We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci to your Saves list
Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Allee Nach Sanssouci 1 | 14471 Potsdam, 14471 Potsdam, Brandenburg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 40 Hotels in Potsdam
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Nice hotel, nice staff (like everywhere in Germany), no conditioner but the climate is not so hot at the end of July anyway. The location is the best for walking around the center. The parking is welcomed for car travel and living in the center. The balcony was refreshing, big, with table and chairs.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    68
    41
    10
    6
See reviews for
18
72
11
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caerphilly
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and was impressed by the welcome and service of the staff from the start. My room was pleasant although a little old fashioned in style - quite a lot of dark wood and repro 1930s posters but spacious and comfortable. The location is good for enjoying Sanssouci and the main shopping areas of this classy town. Breakfast was efficient and enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brokind
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Spent two nights in this hotel. Nice and helpful staff that answered our questions about Potsdam with a smile. The location is very convenient - Only a short walk to the Park Sansoussi or the Old Town. Nice room with a balcony where we could sit and rest our legs in the evening after walking all day in the park. We found that the hotel was very quiet and peaceful. The breakfast buffet was excellent with very good variety.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masfjorden, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I believe many tourists who go to Berlin, choose to pay beautiful Potsdam a visit - and with good reason. We did it the other way around, payed Berlin a visit while staying in Potsdam, and found that twist to be a very successful one. Using the local train - line S7 - between Potsdam and Berlin was a breeze, and free, because the key card to our hotel room functioned as a valid ticket for the days of our stay.
Having read other positive reviews about Hotel Steigenberger, there is not really much to add. The reviews are all true : The hotel has nice, clean rooms, a polite and friendly staff, an excellent breakfast buffee, is situated in a quite, but very central part of Potsdam. What more is there to expect ?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Just came back from a 5 nights/6 days business stay at the Hotel in Potsdam and I am more than convinced that you will have a tough time finding a better place in Potsdam that offers better value for your (own or companies') money. The rooms are nice, my mattress a bit too soft and it didn't have much of a view, but very quiet and with everything that should've been there.
Conference facilities and back-up by the staff is formidable, we had one big room that accommodates (our) 55 participants at an o-shape conference table with still enough space around and at one ende for the sound system guy, your pin-walls, flipcharts and even a few coffee tables etc. Besides that we had two smaller rooms for working grous and some 25 people each. Very nice.
But the outstanding feature of the Steigenberger Sanssouci really is their kitchen, or food if you will. Breakfast is very nice, but their lunch menues are quite outstanding. It's fresh, it's tasty, it's delicious, it has variations and it does not cost the world.
Thea do not really have a business center, but do offer 30 minutes free wifi-access per day and guest (The only problem with this is, that once you logg-off the rest of the 30 minutes is lost, too.). But there are other options like 5 hours wifi-access for 9 Euro whereby the rest of your airtime is always kept, or the 24 hours for 8 Euros option.
The location of the Hotel is great, too: you're 1 minute from the entrance to the Park Sanssouci, the Castle itself is hardly five minutes walk away. And the Brandburger Strasse, pedestrian zone and shopping street is just one block away. To get to the Hollaendisches Viertel you just walk 10 minutes max.

Room Tip: There seem to be rooms with balconies, that might be a clever choice foor smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currently Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We spent the evenings of 31 December and 1 January here as a get away and had a wonderful time. The room was spacious and quiet (considering all the fireworks outside) and the breakfast buffet was excellent. At first we thought the buffet was so nice because it was New Year's day, but the same excellent selection was offered the next morning as well. I have to mention that not only did they have wash clothes (yeah!), but the pillows were so comfortable that I wrote down the manufacturer's information so I can order some for myself.

The location was also very convenient. We arrived by car and it was easy to find with a public parking lot just across the street if the hotel's lot is full. All together a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We spent just one weekend in August there. And it was great. I am going to say more about the town of Potsdam elsewhere. The hotel is very conveniently situated in a quiet street, on the edge of the great park of Sanssouci, virtually a minute away from Friedenskirche entrance. There is an underground public car park integrated within the hotel (15Euro per day); lifts, stairs leading to the ground floor and reception. The building itself has 4-5 storeys and I suspect on the top two are superior rooms with balconies and the view. The others will be standard rooms. We had one of those on the first floor overlooking the street and a café on the other side. The décor alludes to the renown pre war German film industry; there is a museum of moving picture in Potsdam. Furnishing is pretty basic but it is good quality, comfortable, clean and tasteful. Excellent quality toiletries. Pity there were only three English tv channels(BBC,ITV,MTV). No air-conditioning but a large classy fan at the ceiling was sufficient. Pay for bar in the room.Moneywise, we got a very good deal on the net. The staff is exceedingly polite and helpful unlike in many other German hotels we have been to where they are very efficient and quick but impersonal and detached nevertheless. Good command of English. Breakfast(self-service, 11Euro per pereson) was delicious. We also had late lunch/dinner at the restaurant and Alsatian tartas we ordered were truly exquisite. The same goes for Prosecco we drank which in other establishments was not so good. Likewise, the service was equally up to v. high standard. The restaurant is a bit small but one does not feel the of lack of space due to floor to ceiling windows looking out onto a small courtyard with even more tables outside and a small back garden. Another perk we had were free pass for all means of public transport in Potsdam and Berlin and free sauna.
In a nutshell: one of the friendliest hotels we have been to, a dream place for a weekend out in Potsdam.

Room Tip: look out on internet offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci

Address: Allee Nach Sanssouci 1 | 14471 Potsdam, 14471 Potsdam, Brandenburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Brandenburg > Potsdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Potsdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Potsdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CAREFREE IN SANSSOUCI. No other address in Potsdam is as elegant as Allee nach Sanssouci 1? Situated just 500 metres from the famous summer residence of Frederick the Great and its lovely park grounds and opposite the historical city center this first-class Steigenberger hotel awaits you with a surprising ambience. Enjoy the most modern of comforts in a relaxing atmosphere, enwrapped by historical splendour. Not just the palace and park grounds are worth a visit: the picturesque Dutch Quarter, the Russian Colony, the Babelsberg film studios and, of course, the metropolis of Berlin - located just ten kilometres away - are reason enough to plan plenty of sightseeing time. And for this you can use the public transportation free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Potsdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Hotel Sanssouci, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.