We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & Quiet Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Hotel Universum

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantic Hotel Universum to your Saves list
Atlantic Hotel Universum
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wiener Strasse 4, 28359 Bremen, State of Bremen, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 93 Hotels in Bremen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice & Quiet Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a nice and quiet place to stay in Bremen although somewhat expensive. The room was modern, spacious and clean and the service was pretty good. The breakfast buffet offered a good selection of classic breakfast stuff. The hotel is about a 15' tram ride from downtown, while the same tram line takes you to the airport as well. I was slightly disappointed from the fact that the hotel offered no slippers for its guests. The hotel is very close to the University of Bremen. Apart from that and the Universum which as far as I could understand is a science museum for kids there is no other entertainment opportunity nearby and one has to go downtown for that,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTIC H, Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Universum, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Ekali,

thank you for the feedback and your positive comments about our rooms, service, breakfast as well as the good accessibility of our hotel. We are sorry to hear that you did not receive any slippers as they are provided for free to our guests on demand. Concerning the entertainment opportunities, there are different activities at the park next to our hotel e.g. minigolf or canoeing. The “Universum science center” – which you mentioned, is suitable and interesting for adults as well but next time please do not hesitate to ask our reception staff as they will be happy to inform you about the entertainment opportunities nearby and downtown. We would be happy to welcoming you soon again!

Kind regards
the team of ATLANTIC Hotel Universum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    57
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
3
8
10
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
State of Bremen, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Nice hotel with access to running paths along the canal and park - fruit and towels procided for runners. Very nice buffet breakfast with everything you could think of, including strawberry juice smoothies, and espresso coffee on request. Bikes available at no charge. A little out of the centre of town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTIC H, Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Universum, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Ms. Waite,

thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the stay at our hotel - especially our extra services for runners as well as the healthy breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you again whenever you are in Bremen next time,
the team of ATLANTIC Hotel Universum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The hotel is located close to the university area, and otherwise easily accessible by car.
Ample parking.Nice tour options around the hotel.
Reception / service:
Large, open reception area. Nice and friendly staff
Rooms:
Large, comfortable rooms with a separate sitting area. Good and fast internet connection, and a large LCD TV.The working area could have been better, however.
Restaurant:
The restaurant gives an impression of offering gourmet cuisine, with a very interesting menu and a exiting use of spices. But the quality of the food is below average, and far from what one would expect. The dishes are tasteless, and the use of spices as advertised in the menu is completely absent. A big disappointment! But fair prices and relatively good value for money.
Breakfast:
Very good standard and with excellent quality of what was served.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTIC H, Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Universum, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear JSHBergen,

Thank you very much for your feedback and the positive notes about the good quality of our hotelrooms.

We are very sorry that the visit in our restaurant did not fulfill your requirements. We will evaluate your impressions and improve the offer.

If your way leads you back to Bremen we would be very pleased to welcome you as our guest again.

Best regards,
ATLANTIC Hotel Universum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This is a really pleasant hotel to stay in. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. The hotel is nicely laid out. The restaurant serves some wonderful food!

Only possible downer is that they do not have a swimming pool :-(

The hotel is located out of town, by the University (hence the name):

If you want a slightly out of the centre hotel, near to some nice parks, close to the university, and only 10 mins on the tram from the centre, and 20 mins from the airport, then choose this hotel!

If you want to be in the middle of Bremen, choose another hotel. Simples!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATLANTIC H, Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Universum, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Roose_Rambler,

Thank you very much for your 2nd stay and your positive feedback.
We are pleased that you felt comfortable with us.

If your way leads you back to Bremen we would be very pleased to welcome you as our guest again.

Best regards sends you - the team from the ATLANTIC Hotel Universum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svendborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We were in this hotel for 5 nights. Professional, friendly, helpful staff all around. Breakfast is incredible nice, has absolutely everything even bread and milk for allergic guests. Staff is filling up the buffet constantly. Location is just next to Bürgerpark and hotel have bikes available complimentary. Room full of nice details and good surprises. Kids had Haribos on their pillows most nights, a flower, complimentary water bottle in room upon arrival, a flower, free internet, SO clean and neat.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor which gave a lovely view of the museum Universum and the green treeto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Universum, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear levinsmail,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are pleased that you felt comfortable with us.
If your way leads you back to ... we would be very pleased to welcome you as our guest again.

The team of the ATLANTIC Hotel Universum is sending you greetings from Bremen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Very large room, comfortable bathroom, nice bar and excellent breakfast, corporate rate under 100 euro. That's all I need on a business trip!
It's a 10 minute drive to the downtown area for those who want to see the real sights of Bremen, but very convenient also if you have business at the university or companies around it.
Just be aware, the (free) internet is wired and only a limited amount of LAN network cables for use in the rooms are available. Otherwise you're confined to WiFi in the lobby.
Parking is available for a fee.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Marketing at Atlantic Hotel Universum, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear slowlyraoundtheworld,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are pleased that you felt comfortable with us.
If your way leads you back to ... we would be very pleased to welcome you as our guest again.

Best regards,
ATLANTIC Hotel Universum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2010

I have been to this hotel for a business trip somewhere in June 2010. What I can say about this hotel is that the service is good and they tried to help me as much as possible in getting around in Bremen. The room is spacious and clean. Most important of all is it is value for money!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Hotel Universum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Hotel Universum

Address: Wiener Strasse 4, 28359 Bremen, State of Bremen, Germany
Location: Germany > State of Bremen > Bremen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bremen
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bremen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantic Hotel Universum 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our pleasure to welcome you to a new universe of modern design, first-class comfort, attractive function and meeting facilities. Our location close to the city centre of Bremen, with the university, Stadtwald park and Universum ® Bremen immediately adjacent, makes the ATLANTIC Hotel the perfect base, whether you’re here on businessor for pleasure. Savour outstanding cuisine in our CAMPUS restaurant and enjoy the uniquely cosmopolitan flair of this vibrant city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Atlantic Hotel Universum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Hotel Bremen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Hotel Universum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.