am Luisenplatz while visiting the University of Potsdam for work. The hotel sits directly on a large square, overlooking the Brandenburg Gate, which leads into Potsdam's main pedestrian street. It's just a couple of minutes' walk from the hotel to the stunning Sanssouci palace gardens. And there is a tram/bus stop a half block away that provides easy connections to the main station and other places in the area. Very happy with the location.

My room was much larger than expected, and it had a great view. Comfortable beds, and ample seating. Spacious bathroom with separate bath and shower (the shower was a bit rickety, but quite effective; the towels were as limited as is normal in German hotels, alas). Heating seemed fine. I'd have reservations about staying here in a summer heatwave, though. Staff always very friendly and helpful. And the breakfasts are excellent, and not overpriced at 4.80 Euros. Free wifi is a plus, though the signal is rather weak. In my room I had to squat in the anteroom next to the door to get a reliable connection. I would definitely stay here again on a visit to Potsdam.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2008

My husband and I stayed here on a business trip a few weekends ago. The room was booked for us, so we knew nothing about this hotel before showing up there. I thought that the rooms were very charming: they complemented the character of the Potsdam Luisenplatz exterior. The room was clean and very large, with a balcony overlooking the platz. The bathroom had both a bathtub/jacuzzi & a shower as well as a large vanity with all ammenities. I really liked the balcony with the window boxes of flowers, and the large windows that opened up as french doors. The breakfast was delcious, they offered more hot food than the standard German breakfast and the service was wonderful. A suggestion, try to time your visit to the breakfast room when the tour group bus is not there! If you go when they go, then you will be sitting with them at the same table without any service from the overwhelmed staff. The bus or two or three park directly outside of the hotel, so you can see from your window when the group has left for the day! The hotel was located centrally to the town (about a 15 to 20 min walk to the Potsdam Hbf), but it was very close (5 min walk) to the Sansouci gardens. You can go for a jog in the park early in the morning (I suggest this). Everyone at the front desk spoke English and was very helpful. I was surprised to see that the hotel was only rated 3 stars, as I thought I was staying in a 4 or 5 star accomodation when we were here! Free wireless is featured in the rooms, and public street cars or bus lines are about 2 blocks from the hotel. One of the only gripes: we thought that our entire room had been taken care of by the person who had booked it for us...and neither the person who booked it nor the hotel bothered to tell us that we owed for the second person staying in a doubleroom-- that is, until we checked out! So, we were in for a surprise when it came time to turn in the key. I really would have thought that this would have been communicated upfront, but all in all, it was not entirely the hotel's fault either!

  • Liked — Proximity to Sansousi
  • Disliked — Confusion at checkout
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2002

Having now stayed at Hotel Am Luisenplatz twice during the past two years, I am delighted to report about a friendly, clean and quiet hotel in the centre of Potsdam, Germany.

The Manager and his wife are very helpful and they both speak excellent English (there are very few English speakers in Potsdam) which is a great advantage.
The rooms retain the charm of the late 19thC building they are in, some have balconies overlooking the square and beyond to the (Potsdam's version) Brandenburg gate and the shopping strip known as Brandenburg Strasse.
When booking, ask for one of these.

The Bathrooms are modern and well equiped.

The breakfast, included in the room fee, is very, very good. Although the selection is not as varied as 'Sacher' Hotel in Vienna (unbelievable!), you can eat a variety of cereals and fruit and it seems -a never ending supply of hot food, all freshly made.



The only negative point was that the hotel has (had) no air-conditioning - a bit of a problem during the heat-wave in Europe in 2000.
I requested a portable fan and it was promptly delivered.

The Luisenplatz is surrounded by lovely cafe's and restaurants and is only a 5 min walk to the gardens of Sans Soussi.

I'm going back, and I'm a 5 Star Hotel junkie!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Am Luisenplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Luisenplatz

Address: Luisenplatz 5, 14471 Potsdam, Brandenburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Brandenburg > Potsdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 Hotels in Potsdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Luisenplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Am Luisenplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Am Luisenplatz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.