We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cakes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kuchen Kaiser

Kuchen Kaiser
Oranienplatz 11-13, Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)
030-61402697
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,088 of 6,040 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Kreuzberg
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Kuchen Kaiser is an old fashioned cafe in Kreuzberg. Relaxed atmosphere, friendly service, but the highlight is in the name - Cakes Kaiser. And they live up to the name. I had a delicious slice of apple-ginger cake full of walnuts, my friends' slices were equally impressive. Hamburgers looked and smelled great as well. Would love to revisit in the summer and sit outside overlooking a nice quiet square/park.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    33
    17
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“an overrated barn, with staff who have an attitude problem”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

This place, at first glance, seems promising. It is an old-fashioned, old-school cafe, huge inside with many tables. However the staff were stressed and generally rude, and the cakes and tea/coffee, although cheap, were not of a very high quality, considering what is available these days elsewhere in Berlin.

Our friends had to ask twice for their drinks and food, and when it came, there were no napkins or utensils - we had to get these ourselves from the entrance near the kitchen, before the food got cold. One of our party had a small child who spilt a drink, and we were admonished for using too many napkins (which we also had to find ourselves) to clean up the spill since they were 'very expensive' and might have to be added to the bill!!!

So, my advice is to give this place a miss, unless you don't mind feeling like part of a factory-line coffee and cake place where the staff don't care. Try Hudson's instead, just over the canal.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stresa, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious cakes to die for....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

If you need a cup of tea and a delicios cake (€2,50!! :-) ) in a relaxed atmosphere that's the right place to be!!Don't miss Kuchen Kaiser during your stay in Berlin!! Established in 1866 as a world famous confectionery and bakery, exporting cakes to the States with Zeppelin's, the Kaiser is an institution even today!! You can also enjoy brakfasts and meals.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“A lovely evening meal, outside in late September, with a nice passing jazz band”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

Firstly this eatery's name means 'Kitchen King' & has nothing to do with cakes - doh!! It offers a melange of food types with a dash of Austrian and some Turkish, in the otherwise German beer food fare. We stopped on the spur of the moment & enjoyed Backhaendl (not unlike that I remember from thr Austrian Wienerwald) so breaded chicken, & some great hand-pulled beer: the dish was part of the Oktoberfest menu & was modestly priced. No airs & graces - what you see is what you get. Would recommend if you like value for money, & echt.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, Netherlands
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“fair quality, service ok. Little bit too touritsty, but people were nice!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

fair quality, service ok. Little bit too touritsty, but people were nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuchen Kaiser also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Kuchen Kaiser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuchen Kaiser, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.