We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is an experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heising

Heising
Rankestrasse 32, Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)
030-2133952
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 6,131 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Charlottenburg
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“This is an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We picked this restaurant based upon the great reviews it had received. All are correct.

From the moment we walked through the doors it was a wonderful experience. Period decor and music set the scene as do the husband and wife owners who are wonderful hosts.

We chose a three course meal rather than the four course option. The food was delightful. Old style French but not heavy, complimented by French wine.

We had a wonderful evening.

Whilst it wasn't full the night we attended I would suggest booking to avoid missing out. Also it is cash only.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    80
    19
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Par Excellence - A Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Following other reviews we just had to try out this restaurant and certainly wasn't disappointed. It really is as an earlier review says, like stepping back in time, but in a very genteel and wonderful way. The food was fabulous, beautifully presented and for quality like this represented excellent value for money. I would definitely visit again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Gracious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

This was a fantastic meal in a gorgeous setting. The service and food quality would be enough to earn the highest rating but the graciousness of the owner while we struggled with ATM woes & daily withdrawal limits across time zones was unbelievable. We were able to eventually pay our full bill but the owner was willing to accept less and this made a great meal become the best meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Middx London
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“An experience not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Had read several reviews of this French restaurant and was keen to see it myself. It is like going back in time with the lovely decor,antiques everywhere,the china ,oil paintings and the couple themselves who wait on you. There are only 2 menus at 36 euros for 3 courses or 54 euros for 4 courses and it is CASH ONLY. We had amazing Kir Royales as aperitifs served to you in frosted glasses and replenished "on the house" ! The food was delicious as was the wine by the glass and refilled! . On leaving I was presented with a beautiful white rose . Booking is essential for this amazing experience

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by the excellent service made by Mr & Mrs Heising in person, you really feel their involvement & the love they have for their restaurant. M. Heising will make you feel home & will come along with funny jokes. The food was really tasty, with a sophisticated presentation and the menu was varied. The restaurant itself looks like we were back in the 18th century in England, which adds a unique charm to the atmosphere & makes it look more intimate & romantic. We found the price really cheap for a place like this.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heising also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Heising? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heising, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.