We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a chain good value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maredo - Kurfurstendamm

Maredo - Kurfurstendamm
Kurfurstendamm, 10719 Berlin, Germany
030/8834900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,006 of 5,644 restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Chatham
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“For a chain good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Not one to try chains we went here as i facncied a steak and salad! Were not be disappointed by either the service, the attentativeness or the quality of the food ordered. The steaks were delightful and the salad bar has some interesting combinations. House wine (red) is very drinkable...perhaps too much so!!!). Were offered the option to swap "fries" for baked potatoe/rice: the rice was perfect. Not the sort of place that excels on dessert...but then the portions are substantial enough. Did have one which was obviously just defrosted so this did let the side down!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

62% Recommend
    34
    56
    33
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good steak, shame about dessert”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Our steaks were beautifully cooked but what a shame about the Apple Strudel that was supposed to be warm but both portions were actually cold in the centre. Thats just poor kitchen standards and in some cases could be dangerous

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

It all seemed ok until waitress spilt the bottle of wine we ordered. Then it was downhill from there. Waited 30 minutes for our food. Then waitress admitted she had lost our order. Manager apologised and offered some soup. Then offered free dessert which we did not feel like after waiting so long. Won't go there again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Ronco, Switzerland
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Delicious Filet - Nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

On our first evening in Berlin we were just strolling through our neighborhood when we saw the Maredo sign: a first for me, I normally like to choose small owned restaurants but I must say this was really good. I had a filet steak with vegetables and garlic bread, my husband had rib eye steak with fries and our daughter had something Mexican that really looked delicious. Meat was cooked to perfection, service was good, our waiter was very nice, restaurant clean and very welcoming.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Steak and Chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

There are a number of Maredo restaurants in Berlin and my wife and I were in the one with address Kurfurstendamm 214. We wanted a change from German-style food and were not disappointed by this restaurant. There is an "all you can eat" salad bar at additional small cost which we found to be excellent value. We ordered rib eye steaks but they came more like fillets and were cooked to perfection. The restaurant was very busy but we found the service to be very good. The prices were very reasonable for the quality of the food which we enjoyed. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maredo - Kurfurstendamm also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Maredo - Kurfurstendamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maredo - Kurfurstendamm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.