We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base for visiting Potsdam and Berlin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Potsdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Potsdam to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Potsdam
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Forststrasse 80, 14471 Potsdam, Brandenburg, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grand City Parkhotel Potsdam)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Potsdam
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ideal base for visiting Potsdam and Berlin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I stayed five nights in this hotel and was really impressed. The staff were friendly and helpful, particularly when it came to travel advice and, at least at reception, their English was far better than my basic German. My room was airy and clean, with plenty of space, parking was easy and the wi-fi worked well. Breakfast consisted of the 'usual' selection of hot and cold items, with plenty of variety. Evening meals were good, if a little on the pricy side, but there is limited choice when it comes to nearby eating establishments, though I did visit a nearby beer-garden/restaurant on the Sunday evening of my stay, as the hotel only offered a snack menu on that occasion.
From my point of view, the location was great. Park Sanssouci is a walk away (be prepared or a long walk if you plan to walk around all the palaces and the town) and buses seemed regular and stopped close to the hotel. There is a railway station nearby that has direct trains for Berlin every hour, or the option of more regular trains (out and back) if you change at Potsdam Hauptbahnhof. I wouldn't hesitate to use this place again if I was to make a return visit.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    50
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
23
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We booked this hotel for two nights. We were very satisfied with the hotel and the services. The Best Western Grand City is located near by the park Sanssouci. Public transport is possible by two bus lines (directly in front of the hotel) and one S-Bahn line from station “Park Sanssouci” (200 m). Free parking places are available (if parking lots at the hotel are not available, there is additional free parking up to 150 m away only). We booked this hotel via the homepage of the Best Western Group four day ago. When we wanted to check in at night, (evening), staff at reception could not find our precharged reservation. However, staff was exceptionally friendly, hands on and immediately solved the problem. We got a very nice and comfortable room including our special requests (quiet and with hard mattresses). Check in and check out both had been professional, friendly and quick. We used the spa which was switched on for us when returning earlier on a very cold day and heated at high(er) temperature. Spa is clean, towels and slippers were provided free of charge. Unfortunately, sauna is not really pleasant (cellar, white tiles). New fitness equipment (bicycle, treadmill) was available, too. Our room was spacious and contained a fridge (no drinks/ empty minibar). The whole hotel is quite clean. Heating works well, air condition was switched off or does not work, which was not necessary at winter time when we stayed there but certainly would be an issue during summer. Breakfast was delicious offering various warm and cold dishes; service was friendly and again fulfilling all requests for coffee/ tea/ eggs in short time and at best quality. It was a very nice stay – see you soon!

Room Tip: Less noisy rooms are provided in back or side wing/ adjacent building connected with front building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Couldn’t Find Hotel Coming From The Autobahn:
Coming from the autobahn we had a hard time finding the Best Western Grand City Parkhotel. It seemed to be tucked away amidst residential housing and flats in Potsdam, Germany last summer on the first leg of a ten-day road trip of Germany and Austria. Our new European cell phone came in handy ringing the front desk and asking for directions. But alas! Once we found it after about half and hour of vain searching, the very small surface parking lot had no room left. We ended up hiding the rented Ford Mondeo in a fire lane. My husband feared it would be worth his life to try to park it in the underground parking garage with the low ceiling. Fortunately it was right outside our hotel window on the ground floor. We could keep an eye on it. No one complained.
Fortunately the inside of the hotel proved very different from the outside. It was one of only two hotels in Germany and Austria that had rooms on the ground floor. It was very convenient to access the parking lot. And the breakfast buffet was one of the nicest on the trip. As a nice touch they sold postcards at the front desk.
P.S. We chose this hotel because of its proximity to the Cecilienhof. The palace was indeed close by.

Room Tip: This was one of only two hotels with rooms on the ground floor. They were very convenient to the bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lippstadt, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

... for us since we didn't get two rooms in our favourite guesthouse (> Remise Blumberg) in Potsdam. Rooms are nice, clean and rather spacious. The service at the hotel's reception is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is excellent, service ... well, some are friendly, others less. Haven't used the restaurant.
The very best is that there's a bus station in front of the hotel with frequent service (even during the night). But some meters (250) away, is a train station (if you want to go to Berlin in 45 minutes) and a bus stop for different lines.

Room Tip: Try to get a "superiour room" ... and don't book via the hotel's or Best Western w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hotel look avarage , avarage breakfast and used to have nice service. However this hotel has a very rude waitress who has blonde and long hair, she can scream to you any time during breakfast, if you do not eat all your breakfast or if you order any thing from her. I have no idea is she is the owner of the hotel but if she still has this job she should be..

roomservice is ok, manager is nice but this terrible waitress changed all my opinion..

Room Tip: if you do not want any waitress screaming you during the breakfast , dont choose this hotel.. i am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Pre-booked, turned up given room & key, went to room, aready occupied, went back to reception, reallocated new room, went to room single not double, went back to reception lots of huffing & puffing given another room, ticked box's. No WiFi working, all TV channels in German!!!. Went to bar 4.30pm, no staff, bar does not open til 6.00pm????. Jumped on bus to town, got back for dinner @ 7.00pm. No bar staff or waiting staff. Once recption found them they where brilliant, menu limited choice and a bit pricey compared with other eaterers in Germany. After dinner wife went to get choc bar from machine, jammed, lots more huffing & puffing from reception, refunded monies.

IF THIS IS BEST WESTERN!!!! KEEP THEM - RETURN TO BEST WESTERN I DON'T THINK SO

Room Tip: Best tip pick somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

I stopped here for just one night during a business trip. The personnel at the reception was very friendly and helpful. Room was fine and equipped with free internet, not wireless however. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Potsdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Potsdam

Address: Forststrasse 80, 14471 Potsdam, Brandenburg, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Grand City Parkhotel Potsdam)
Location: Germany > Brandenburg > Potsdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Potsdam
#7 Luxury Hotel in Potsdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Garden Potsdam 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Potsdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Potsdam
Potsdam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Potsdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.