We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, slightly surreal experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heising

Heising
Rankestrasse 32, Berlin, Germany
030-2133952
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5,754 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Yorks
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great food, slightly surreal experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Booked Heising after seeing the reviews and weren't disappointed! Very good food (no, it's not michelin quality, but it's really very good), service is beyond excellent, and the whole experience is a one-off. Definitely one to talk about afterwards!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    398
    53
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Russia-Norway
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great pleasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We booked the restaurant for 7 persons and we really enjoyed spending evening there. Food is very good and atmosphere is pleasant. You feels like you eat not at the restaurant but at your friends or relatives. Service was nice, Mr. and Mrs. Heising are very attentive and friendly. Decor of the restaurant and owners presence make this place very charming!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very romantic excellent service! Classy..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I am of the opinion, that no one can serve better than the owner, when the owner loves his restaurant. This is the case!
The Gentleman and his beautiful wife run this restaurant, with attention to the details, perfect manners, classy style, and a magnific menu.
The elegant atmosphere and the sweetnes of the service, makes the night adequate for a romantic dinner. However, the restaurant is also perfect for a dinner alone or for a business dinner.
The restaurant was until Nov. 2012, open only at night. Check if this is still the case.
This is the website: http://www.restaurant-heising.de/Restaurant_Heising/Willkommen.html
Just one detail before you get there, they don't work with credit cards, so you should withraw money on advance.
It's really worth it!
Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic atmosphere and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I went to Heising with my husband on May 7th 2013 based on all the god rewievs on Trip Advisor. And we were not disappointed. Mr Heising himself welcomed us and we got a table in the main room. The atmosphere is fantastic and the food too. The Foie Gras was perfect, the Veloute of parsley roots was one of the best soops I have ever had and and bote the lamb and the veal tasted great! 4 courses of that quality for 54 Euros is very good value for money! We hope to come back!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Quirky and "nicely old fashioned"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The reviews are justifiably good on this restaurant but it is in a total time warp. The experience is like being in someone's private dining room with friendly, intimate (if slow) service. The food is fine but not gourmet as mentioned elsewhere but the experience is certainly memorable mostly for its charming eccentricity. I fear that a restaurant of this type would not survive in London, nor probably in Paris as restaurant tastes become ever more sophisticated.

Charming touch, on leaving my sister was given a beautiful red rose. Overall enjoyable but not the best restaurant in Berlin.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heising also viewed

 

Been to Heising? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heising, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.