We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable choice in Bremerhaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Hotel Sail City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic Hotel Sail City to your Saves list
Atlantic Hotel Sail City
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Strom 1, 27568 Bremerhaven, State of Bremen, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bremerhaven
Certificate of Excellence 2014
St. John's, Newfoundland
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“A comfortable choice in Bremerhaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for the second time and this time booked a “studio room,” definitely worth the moderate additional cost. The view was wonderful, the room comfortable (didn’t have to sit on the bed to do email), and the hotel the only “five star” choice in the city. Public areas were nice, the included breakfast more than adequate, and access to the sauna an added treat (especially in winter). The staff was accommodating and attentive, even with my only able to speak English. I will certainly return when I have occasion to be back in the city. While the “regular” rooms are OK (I previously stayed in one), the Studio rooms are a real treat if you want a bit of space and comfort.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTIC H, E-Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Sail City, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hello RAKlein

Thank you very much for your 5-star rating. We are happy to read that you are fond of our hotel and especially of our studios. It is our pleasure to be your host in Bremerhaven. See you next time.

All the best
Your team of the ATLANTIC Hotel SAIL City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    81
    19
    10
    1
See reviews for
23
54
21
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Have lived in Bremerhaven about 18 years ago and at the time the center of Bremerhaven was a really sad area. One of the worst places to be, in fact. However, the people of Bremerhaven have done a fantastic job in upgrading the city center, with the Klima Haus, the shopping mall and, of course, the eye-catching Atlantic Hotel Sail City. First reaction: it looks like the Burj al Arab in Dubai: shaped like a gigantic sail. But then you realise it is not bright and Sunny and hot, so no, you're not in the Middle East, but in German.
The hotel is not a 7 star, but very good nevertheless. Friendly and efficient employees at the reception, nice rooms with excellent view over the river Weser, good breakfast, basically all you need for a comfortable stay. This is going to be my standard hotel in Bremerhaven for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTIC H, E-Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Sail City, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Hi Robin

Many thanks for your great review. It is fantastic to read such a nice comment from a former local. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to welcoming you again.

Best regards
Your team of the ATLANTIC Hotel SAIL City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed in the Atlantic Sail City in August 2013 while visiting northern Germany.
The hotel in total is nice - is is conventiently located directly at the Bremerhaven "top-spots", the zoo, the Mediterraneo etc.
The room price is from my perspective too high-. The rooms are pretty small, windows are not from bottom to top as you would think of when looking at it from outside.
Furniture is improvable, especially quality & style of it. The style and the (blue) colour reminds me more less on a youth hostel. The beds were too single beds which were drifting apart from each other during the night. We have stayed at many 4-5 star hotels but the rooms compared to each other do no match. From my personal taste, the bathroom is quite nice with black tiles which give a modern touch.
The breakfast is big and you can select from many dishes. you even get northern specials for breakfast which is pretty nice. The dark coloured floor shows basically everything that has been spilled and cleaning with the vacuum cleaner during breakfast hours won't work.
Even though you are a guest of the Atlantic Sail City you have to pay to get up on the roof. Additionally, there aren't any reserved parking spaces in the car park for hotel guests.
In general, I recommend the Atlantic because of its view and the nice breakfast bur really must question the price of it. especially because other hotels in Bremerhaven have very competitive pricing and offer exceptional accomodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTIC H, E-Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Sail City, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear travelhex

We thank you for your detailed feedback and are pleased that you especially liked our view and breakfast buffet. We regret that we do not match your taste across all areas. As the basement car park is a public one we cannot reserve parking spaces but our guests benefit from the direct access to our hotel. Hopefully, you had a good time in Bremerhaven respectively in Northern Germany and will come back for another visit.

Best wishes
Your team of the ATLANTIC Hotel SAIL City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed for business reasons for 2 nights. The hotel is perfectly located direct at the Weser, near Klimahaus, the Zoo and most of the other local attractions. Additionally you have a stunning view from the hotel rooms. The staff was professional and really friendly and the food quality for breakfast and lunch quite okay.
In my opinion the price is a bit high (I paid 130 € per night) but I am not sure what you would get in other hotels of the city for the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTIC H, E-Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Sail City, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello Matthias M

Thanks a lot for your rating. We are happy that you had a comfortable stay and were especially satisfied with our service and location. We would be glad to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Your team of the ATLANTIC Hotel SAIL City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingden, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 2 nights.

arrived a day early no problen booking was changed. SUPER

Hotel rooms quite nice with a super view.

Beds very soft and the pillows are flat with no support.

Breakfast ok. Choices could be better and the quailty of breads not that good.
Rolls soft and spongey not crist at they should be.

Bar service in the evenings very slow, after 10 min waiting we had to serch for a bar keeper.
This happened on both nights.

On the whole a passable weekend.

Room Tip: all rooms have a good view of the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTIC H, E-Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Sail City, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Stephen P

We like to thank you for your review. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay entirely and will take your comments into account to convince you hopefully on your next stay at our hotel. In-between have a good time!

Best regards
Your team of the ATLANTIC Hotel SAIL City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great location right on the sea front and yet close to the city centre.
Great parking directly below the hotel, great views from rooms and even better views from Viewing platform. Free Wifi, friendly and helpful staff, good bar and restaurant with great breakfast. Now the issues, the smallest and most uncomfortable pillows I have ever had the misfortune to have to sleep on, bad signage around hotel meant that you can easily miss way to viewing platform. Would I go back, yes I would but I would ask for A DOZEN PILLOWS FIRST !

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTIC H, E-Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Sail City, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello TomT77

Many thanks for your summarizing feedback. We are glad that you had a nice stay and apologize for the inconveniences. Your comments are welcome and taken seriously. We would be very happy to see you again in Bremerhaven sometime and for another visit at our hotel.

All the best
Your team of the ATLANTIC Hotel SAIL City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gstaad, Switzerland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Location is perfect, well situated just next to all the important Sightseeing places as well as a Shopping Center. The rooms are clean and modern and offer a spectacular view over the river. The rooms are soundproofed and light. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. Also the Restaurant is highly recommended, it offers also a nice view and Food is delicious and fair priced and the Service is excellent! Unfortunately I got a Smoking-room but it seems that the Hotel was fullybooked and so they couldn't offer a choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTIC H, E-Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Sail City, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Swissness70

Thank you very much for your fantastic review and corresponding 5-star rating. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit at our hotel and that we could convince you of our services. Sorry that we could not offer a non-smoking room any more during your stay. We hope that you had a good time anyway and that we can welcome you again at our hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Your team of the ATLANTIC Hotel SAIL City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Hotel Sail City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel Sail City

Address: Am Strom 1, 27568 Bremerhaven, State of Bremen, Germany
Location: Germany > State of Bremen > Bremerhaven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Bremerhaven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic Hotel Sail City 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern ambience, extraordinary architecture and an exclusive locationcharacterise the ATLANTIC Hotel SAIL City on the banks of the Weser river in Bremerhaven. Our hotel offers contemporary comfort, a first-class service and an innovative gastronomy. No matter whetheryou’re travelling on business or as a tourist – savour the prospect of a relaxing yet exciting stay at the heart of the tourist resort “Havenwelten” in Bremerhaven.120 rooms on eight floors provide a unique view over the Weser. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Atlantic Hotel Sail City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Bremerhaven

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Hotel Sail City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.