We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Swissotel Bremen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Swissotel Bremen to your Saves list
Swissotel Bremen
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hillmannplatz 20, 28195 Bremen, State of Bremen, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
20% OFF SEASONAL SAVER
Ranked #4 of 93 Hotels in Bremen
1 review
“Very noisy!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, within a few minutes walking distance from the centre of Bremen. Unfortunately, my research gave no clue that one side of the hotel is along a street of bars/clubs and the soundproofing of the hotel windows is almost non existent. As a result I am typing this review at 1.30am as I cannot sleep for the noise. I expect a certain level of noise in a city centre, but I also expect decent soundproofing in a 5 star hotel.
The room itself is very comfortable (though not 5 star in my opinion) and the service is good, but unfortunately my stay is now tainted by lack of sleep.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Swissotel, Manager at Swissotel Bremen, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Nicola O,
We are very sorry to learn from your feedback that you were not satisfied with your stay at Swissôtel Bremen. Being a hotel within the city centere, we are unfortunately not able to mute all sounds from the surroundings. Our rooms have been recently isolated. We are sorry to hear that the noise was still disturbing. For future stays, please do not hesitate to contact our Reception, as we will be happy to organize a room move in a case like this. Besides, kindly ask for a room facing the courtyard for future stays in order to make sure that your stay will be free of disturbance.
We would be pleased to welcoming you back to the Swissôtel Bemen some time in the future. Please let me know when you plan your next stay, as I would like to personally oversee your reservation. You can reach me on alexander.fischer(at)swissotel.com.
Kind regards, Alexander Fischer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    163
    31
    13
    8
See reviews for
56
163
55
186
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Arrived at the hotel around 4 hours before checking in with the hope of dumping our bags and then setting off for a quick look around Bremen. We were told that we could check in early and that our room would be ready in 10 minutes. Within 10 minutes we were in our room and ready for a sleep, which made the rest of the weekend so much better. The breakfast was really nice and there was a great choice of food. Sauna/steam room area was also fantastic and really well kept.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Really enjoyed our stay. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Swissotel, Manager at Swissotel Bremen, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Refman08,
Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your positive feedback on the facilities and the team. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards, Alexander Fischer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osnabr�Ck
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Room, Employers, Breakfast: Wonderful. Best comfort you can get. Especially the breakfast was perfect. you can get everything you want in best quality. Everone was friendly and helpfully. Swissotel Bremen best in town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Swissotel, Manager at Swissotel Bremen, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Olli D,
We are thrilled by your wonderful feedback and have forwarded this to the entire team. Thank you very much and we hope for having the pleasure to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards, Alexander Fischer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed here for a few days on a recent trip to Germany - the rooms were excellent - clean, modern, plenty of space. The location is perfect - you are just a few minutes walk from the main train station in one direction and a few minutes to the market square and old town in another. Bremen is a very walkable city, but if you are feeling lazy you can hop on the tram just outside the hotel.

Bremen on the whole seemed expensive when looking for hotels and whilst this certainly wasn't cheap, it seemed a lot better value to comparable hotels for the time that I wanted to travel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Swissotel, Manager at Swissotel Bremen, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear His2oryExplorer,
We appreciate your valuable feedback and would like to thank you very much for your positive comments on the rooms and the location. We hope to see your return very soon.
Kind regards, Alexander Fischer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyrone
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Transport - couldn't be easier from airport - Tram no6 and 9 stops to Herdentor leaves you right outside door of hotel.
Pillows - yes they are very soft but just call reception and they will send up firm replacements,
Tea - bring your own tea bags , the hotel uses leaves or herbal teas.
Breakfast - great selection and all very tasty.
Restaurants 1. Pio Tapas behind hotel excellent - had to struggle with ourselves not to keep going back. 2. Alte Gilde, recommended by hotel - again excellent, old german style approx 45 euro including drinks 2. Hof Brau, at side of old prison, again old german style very good food 40 euro (incl drinks)
Bremen is a beautiful city, well worth a visit. The hotel has a great location and cleanliness is of a very high standard. We did the walking tour on 1st day - 6.50 euro from tourist office - well worth it to get your bearings. We also did bus tour (arranged thru tourist office) again v interesting. Some friends also went to Hamburg for a day approx 30 euro for 2 adults and thought it was well worth it. 10/10 for our whole visit would have no hesitation in recommending the city and the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Swissotel, Manager at Swissotel Bremen, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear LoveTOTravel17,
We would like to thank you very much for your feedback. Your positive comments on the hotel, the location and the service is very much appreciated. We would be pleased to welcome you back very soon.
Kind regards, Alexander Fischer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naantali, Finland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The situation is very good, close to the shopping areas, railwaystation and citycenter.Lots of restaurants nearby. Clean, comfortable rooms and the staff was friendly. Nice to have coffee and tee-making facilities in the room. Breakfast was terrible expencive, fortunately there were nice cafees near the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Swissotel, Manager at Swissotel Bremen, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear MaaritS,
We are glad to learn from your feedback that you had an enjoyable stay at Swissôtel Bremen and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards, Alexander Fischer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel is very close to the city centre - a seven minute walk to the market square, three minutes to the railway station (If you don't like walking, the tram is just around the corner). Room is clean and comfortable, size is above average. You get British telly. One of the best breakfast buffets I know in Germany (check out those marmalades). Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_Swissotel, Manager at Swissotel Bremen, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear SebastianG,
Thank you so much for your great review. I will certainly share your feedback with the team. We hope to see you return very soon.
Kind regards, Alexander Fischer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swissotel Bremen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Bremen

Address: Hillmannplatz 20, 28195 Bremen, State of Bremen, Germany
Location: Germany > State of Bremen > Bremen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bremen
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bremen
#2 Business Hotel in Bremen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bremen
#8 Best Value Hotel in Bremen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Swissotel Bremen 5*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swissotel Bremen is located in the heart of the historic city. Within walking distance to all major attractions like the town musicians and the charming market square, the hotel’s central location also offers a magnificent view over Bremen’s city wall. 230 elegantly appointed rooms and suites are stocked with exclusive amenities, including cutting-edge modern technology and luxurious amenities such as a free internet connection. A sumptuous breakfast buffet offers a wide range of choices to energise your day, and the sophisticated Hillmann’s Restaurant takes traditional recipes from the Bremen region and gives them an innovative twist.Business travellers will appreciate the expansive meeting and conference space for up to 1000 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Swissotel Bremen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Bremen Hotel Bremen
Swissotel Hotel Bremen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swissotel Bremen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.