We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Bremen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Bremen to your Saves list
Swissotel Bremen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hillmannplatz 20, 28195 Bremen, State of Bremen, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF SEASONAL SAVER
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Bremen
Denver
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed for two nights and had a wonderful time at the swissotel. The room was spacious and the bed was so comfortable, we did not want to get up. Coffee, tea and chocolate in room was such a pleasant surprise. The bathrobe and slippers were ready to be used. The spa area was light and quiet. The only complain we had that was that the sauna was shut way before the time expected. Great breakfast with to order egg specialties. The service was exceptional and attentive. So close to the pedestrian area, we came back to take a nap and started our shopping spree again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Swissotel, Manager at Swissotel Bremen, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear DenverPrincess,
Thank you for your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and wil certainly forward this to the entire team. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards, Alexander Fischer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    161
    31
    13
    8
See reviews for
55
161
55
183
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is an excellent hotel with an excellent location in the heart of Beautiful Bremen, Germany!

As you enter, you'll be greeted by friendly staff and a luxurious, modern, reception desk area and lobby. The lobby holds some nice shops and connected to the building are a few different bars and a Deli/Bakery.

The check-in process was notably quick. Any request to the staff was taken very seriously with quick response time and delivery of requested items (extra blankets, coffee, etc). The word "no" was never used by the employees as they always wanted to go above and beyond to ensure our satisfaction.

The rooms were extremely spacious and included ammonites that you don't often receive. The single-cup coffee maker was an excellent addition, as there were several different drink options for no additional charge (hot chocolate, tea, coffee, and espresso). I did not partake in the minibar, but it would make a nice addition to the in-room experience for those who are interested. The appliances were modern, of high quality, and created a comfortable and cozy atmosphere in the room. The bathroom was also very nice, with a large shower/bath combo with excellent water pressure.

Perhaps the best perk of this hotel was its location. If you're heading to the Christmas markets, you'll be happy to walk only 5-10 minutes. The train station is about a 5 minute walk, and the historic "Schnoor" district is only about 10 minutes. There is a tram stop right out front of the hotel which serves the entire Bremen area including the airport which is only about 15-20 minutes away.

Overall, I'd call this hotel an excellent choice if the price is anywhere between $0 and $250 a night. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Utilize the Public transportation system. There is no reason to pay extra for a cab. 3 of my fav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Swissotel, Manager at Swissotel Bremen, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear frommichiganonward,
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback. We are happy to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at Swissôtel Bremen. Your comments, in particular on the room, the facilities and services and the location were duly noted and we will share them with the team. We hope for having the pleasure to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards, Alexander Fischer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzliya, Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Would like to recommend this lovely hotel. Wonderful room relatively large, very clean and pleasant. Great breakfast included, lots of choice and good service. Only problem, I had to wait 10 mins for a table while rushing to the conference.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Swissotel, Manager at Swissotel Bremen, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Tamar A,
We are happy to learn from your feedback that you had a pleasant stay with us. Please accept our apologies once again for the waiting time. We hope to see you return very soon.
Kind regards, Alexander Fischer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This is a great hotel to stay in Bremen. The location of the hotel is very central, few minutes to the train station and town center. Rooms are very comfortable, with simple décor but elegant. Staff is very professional and friendly. Breakfast is great with a large variety of food. This hotel has all elements expected from a 5 star hotel! It’s good value for money and I will definitely go back when visiting Bremen.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Swissotel, Manager at Swissotel Bremen, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear RuthPasq,
Thank you for sharing your positive review on TripAdvisor. Your positive comments on the hotel's location, the room and the breakfast are greatly appreciated and we will certainly share your feedback with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards, Alexander Fischer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here whilst in Bremen visiting the Christmas markets. Firstly, I have to say the location is excellent, a short walk from the Old town. The rooms are a nice size, however the bathrooms are a little dated, but have been recently updated and were spotless. The breakfast at the hotel is superb - excellent choice and quality! Ive read some reviews complaining that it is not truly 5*, I have to say that although the rooms may not be as nice as some 5* hotels, the service and quality in the hotel certainly is 5*. The Bayern Munich football squad were staying at the hotel whilst we were there, and if it was good enough for them, its good enough for me! I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and I am happy that I chose it for our stay in Bremen!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor if staying over the weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Swissotel, Manager at Swissotel Bremen, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear njc1978,
We appreciate your positive feedback here on TripAdvisor and we are very happy to learn that you had a wonderful stay at Swissôtel Bremen. We hope to see you return very soon.
Kind regards, Alexander Fischer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This is a good hotel make no mistake but, it needs a bit of an overhaul. It is rated 5* but some rooms don't meet that catagory. I have stayed there a few times and have had both types.
Internal noise control is very poor - I heard the next room occcupants alarm in one room and the occupant of another snoring. Some rooms are spacious others a not so. Some have good water pressures others have not showers would be nice but they only seem to have baths and some of the nathrooms are in need of attention. The entrance is a large atrium which offers much for the interior designer to exploit and enhance, as it is it is a bit foreboding as though one is being preparred to go to a dungeon = not very welcoming at all. The bar does not get very busy, again because of the ambience (& high cost of drinks) the bar could do with an uplift and some better lighting currently it is a take it or leave it affair. The restuarant is no better than OK. There is adventure in what is offered but the execution is lacking and one is left feeling that so much better could have been done to excite the visit. Breakfast is standard Eurpean / Internatinal hotel fare.
I would return to this Hotel if & when I return to Bremen although I do feel inclined to try some others and see how they compare -

