We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a Face lift” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Hotel & Congress Centrum Bremen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Maritim Hotel & Congress Centrum Bremen to your Saves list
Maritim Hotel & Congress Centrum Bremen
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Hollerallee 99, 28215 Bremen, State of Bremen, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 93 Hotels in Bremen
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Needs a Face lift”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is extremely convenient for Congress functions and access to the train station, but a little dated. Service was good, rooms clean and breakfast excellent, but pricey for a.hotel that needs a face lift.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    78
    34
    12
    3
See reviews for
27
59
17
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is not far from the railway station but is set in a quiet road. The hotel is very clean and offers a good buffet breakfast with plenty of choice. The rooms are more than adequate with hairdryer, mini bar, tea and coffee making facilities and TV.
We were part of a group booking so there was no choice for evening meal , but even so the meals were well cooked and satisfying. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

The hotel had nice ambiance, nice facilities etc. The service at the reception was very poor - long lines and somewhat inconsiderate staff. It was in a great location, close to the centre of teh city.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim Hotel B, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel & Congress Centrum Bremen, responded to this review, November 7, 2014
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast,

haben Sie vielen Dank für Ihre Rückmeldung. Uns ist die Meinung all unserer Gäste sehr wichtig und wir bedauern natürlich sehr, dass Sie mit unserem Service nicht zufrieden waren. Bitte seien Sie versichert, dass unser Augenmerk stets auf die Zufriedenheit unserer Gäste ausgerichtet ist. Wir haben zur Zeit die Karate WM in Bremen und viele der Teams wohnen bei uns im Hotel. Da kann es teilweise zu Wartezeiten an der Rezeption kommen, da wir komplett ausgebucht sind. Wir entschuldigen uns hierfür herzlich, gänzlich vermeiden kann man Wartezeiten allerdings in solchen Situationen leider nicht. Wir würden uns sehr freuen, wenn wir Sie bei einem erneuten Besuch von unserem Service überzeugen könnten. WIr sind von Herzen Ihr Gastgeber in Bremen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

Stayed from 17 to 19 Sept. For 2 days, no warm water was available the mornings. Cold shower for most of the hotel customers. No apologies from Hotel management and no price reduction when check out!
Hotel was nice few years ago but now it is completely outdated showing the lack of investments made by the hotel management over the past years.
-CRT TV in rooms, no flat screen TV
-Cable TV with limited choices (mostly German)
-Expensive WIFI (other Hotels in Bremen proposed a free wifi connection included in a room price lower than the Maritime).
Stay Away from That Hotel

Room Tip: stay away from that hotel trouver un autre hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim Hotel B, Direktionssekretärin at Maritim Hotel & Congress Centrum Bremen, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you a lot for your feedback. Also negative feedback is important to us.
You`ve right, we had a problem with our water pipelines, but now everything is fixed.
We are also happy that we can tell you that we will get new flat screen tvs till the end of the year and that our WIFI is for free since a few weeks.

So maybe you will visit us again so that we can convince you.

Kind regards

your Maritim Hotel Bremen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

We just spent a night at the Bremen Hotel as part of our Great Rail Journey tour and we were very pleased with everything about our stay. The rooms are beautifully appointed, a good size and the breakfast buffet was excellent with a good assortment of hot and cold dishes. Located within a few minutes walk from the train station it is well positioned for easy access just behind the conference centre. We walked from the hotel to the old town and we're delighted with the architecture of the buildings on the old town. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Bremen.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim Hotel B, Direktionsekretärin at Maritim Hotel & Congress Centrum Bremen, responded to this review, October 20, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you a lot for your very nice feedback.
It is nice to know that you liked your stay.

Hope to se you again soon!

Your Maritim Hotel Bremen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I live by Tripadvisor and I hardly ever disagree with the score a hotel gets on TA but this hotel was a big let down.

First the good, the location is excellent. Easy to reach by train and car and an easy walk in to the city centre. The lobby looked amazing, unfortunately after that we weren't amazed.

When we arrived we were told that the room type we booked was full and we where upgraded. We used Hotwire (which classifies the hotel as 4,5 star) so an upgrade is always a nice surprise. I'm not sure if the women at the reception tried to trick us in believing we's got an upgrade or the room we had booked would have been worse.
* the bathroom was damaged in numerous place. Tile's on the flora were missing, kit on the wall and a holder with bags was laying on the floor face down.
* the lights in the room weren't working. The solution was simple, just put in the plug. To do so we had to move the bed and not only saw a lot of dust and dirt but also papers and other things left behind by previous occupants.
* a tv guide in the room seemed like a good idea but ours was the july edition and it was august 30th.

Beside these problems with the room it all felt very dated (flatscreen tv would have been nice but wide screen should be the standard), free wifi is becoming the standard and the sound isolation wasn't very good. (especially a lot of noise from the hallway)
After complaining the next morning we got another room. This seemed to be a bit cleaner, no damages but still some flaws you should not have in a 4 star hotel.
To use the water kettle I had to stop reading my book because I had to use the outlet of the lamp I was sitting under.

I feel bad writing such a negative review but after such a negative experience I feel I have to share this on TA.
I travel a lot and know European hotels don't always have the same standard as other parts of the world but it should be a lot better than this.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritim Hotel B, Direktionsekretärin at Maritim Hotel & Congress Centrum Bremen, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Mrs. Marijke,

at first I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your visit. I hope you had a pleasant journey home and can generally look back on a nice stay in the hanseatic city of Bremen. It is a pleasure that we were able to welcome you as our guests at the Maritim Hotel & Congress Centrum.

We are very sorry that you were dissatisfied with our house and have received such a negative impression from our service and the room facilities. We have already begun a gradual renovation of our rooms and hope to conclude these in this year. Please rest assured that this is not our intention because we try to guarantee our guests always a good time and a comfortable stay.

Thank you for you detailed feedback, only through the response from our guests, it is possible for us to improve our service.

Dear Marijke, my team and I understand that you are disappointed and apologize sincerely. It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you as satisfied guests at the Maritim Hotel Bremen again.

We are wholeheartedly your host in Bremen!

With best regards

The Team of the Maritim hotel Bremen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful setting opposite the spacious green Burger Park but only a short walk from Bremen Station. Our room was very large, comfortable and clean. The hotel had a comfortable lounge area and spacious restaurant. The evening buffet and breakfast offered a good choice and all the staff were very courteous and helpful. The only disadvantages were that there appeared to be no air conditioning and being quite warm we opened the window at night. As our room was on a lower floor and faced the main road we found this quite noisy so ear plugs would be a good idea. Also if wifi is required a charge of 5 euros is made. In this day and age that is a bit like charging extra for electricity. Overall a very nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road and perhaps on an upper floor if you want to open the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritim Hotel & Congress Centrum Bremen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel & Congress Centrum Bremen

Address: Hollerallee 99, 28215 Bremen, State of Bremen, Germany
Location: Germany > State of Bremen > Bremen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bremen
#15 Business Hotel in Bremen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Maritim Hotel & Congress Centrum Bremen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maritim Hotel & Congress Centrum Bremen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bremen Maritim Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Hotel & Congress Centrum Bremen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.