We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quality noodle soups” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Susuru

Susuru
Rosa Luxemburg Str. 17, Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #248 of 5,643 restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Noodle Shop
Neighborhood: Mitte
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Mitte
Grugliasco
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“quality noodle soups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Susuru is a very good japanese restaurant, specialised in noodle soups.
Don't expect to find sushi and sashimi or a long list of dishes to choose from.
However it's a very particular place (fashion and relaxing atmosphere) which offers a good variety of udon soups.
The ones we tried were very tasty and refined and were a perfect solution to warm oursrselves a little bit during a cold Berlin's evening.
The place is clean and the staff is very kind.
Nothing for vegetarians in here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    35
    24
    4
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“UDON - enjoy great Japanese noodles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Restaurant located in a side road in the eastern Center of the city close to 'Volksbuehne Theatre'. Fancy atmosphere, fashionable interior design. Japanese chefs, Japanese waitresses/waiters. Not a tourist trap, but a place to enjoy refined Japanese udon. I you love soup, if you Ike noodles and have not tried UDON yet, this is the place to visit. Always a good experience. If you want have a glas of sake (Japanese rice wine), susuru offers a good variety of sake, or just have your udon with a Japanese (Kirin) beer. Good to visit with a group of people. Tip: also try the starters like 'edamame' or 'gyoza' . A real Japanese experience. The restaurant could also be in Tokyo...! Save the money for the trip and visit Susuru :-)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious noodle bowls, simple, modern decor, fast friendly service, all at a reasonable price.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The spicy vegetarian curry bowl hit the spot on a cold evening. The JFC (Japanese fried chicken) salad was tasty, as was the chicken curry bowl. Great value. The tables are set in a way that would make it fun to go with a group of up to 10. We hesitated to go in as it wasn't busy at all, despite the great reviews. I'm glad we tried it-if this were near me I would go often!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“5 out of 5 rating, not less!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My last four dinners in Berlin have been in Susuru, and certainly my next meals will be there (when I will be in Berlin again). Maybe you don't have a very wide choice of dishes, but you have vegetables, meat and fish of the highest quality. Everything is presented very well, the staff is friendly and never intrusive or insistent. My advice is Rock Shrimps and Japanese Fried Chicken, but Schwarzer Sesam Pudding is really perfect.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent japanense restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Just what we wanted before entering
To try Japanese food, and enjoy unfamiliar tastes
It was very nice, the soups are vey good, the freshly squeezed juices as well
Nice gioza dishes and shrimp salat was excellent
Highly recommended

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Susuru also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Susuru? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Susuru, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.