Room Tip: After several visits between 3rd quarter 12 & 3rd quarter 13 I am not sure what to suggest as it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Swissotel, Manager at Swissotel Bremen, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Swampy44,
We would like to thank you very much for your feedback. We are sorry to heat that not all aspects of your stay met your expectations. Please rest assured that we will follow up on the issues mentioned and will take appropriate steps accordingly in order to improve our services. Concerning the design of the hotel and the bar, we understand that this is not to everybody's taste and we are sorry to hear that it was not more to your liking.
We hope for having the pleasure to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards, Alexander Fischer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, within a few minutes walking distance from the centre of Bremen. Unfortunately, my research gave no clue that one side of the hotel is along a street of bars/clubs and the soundproofing of the hotel windows is almost non existent. As a result I am typing this review at 1.30am as I cannot sleep for the noise. I expect a certain level of noise in a city centre, but I also expect decent soundproofing in a 5 star hotel.
The room itself is very comfortable (though not 5 star in my opinion) and the service is good, but unfortunately my stay is now tainted by lack of sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Swissotel, Manager at Swissotel Bremen, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Nicola O,
We are very sorry to learn from your feedback that you were not satisfied with your stay at Swissôtel Bremen. Being a hotel within the city centere, we are unfortunately not able to mute all sounds from the surroundings. Our rooms have been recently isolated. We are sorry to hear that the noise was still disturbing. For future stays, please do not hesitate to contact our Reception, as we will be happy to organize a room move in a case like this. Besides, kindly ask for a room facing the courtyard for future stays in order to make sure that your stay will be free of disturbance.
We would be pleased to welcoming you back to the Swissôtel Bemen some time in the future. Please let me know when you plan your next stay, as I would like to personally oversee your reservation. You can reach me on alexander.fischer(at)swissotel.com.
Kind regards, Alexander Fischer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Bremen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Bremen

Address: Hillmannplatz 20, 28195 Bremen, State of Bremen, Germany
Location: Germany > State of Bremen > Bremen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bremen
#2 Business Hotel in Bremen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bremen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bremen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Bremen 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Bremen is located in the heart of the historic city. Within walking distance to all major attractions like the town musicians and the charming market square, the hotel’s central location also offers a magnificent view over Bremen’s city wall. 230 elegantly appointed rooms and suites are stocked with exclusive amenities, including cutting-edge modern technology and luxurious amenities such as a free internet connection. A sumptuous breakfast buffet offers a wide range of choices to energise your day, and the sophisticated Hillmann’s Restaurant takes traditional recipes from the Bremen region and gives them an innovative twist.Business travellers will appreciate the expansive meeting and conference space for up to 1000 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Bremen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Bremen Hotel Bremen
Swissotel Hotel Bremen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Bremen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.